I REALLY LIKE THAT ANTOINE DODSON FELLOW  12:45 pm August 14, 2012

National Review’s Victor Davis Hanson Has Thoughts About Black People

by Jesse Taylor

chris matthews, maybe?Victor Davis Hanson writes for the National Review, which has fired like a billion racists this year. You would think, therefore, that when writing on issues of race, the National Review would show caution and some semblance of restraint when talking about it.

You would also be a goddamn idiot.

In a piece titled ‘White’ On The Brain, Hanson decides that people are just obsessed with the term ‘white’ and ‘white’ people and all the associated attitudes surrounding ‘whiteness’, which, if it were true, would mean that there would still be new episodes of Friends. (CONGRATS, JEN!!!!!!!)

Consider the increasing obsession with the term “white” (as in versus “black”), along with the old standby charge of “racism” — nearly all of it emanating from the president’s surrogates and celebrity supporters. Upon the announcement of Paul Ryan as Mitt Romney’s vice-presidential pick, almost immediately Donna Christensen, the non-voting congressional delegate from the Virgin Islands, tweeted: “Wait a minute! Are there black people in Va? Guess just not w Romney Ryan! At least not seeing us. We know who’s got our back & we have his.”

Not a tweet from a nonvoting delegate from an American territory! If this is not the full force and fury of the race-obsessed left, I do not know what is! (It’s old episodes of Martin.) After such a terrible thing in which this Zulu priestess brought a race war to Twitter by noting that there were like no black people at the Romney/Ryan announcement — dishonest, because there were two who did not care at all — the race hostilities spread!

“Got our back” — compare the Chicago Bears coach Lovie Smith’s video appealing to African-Americans to cover the president’s back — of course implies that Paul Ryan is a veritable racist who by virtue of his skin color and conservative politicswill stab blacks in the back. In that vein, Mia Farrow, viewing the initial Romney/Ryan rally, offers, “Camera pans crowd: whole bunch of white people.”

Mia fuckin’ Farrow, ladies and gentlemen. The Angela Davis of people who’ve seen Frank Sinatra’s penis. Now on to Melissa Harris-Perry, who is the Angela Davis of black ladies except for Angela Davis.

Here is what Melissa Harris-Perry, the weekend host of MSNBC’s Hardball, said of Paul Ryan’s referring to the Declaration of Independence: “The thing I really have against him is actually how he and Gov. Romney have misused the Declaration of Independence. I’m deeply irritated by their notion that the ‘pursuit of happiness’ means money for the richest and that we extricate the capacity of ordinary people to pursue happiness. When they say ‘God and nature give us our rights, not government,’ that is a lovely thing to say as a wealthy white man.” In the postmodern world of Ms. Harris-Perry, which is the world of Barack Obama, what we say has no innate meaning apart from our class, race, and gender.

I do find it odd that MHP would treat a statement about the nature of rights as if it had some impact on how people live and experience their rights today, but that’s probably a remnant from her days agitating on street corners for reparations and/or her Ph.D. in Political Science from Duke and professorships at Princeton and Tulane. WAIT, haha, affirmative action, those are the same things. Am I right? Am I right?

(Also, the name of her show is Melissa Harris-Perry, which I know is much harder to remember than a different show hosted by a white man with blonde hair that airs at a completely different time.)

Yet there is no indication of a new racism on the part of conservatives or Republicans. Herman Cain — until dismembered by media accusations — led the Republican primary field for weeks in the polls. Michael Steele ran the Republican National Committee for two years. Allen West remains the Tea Party’s most popular politician. And many polls showed that Condoleezza Rice was the favored vice-presidential candidate among the Republican faithful. George W. Bush chose two African-American secretaries of state. That post has not been held by a white male since the ancient days of Warren Christopher.

Yet when Romney goes to Poland, Cokie Roberts hypothesizes that he is angling for the votes of Polish-Americans.

It does seem odd that a party that is antithetically opposed to most policy positions that African-Americans like might have a few black people who agree with the party, and whom the party likes because they aren’t like “those other” black people. The solution must be that Martin Luther King, Jr., was a Republican.

Also, how does Romney going for the votes of a certain group of white people mean he doesn’t like black people? All that means is that Romney wants votes. It’s a completely separate thing, the him not liking black people. Silly.

There is more to this piece, but it can best be summed up like this:

In short, until the election of Barack Obama, “white” was an increasingly rare designation. Intermarriage, integration, and assimilation were making race itself an irrelevant consideration. That notion was what Barack Obama correctly assessed would get him elected — and, now, exploding that notion is what he thinks will get him reelected.

It’s time to be serious for a second, because it is fairly obvious that Victor Davis Hanson may be too stupid to actually understand human interaction or history in a meaningful way. The idea that “white” was disappearing as a designation or that race was becoming an irrelevant consideration before the 2008 election only come from a place, oddly enough, of a sheltered white person whose main interactions involving black people consist of pointing to all the ones they speak to more than once a year as their friends.

Still, oddly enough, I’m guessing he gets all of their eponymous cable shows’ names wrong. Because he doesn’t see names. Or race.

 

Hola wonkerados.

To improve site performance, we did a thing. It could be up to three minutes before your comment appears. DON'T KEEP RETRYING, OKAY?

Also, if you are a new commenter, your comment may never appear. This is probably because we hate you.

{ 184 comments }

nounverb911 August 14, 2012 at 12:49 pm

"Racists are people too, also."
–Victor Davis Hanson

veritass August 14, 2012 at 12:49 pm

"..implies that Paul Ryan is a veritable racist who by virtue of his skin color and conservative politics will stab blacks in the back."

Yes.

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 1:30 pm

No real need to just imply it.

Toomush_Infer August 14, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Um, most folks from Wisconsin have never seen a blah person, so it means he probably just freaks out and sweats hard when shaking hands with one…

shelwood46 August 14, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Well, yes, since Ryan's from Janesville, maybe true. Those from Milwaukee, Madison and Green Bay, not so true. In fact, having grown up in Green Bay, I know that the people there see many blah persons, and assume that every one of them is either a Packer or related to a Packer. They think all blah people in town are rich, and save their contempt for Native Americans, Latinos and Hmong.

johnnyzhivago August 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Honkey or cracker are perfectly acceptable alternatives.

Oblios_Cap August 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

I've always liked "whitebread". Beats being "Italian".

BarackMyWorld August 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Insert link to Richard Pryor/Chevy Chase job interview SNL skit here.

Angry_Marmot August 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Don't forget "ofay".

Willardbot9000_V2.5 August 14, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Honkey is my favorite term…so is Southern fried honkey flab to describe teabaggers…actually, that's not really true. Stupid, inbred, wingnutty, racist, bible humping, gun fucking, scooter jockeying, government teat sucking, incurably obtuse Southern fried honkey flab would be closer.

Edit: Oh and I forgot evangelical rent boy purchasing, homophobic, misogynist and misanthropic selfish sociopaths…I was being charitable and didn't want to offend previously.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 7:41 pm

You've now insulted misanthropic selfish sociopaths everywhere.

nmmagyar August 14, 2012 at 3:40 pm

I grew up on Guam, so I'm still partial to "Haole" (I have no idea why we used Hawaiian slang on Guam, we just did)

LastGasp August 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Hey, Jesse, don't call me "a goddamn idiot" just because I expect racism from the National Review. I think I'm being perfectly reasonable.

HistoriCat August 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm

I think Jesse was saying you would be a goddamn idiot if you expected NR to tamp down on the racisim.

ManchuCandidate August 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Whatchyou taking 'bout, Hanson?

ChernobylSoup August 14, 2012 at 12:51 pm

I'd so miscegenate Melissa Harris-Perry

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Her mother and father already did.

sewollef August 14, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Oh, I'd do some miscegenation with Ms Harris-Perry too. Smart and sexy…. an intoxicating combination.

Fare la Volpe August 14, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Imagine her in a little girl-on-girl with Rachel Maddow.

You're welcome.

CheeseBro69 August 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Don't forget Chris Hayes,
That would be one hot all girl threeway

nmmagyar August 14, 2012 at 3:42 pm

He is, by far, the hottest chick on MSNBC

BoatOfVelociraptors August 14, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Mister Perry might have a few words about that.

Willardbot9000_V2.5 August 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Yes definitely…but first comes Tamron Hall…eh, I screwed up the first one, don't look at me!

BoroPrimorac August 14, 2012 at 6:30 pm

She has the cutest lisp.

hagajim August 14, 2012 at 12:52 pm

the National Review would show caution and some semblance of restraint when talking about it.

And you'd think Priests would stop fondling kids…but it keeps happening.

UnholyMoses August 14, 2012 at 12:52 pm

"Yet there is no indication of a new racism on the part of conservatives or Republicans."

He's correct.

They're still using the old racism.

Ruhe August 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Like their bumper stickers say, "keep the change".

emmelemm August 14, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.

nedbeaumontjr August 14, 2012 at 8:11 pm

The more things stay the same, the more things stay the same.

Willardbot9000_V2.5 August 14, 2012 at 3:04 pm

True…I love when these fuckers get all puffed up and enraged when you call them racists which makes the charge all the more truthful. Besides, it's not exactly like the teabaggers racial anxiety and resentment isn't well documented by studies. My favorite go to study was the gallup study which showed that first off the teabaggers are FAR MORE white than the nation as a whole is (91%). This same study shows a sizeable majority of teabaggers think government services disproportionately benefit minorities (over 60% felt this way)…sort of puts their views on said services in proper context. Then we go to the SPLC intelligence report about Stormfront talking about how easy it is for them to recruit teabaggers and especially birthers to their groups of white nationalists. Not to mention all the bags of shit in the right wing 'establishment' talking about how they reject their "white guilt", etc. Oh and the very lovely Mrs. Harris-Perry could easily point to Mittens being a bishop in a religion which said people like her bore the mark of the devil in their skin color…not to mention the racism by the boy scouts of Utah. Wingnuts REALLY shouldn't indulge in this topic outside of their right wing vacuum…it's such low hanging fruit for anyone who reads….

bikerlaureate August 14, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Unlike that treacherous Food Stamp President.

MilwaukeeKent August 14, 2012 at 11:15 pm

So true, just today, the day before and the day before that, I heard Sean Hannity say that the only reason Barack Obama wants to serve a second term is that he wants to enjoy that helicopter, private plane and fancy house awhile longer.

My dog perked up and looked around. Odd.

johnnyzhivago August 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

The problem with the world (and specifically with the US news, media and internet) is that there are WAY, WAY more people giving their fucking opinion on everything than there are actual people out there listening to or reading it….

sullivanst August 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

I think more importantly, there are WAY, WAY more people giving their fucking opinion on everything than there are people with an opinion worth paying attention to.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Oh, if I could only upfist you and johnnyz more…

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Victor David Hansen has been an idiot for a very long time. Anything he writes about history is wrong, too.

ChernobylSoup August 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Can't wait until someone tells Hansen that there's only one Protestant on the ticket this election.

Rosie_Scenario August 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

And that the Protestant is Obama. Or is he a secret Muslin?

DerrickWildcat August 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

John Kerry is only about 7% less Black than Obama.

sbj1964 August 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Jimmy the Greek is rolling in his grave!

Angry_Marmot August 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Yeah but not very well, on account of because he's been bred to be that way, because of his flabby thighs and fat ass that goes up into his back.

UnholyMoses August 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Yet when Romney goes to Poland, Cokie Roberts hypothesizes that he is angling for the votes of Polish-Americans.

That damn Cokie Roberts! She's just another liberal black pers–oh … ummm … wait a second.

Nevermind.

ChernobylSoup August 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Cokie Roberts is neither liberal nor conservative. She's just dumb and irrelevant.

Hawaii is too exotic, indeed.

elviouslyqueer August 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Yes, but Cokie's from an old New Orleans family, with, y'know, Creoles and such.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Does her family have creole blood, or just creole maids?

elviouslyqueer August 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Yes.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Well then Cokie needs to free her mind so her ass will follow.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Oh, now I understand. There are "Beyonce's Mom" Creoles and "Vampire Lestat" Creoles. And Cajuns, who are just French Canadians who got lost looking for someplace warm.

Callyson August 14, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Are we sure that Victor David Hanson isn't some kind of post – modern experiment?

(I know, why am I trying to make any sense out of any of this drivel he wrote. Bad habit of mine…)

HempDogbane August 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm

He's a farmer, maybe his best asset. Most farmers know when to STFU. In his case I blame it on excessive self-esteem.

freakishlywrong August 14, 2012 at 12:56 pm

In short, until the election of Barack Obama, “white” was an increasingly rare designation.
Unfortunately, "Blah" has only become more prevalent.

Oblios_Cap August 14, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Yet there is no indication of a new racism on the part of conservatives or Republicans. Herman Cain — until dismembered by media accusations — led the Republican primary field for weeks in the polls. Michael Steele ran the Republican National Committee for two years. Allen West remains the Tea Party’s most popular politician. And many polls showed that Condoleezza Rice was the favored vice-presidential candidate among the Republican faithful. George W. Bush chose two African-American secretaries of state. That post has not been held by a white male since the ancient days of Warren Christopher.

None of those is really a black peoplz.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

I'll disagree, just on the general principle that black people don't have to have a particular ideology to get their ID card. However, they do have to bear the consequences of pledging themselves to stupid ideologies, and sucking up to people who bank on the support of those who hate black people.

Oblios_Cap August 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm

I hear ya. I was wasn't too terribly serious.

1stNewtontheMoon August 14, 2012 at 2:00 pm

i hear both of you, but as randy newman once sung about clarence thomas, "and as for the brother, well Pluto's not a planet anymore either."

HateMachine August 14, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Yeah, I don't get why you'd attempt to argue that the Republican party is a great, welcoming place for blah people and then attempt to prove it by citing a bunch of extremely white people.

Then again, I guess you could argue that Steele is black if your point of comparison is Mitt Romney.

TavariousChinaSmith August 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Well sure, but next to Mitt Romney, Harry Reid is black.

RadioBowels August 14, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Hanson has blah on the brain.

BarackMyWorld August 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I think it is called National Review because its writers are in serous need of some remedial history classes.

Oblios_Cap August 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm

And writing ones, as well.

PhilippePetain August 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Great thing is, guess what courses Hanson taught at …ahem…Fresno State?

sudsmckenzie August 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I tried to read all of that and now I dont remember who RG3 is.

Texan_Bulldog August 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

OMFG, this article is so full of stupid, it'd take a day to rebut everything in it. My 7-year old could have ate a box of crayons and shit out a smarter column about race and color.

mavenmaven August 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

"All this race-baiting follows the Henry Louis Gates incident, the Trayvon Martin editorializing…"
Um, yeah, cases where innocent black people were attacked because of their skin color, but there's clearly no concept of justice to Mr. Hanson, only "staged anger at “whites”".

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Obama took Skip's keys so he'd have to break into his own house. Obama then sent a white cop to arrest him. It was all set up by Obama HUSSEIN, I tell ya.

MissTaken August 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Why's it so hard to be a white these days?

Oblios_Cap August 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Bleach prices keep rising.

MissTaken August 14, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Anuses everywhere are suffering.

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Won't somebody think of the sphincters?

Nostrildamus August 14, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Don't worry. I'm sure the House of Cardinals is.

Willardbot9000_V2.5 August 14, 2012 at 3:37 pm

It's hard to be conservative and white mostly due to cognitive dissonance. On the one hand…conservatives try to pretend they are individualists who don't see skin color (hahahaha no really they say that shit! it's so adorable) and then on the other hand they believe in white privilege as an expression of cultural superiority and think that denying it as such is "PC". In fact personally any time a conservative says anything about "PC" in terms of race in 'Merka I can almost guarantee racial bile coated in so many dog whistles that any dog in the vicinity eardrums will burst. Face it wingnuts…you've got a major problem with this topic and whining and pretending you're misunderstood victims is not going to fix it.

Angry_Marmot August 14, 2012 at 1:19 pm

"Bleach prices, my ass," as the porn star said to the groomer.

SorosBot August 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Maybe we should ask Franklin Delano Bluth?

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Because the man keeps us down?

fatbob54 August 14, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Since "those people" are now referred to as "blah" shouldn't we be calling white people like Mr. Hansen "Whaaas"?

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 7:57 pm

"Waaahh People" could work.

Joshua Norton August 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

In short, until the election of Barack Obama, “white” was an increasingly rare designation.

Or as Mittens prefers to call them: "Anglo-Saxon".

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 7:58 pm

Restore our Whiny Anglo-Saxon Culture!

SorosBot August 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

"Yet there is no indication of a new racism on the part of conservatives or Republicans"

True; it's the same old racism conservatives have always had, just louder now than it had been in recent decades since we have a black President.

sewollef August 14, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Louder and with an automatic weapon in each hand.

sullivanst August 14, 2012 at 1:46 pm
Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Old racism. New words. Or an old sound now coming from newer dog whistles.

Schmannnity August 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

I'm all tuckered out from reading this post and too tired to comment. What's next, footnotes?

HempDogbane August 15, 2012 at 11:59 pm

A reading list.

mrblifil August 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Why these foreign Kenyan nose-bone watermelon-eaters and their "gutter trash" kids always gotta make it about race?

SorosBot August 14, 2012 at 1:00 pm

"Herman Cain — until dismembered by media accusations — blah blah Michael Steele, Allan West etc"

Hanson is using a lot of words to say the old, tired, "But but some of the Republican Party's best friends are black!"

SayItWithWookies August 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm

I'm surprised he didn't dredge up the oft-martyred Clarence Thomas.

kittensdontlie August 14, 2012 at 1:32 pm

I'm surprised there are seven black Republicans in the entire country. I figured the number was closer to two or three…

LetUsBray August 14, 2012 at 1:54 pm

And every single one of them has his own seat in congress, syndicated column, talk show, or spot on the supreme court.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Or Alan Keyes and Armstrong Williams.
Poor guys, seems like the GOP always forgets about them.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:44 pm

"Then Mr. Cain grabbed the back of my head and attempted to dismember himself with media accusations."

bibliotequetress August 14, 2012 at 2:09 pm

ooooooh. Gonna spend the rest of the day getting rid of that thought.

CleverSobriquet August 14, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Mitt Romney has friends who own black people

fatbob54 August 14, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Don't forget the old standby "There are Blacks and then there are Ni**ers!" statement used by some Whaas to show they don't hate the whole race, just the ones who won't take their shit.

Buzz Feedback August 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Studies show that people that use three names are generally full of shit.

Signed,
Weezie Jefferson

Angry_Marmot August 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

J. Alfred Prufrock most wistfully agrees.

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Just ask James Earl Ray or Lee Harvey Oswald.

Oblios_Cap August 14, 2012 at 1:32 pm

or cerail killers.

ThankYouJeebus August 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

I'll take your Friends and Martin and raise you an All in the Family.

CrunchyKnee August 14, 2012 at 1:03 pm

I miss Michael Steele.

JustPixelz August 14, 2012 at 1:03 pm

The National Review guy is right! Demoncrats need to stop saying "white" and "black" (or even "blah"). The terminology preferred by Repubicans is "values voter" for white people and "junior janitors" for black people. They also like "illegals" for older Latinos; "anchor baby" for younger. "Terrorist" is how they refer to American Muslims. And "a man's religious beliefs don't matter" means Mormon.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Thank you for that helpful cheat-sheet! I might add also, "Real America" = God-fearing White Hockey Moms, and "Chicago" = Cesspool of Negro/Mexican/Union Thug Horror.

HistoriCat August 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Don't forget "very very urban"

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:16 pm

San Francisco = fags that might have sex in front of/molest your children to try to convert them
Elite = someone who's smart but not rich
Birth Control = baby murder
Public Education = Satan teaching your children through liberals
Homeschooling = God's teaching your precious little ones

mbobier August 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Victor David Hansen would be quivering in his tasseled loafers if Melissa Harris-Perry ever turned that steely, "cut the crap" look on him.

Ruhe August 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

She is awesome.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:17 pm

I bet she gives good side eye.

Nibbler of Niblonia August 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Doctor Brother Cornell West says the white racist power structure wants to niggerize all of us. Black, brown, yellow, red and white. The poor, working class, middle class, progressives, liberals, atheists, buddhists, jews, hindus, poets and artists and hippies and everyone who is not a white christian conservative wealthy tool of the banks and/or political and/or defense-industrial complex.

Now we even get niggerized for talking about how they tryin to niggerize us.

Ruhe August 14, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Invisible man…is that you?

BlueStateLibel August 14, 2012 at 1:18 pm

There's some annoying book out right now from one of those white conservative wealthy tools that's trying to do just that. The guy pretty much applies all of the annoying stereotypical things that have been said about blacks to poor and lower-class whites, at the same time arguing that wealthy white plutocrats are "morally superior." I want to puke every time I see that book mentioned.

Angry_Marmot August 14, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Ron Dellums called that one way back when: "… someone whose lifestyle is defined by others, whose opportunities are defined by others, whose role in society is defined by others, then…"

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Lordy mercy (and I don't say that often) that quote is awesome.

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Is that something you do to your car in the winter?

belmontreport August 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Obama cured my color-blindness. Mr. Hanson might not be grateful, but I sure am.

Hammiepants August 14, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Blah people who identify as Republicans are mystifying to me, much like gay people who do the same. Or poor whites. Or messicans. Or the uterused. It's like they have an elaborate form of Stockholm Syndrome.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:29 pm

For the life of me, I can't understand why many members of my family are Republicans when they are just one generation removed from people who lived in poverty. My dad and his siblings tried to climb their way up to the middle class with various degrees of success. And now I have cousins that have slipped back into poverty who rely on public assistance but still think that conservatives and the GOP are just wonderful. It boggles my mind.

Hammiepants August 15, 2012 at 12:21 pm

<DIV>I don't get it myself. Talk about voting against your own best interests! The hilarious thing is Mittens and the rest of the Republican oligarchy wouldn't piss on the average Teabilly to extinguish them if they were on fire.</DIV> <DIV style=”FONT-FAMILY: verdana, helvetica, sans-serif; FONT-SIZE: 12pt”> <DIV style=”FONT-FAMILY: times new roman, new york, times, serif; FONT-SIZE: 12pt”>

Not_So_Much August 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Spoken like a truly clueless white guy.

elviouslyqueer August 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

In short, until the election of Barack Obama, “white” was an increasingly rare designation. Intermarriage, integration, and assimilation were making race itself an irrelevant consideration.

No no. I think we're confusing "increasingly rare designation" with "overwhelmingly prevalent hegemonic presence in the national discourse." Also, Mr. Hanson, academe called and would like to have a word.

CrunchyKnee August 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Some truths:

The GOP is made up primarily of the Olds.
A large portion of these Olds are racist. Always have been.
The GOP is a dying party, because many of the youngs don't cotton to their dog whistling.
oh, and
$arah Palin is a moron, also too.

ravi_shankar August 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

As a person with some color myself, I ask:

aren't there any black corporations in VA that Romney could have found and made his VP choice?

SigDeFlyinMonky August 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Failed rasin farmer found wandering in circles in Fresno county, victim of heat stroke.

NorthStarSpanx August 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

I like it when one of their own points these things out instead.

That scene in The Aviator where Howard Hughes tells Katharine Hepburn's family that they don't care about money because they have it. (stars at 1:30 mark)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=br-ljup5Bow

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Heh. This is much like what my partner once said to me. He was once "opposite-married" to a lady who's great-grandfather (I think it was) invented stainless steel. So, for a few years, he was socializing in some high-falutin' circles. He said: "They never thought about money because they had more than enough of it." But his ex-wife's family fortune pretty much petered out because she, her mother, and grandmother blew what was left of it–but that's a whole other story.

Tequila Mockingbird August 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

I will forever love Melissa Harris-Perry because of her hilarious snarky review of that god-awful schlock film The Help.

Also, Victor Davis Hanson's name is too similar to that of the guy who edited the equally-shitty Chicken Soup for the Soul books, so, whatever, fuck him.

TootsStansbury August 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Does the fact that I can't make any sense of this story make me a derp sayer?

freakishlywrong August 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

No, Toots, it makes you a derp sLayer…

proudgrampa August 14, 2012 at 1:23 pm

I couldm't figure it out, either.

Blueb4sinrise August 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

I thought that the correct term was 'negroidal'.

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Whereas Mr. Hanson is hemorrhoidal.

mwittier August 14, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Negro, Colored, African-American, Blah: they keep changing it out on us to make us look black. BAD. To make us look BAD. You know what I mean.
That's why I just say, "those people." You never know who's listening.

OneYieldRegular August 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm

"Yet there is no indication of a new racism on the part of conservatives or Republicans."

Yes, it is truly incredible how, since the election of Barack Obama, racism has simply vanished from conservative and Republican circles, and I'm sorry if anyone was offended by this.

sullivanst August 14, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Melissa Harris-Perry looks ready to cut a bitch. A cage match between her and Victor Davis Hanson would likely be quite entertaining, and entirely one-sided methinks.

rmjagg August 14, 2012 at 1:37 pm

she'd play cat and mouse for a while before going in for the kill

Chow Yun Flat August 14, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Finally, a voice to speak for the persecuted, discriminated against and lynched white people in this country.

Goonemeritus August 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

If the idea white people is disappearing how can you explain NASCAR and the continued success of country music.

fatbob54 August 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Don't forget Cracker Barrel.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

"How To Write A Column In Which The Only True Statement Is The Byline", by Victor Davis Hanson

IncenseDebate August 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

The part about Frank Sinatra's penis offended me.

proudgrampa August 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

What?

emmelemm August 14, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Just please tell me that Melissa Harris-Perry is not married to Tyler Perry. That would make me have a sad.

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Strangely enough, she is married to Rick Perry.

emmelemm August 14, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Shirley you jest!

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I never jest. And don't call me Shirley.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm

I don't think Tyler Perry would have any interest in her, knowhattamean?

MissTaken August 14, 2012 at 1:26 pm
IncenseDebate August 14, 2012 at 1:29 pm

I feel like I went to school with that guy.

Beowoof August 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm

I saw that, I has a sad as it seems so many of those who made my youth tolerable are now passing on.

iburl August 14, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Oooh, Ooh, Mr. Death, Mr. Death!

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 3:04 pm

First Epstein, now Horshack…, How much longer does John Travolta have?

SorosBot August 14, 2012 at 3:50 pm

He better make sure his Thetans are Clear.

Butch_Wagstaff August 14, 2012 at 8:57 pm

I didn't even know he was gay. I found that out from reading the post about his passing on Joe.My.God. Another gay blog said he was gay but not "out". I guess they decided that he was not really "out" because he never made an official public announcement that he was gay to the media. Anyway, I never saw the show until the 1990s when it aired on "Nick at Nite". He was my favorite character and now, thinking about it, I can understand why. He and his partner were together for 41 years.

Maman August 14, 2012 at 1:27 pm

" When they say ‘God and nature give us our rights, not government,’ that is a lovely thing to say as a wealthy white man.”

Given that Declaration was written to still allow blacks and women to be treated as chattel… and the current Republicans are trying to supress votes… and any votes is horrible shows how things are still a long way from racial transcendence.

badseeds August 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm

What, Victor, '300' isn't on cable today?

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

He was wearing his leather battle panties while he typed this.

SayItWithWookies August 14, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Okay, so if I said "Romney and Ryan are two rich and powerful oblivious people who think everyone can borrow twenty grand to start a business or use their daddy's connections to get ahead or just happen to know a whole pile of Central American dictators with millions in seed capital and that nobody living in lesser circumstances exists and therefore it's okay to disenfranchise them and take their pennies (because just a few pennies each from millions of people who don't exist — well — volume, people" — would that make Mr. Victor Davis Hanson shut up about how we're racist because two rich white fucking males are trying to disenfranchise us and take our money?

Exhausted66 August 14, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Mmmmmm blah. Blah, blah mmmmm, blah.
-Hanson

PhilippePetain August 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm

"Herman Cain — until dismembered by media accusations — led the Republican primary field for weeks in the polls. Michael Steele ran the Republican National Committee for two years. "

And BINGO! The reason they put these guys there appears in print. If Hansen has a modicum of decency in his system, his skin crawled when he wrote that.

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Well, considering that "White" is made up of Northern Europeans, few of whom even got along until recently (See Wars, World), I don't have much use for the term.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Are you kicking Italians and Jews out of the White Club?! After all they've done for you people?!

HistoriCat August 14, 2012 at 2:04 pm

First them, then we're going to kick out the Irish!

SayItWithWookies August 14, 2012 at 1:50 pm

That's all the fault of those filthy Slavs.

PubOption August 14, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Especially Gavrilo Princip.

Steverino247 August 14, 2012 at 2:19 pm

The first rule of White Club is "You don't talk about White Club."

emmelemm August 14, 2012 at 2:39 pm

In under the wire with a knock-out punch!

(WIN)

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Mr. Davis-Hanson may have a point. I remember when Ronald Reagan was elected that the first thing Tip O'Neil said is that the Democratic party would do everything they could to see that he was a one term president. Walter Cronkite took to the air to announce that he hoped Reagan would fail. People were constantly questioning Reagan's legitimacy as an American Citizen and demanding that he release his birth certificate. Heck, there were many on the left that accused him of not being a Christian but in fact a Taoist, and of unleashing the Chinese on the American Government. I remember the posters at the anti-Reagan rallies of Reagan with a bone through his nose, or all the letters from various Democratic apparatchiks with overt racist imagery of potatoes growing all over the white house lawn.

But did anyone accuse the Democratic party of being racist in the 80s? I think not.

carlgt1 August 14, 2012 at 1:46 pm

hell, Reagan was somehow still a "born-again evangelical Christian for Jeebus" even as he & Nancy were found going to seances and getting their horoscopes plotted out!

Lionel[redacted]Esq August 14, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Plus, he was pro-marriage even though he left his first wife and kids for a women best know for being able to suck the chrome off of a trailer hitch.

mwittier August 14, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Hey, Mia's done more good than any twenty politicians combined. Including, but not limited to raising an amazing son. And Rosemary's Baby.

barto August 14, 2012 at 1:51 pm

I'm still confused. BO gets elected because he correctly knows that race doesn't matter any more. BO now tries to get re-elected by playing the race card?!? Who is this VD Hanson, and what have you done with his brain?

Tundra Grifter August 14, 2012 at 2:01 pm

"George W. Bush chose two African-American secretaries of state. That post has not been held by a white male since the ancient days of Warren Christopher."

Madeleine Albright libel !

VHD considers himself to be a historian. I have yet to read a single thing he's written that makes any sense whatsoever. He claimed Bill Clinton couldn't be a good president because he didn't have any military experience. I wrote a letter to the editor of the newspaper that published that garbage, pointing out that Abraham Lincoln did pretty well during the Civil War, and so did FDR in WW II.

LetUsBray August 14, 2012 at 2:03 pm

*sigh* – Another day, another privileged white idiot who thinks the world desperately needs his Very Important Thoughts on race in America.

And another thing: Why can't I use the n-word? I saw this negroidal comedian use it, and he didn't get fired…

Tingomonkey August 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm

So basically, he is saying here that America's new found love for racism is Barack Obama's fault? Makes sense, I guess if you're a cynical ideologue.

Incitefully_Joe August 14, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Herman Cain [...] Michael Steele [...] Allen West [...]George W. Bush chose two African-American secretaries of state.

So, Walking Minstrel Show who never held any office; Token AND Minstrel Show (who was ousted in disgrace after admitting the Southern Strategy was real); Fascist War Criminal Who Rose To Prominence Because of Bigotry Against Another Group; and Two More Tokens Who Are Also Personae Non Grata In The Current Party Due To Heterodoxy On Issues That Impact Minorities.

So Bush gets some credit for appointing 2 minorities in order to have a fig leaf for a bunch of the anti-minority policy crap he shat out both President and previously, as Governor, but the fact that that's notable in its distance from what any Republican today would do is nearly as sad as the fact that we just counted out every prominent black Republican for the past 20 years, on one hand.

PuckStopsHere August 14, 2012 at 2:46 pm

This sums Mr. Hanson perfectly. Bard of the Booboisie…

Chichikovovich August 14, 2012 at 2:50 pm

"what we say has no innate meaning apart from our class, race, and gender.

Either the English language was hard-wired into Mr. Hansen at birth, or he doesn't know what the word "innate" means.

Odd, given the topic of his sentence.

Nostrildamus August 14, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Mia Farrow … The Angela Davis of people who’ve seen Frank Sinatra’s penis.

Who's the Pee Wee Herman?

MiniMencken August 14, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Why is Hanson ignoring the role of the international Zionist conspiracy, the Trilateral Commission and the Bilderburger Group in all of this? Who is he really working for?

SigDeFlyinMonky August 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm

As a fellow history major from UCSC let me comment; VDH projects much, ( see wiki entry; political views ) he has been interviewed on the radio declaiming the President's exit strategy for Afganistan without being asked for his definition of "victory" in the infamous graveyard of empires. He is a captive academic of the oligarchy. I will finish with this. As a son of Norwegian ancestors, this Swede would be fed into a wood chipper by the likes of L. Salander; my Irish blood will curse him with this: there is no poetry in his soul.

BZ1 August 14, 2012 at 5:15 pm

More raving from the unhinged Victor Davis Hanson, once sane, I think.

deanbooth August 14, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Rick Perry's married to a black woman?! Even more surprising, he's married to a PhD!? More surprising still, he' married to a woman?!!!

ttommyunger August 14, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Yuk it up, Muddafuck: the "Whites" will soon be an impotent minority in America.

Fare la Volpe August 14, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Lestat is French; Louis is Creole. I've watched that film on loop too many times to forget.

The rest is completely right. The French Canadians seem to be all the lumberjack expatriates that didn't like the scent of Chanel.

Chet Kincaid_ August 14, 2012 at 2:45 pm

I was flipping through the channels one night and they were making rat's blood cocktails. I kept on flippin'.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: