LET THE VETTENING COMMENCE!  11:20 am August 7, 2012

Ghost of Andrew Breitbart Finds Negative Review Of 1989 Elizabeth Warren Book, Declares National Emergency

by Doktor Zoom

As if! It's nowhere near this titillatingHow frightening is Elizabeth Warren to wingnuts? Scary enough that Breitbart remnant Big Government is running a Very Important four-part series by Micheal Patrick Leahy about Warren’s scholarship. Four parts! Wow! That must really be some dynamite exposé they have, huh? Absolutely, if you consider repeating the same charges from a negative book review over four articles “dynamite.”

Unlike many Breitbart stories that are made up out of pure delusional fantasy, this one actually does at least start with a basis in observable fact: there actually was a minor academic squabble involving the research methodology in a 1989 book about personal bankruptcy co-authored by Warren (along with Teresa A. Sullivan and Jay Westbrook), As We Forgive Our Debtors: Bankruptcy and Consumer Credit in America. Essentially, it boils down to this: in a 1990 review of Warren’s book, Rutgers Law Professor Philip Shuchman took issue with the book’s methodology, and accused the authors of “repeated instances of scientific misconduct” in their survey of individual and family bankruptcies. There’s more, but that’s pretty much the core of the accusation. Shuchman’s review is available on the web, for those hardy enough to plow through it; like many academic book reviews, it argues with both the research design and conclusions of the Warren book, questioning whether the study uses data from a sufficiently representative sample to justify its conclusions, and taking issue with how the authors define their terms. Like many a writer of a negative review, Schuchman really did not like this book.

Ah, but what about that damning phrase, “repeated instances of scientific misconduct”? Is there anything to it? Maybe, if you agree with Schuchman’s critique of the book. Schuchman himself died in 2004, and Leahy quotes extensively from obituaries praising him as a scholar. Surely Schuchman knew what he was talking about, since people said he was a great guy after he died! But the phrase itself is magical, especially if you divorce it, as Leahy gleefully has, from the context of Schuchman’s review article. In the article, it’s perfectly clear that the phrase refers to the methodology and conclusions of a single book. But hey, what happens if we move that phrase into a headline?

Good heavens! She must have been some kind of hideous monster who misconducted science again and again, heedless of the consequences! “Repeated instances” here implies that her whole academic career had to be full of charges of misconduct — and if you glance only at the headline, you might even assume that the problem wasn’t just one bad book review, but a whole charge sheet of academic crimes, made by multiple accusers.

In the best tradition of “Glenn Beck has never denied murdering a girl in the 1990s” logic, Leahy deftly pivots from the fact that Schuchman accused Warren of misconduct to the assumption that any positive mention of her scholarship simply flies in the face of that damning accusation. Thus, each time he mentions a Harvard official extolling Warren’s “excellent scholarship,” Leahy can sneer, Oh yeah? How could she be “excellent” with all those repeated instances of misconduct? At one point, Leahy even takes issue with the opinion of one scholar that Warren’s work was “thoroughly respectable.” Since Harvard was looking for “excellent,” why did they settle for merely “thoroughly respectable,” huh, huh? “Clearly,” he intones, “factors beyond teaching and quality of academic research played a role in her hiring.” Probably something really bad, we bet.

In any case, the specific accusations against Warren’s 1989 book almost don’t matter, except to fans of academic arcana. It’s pretty clear that, despite Leahy’s best efforts to spin it into a massive scandal spanning several institutions, there really isn’t much here beyond what appears to be a long-ago settled scholarly dustup about methodology and conclusions. And in fact, there doesn’t have to be any substance, as long as there’s a long, four-part series that says there’s a scandal — the rightwing blogosphere is already trying to build this into a Thing, and the details are almost immaterial. Several pages just spitting out the phrase “repeated instances of scientific misconduct” is what they’re after, and really, it’s about all they’ve got. And who knows, it worked for “Climategate!”

We do at least appreciate the irony of Breitbart.com trying to damage a political opponent with a story about whether her work demonstrates the highest standards of academic rigor. That takes some Chootzpah.

[Big Government]

 
Related video

Hola wonkerados.

To improve site performance, we did a thing. It could be up to three minutes before your comment appears. DON'T KEEP RETRYING, OKAY?

Also, if you are a new commenter, your comment may never appear. This is probably because we hate you.

{ 149 comments }

nounverb911 August 7, 2012 at 11:21 am

How thoroughly retroactive of them.

hagajim August 7, 2012 at 11:23 am

start with a basis in observable fact…and rapidly moves into the fantasy land of the rest of the wingnut universe.

nounverb911 August 7, 2012 at 11:24 am

Since Breitbart cannot defend himself, I deny that Breitbart ever existed.

WIDTAP August 7, 2012 at 11:29 am

Who never existed?

nounverb911 August 7, 2012 at 11:32 am

Exactly.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:34 pm

This conversation never happened.

Mittens Howell, III August 7, 2012 at 11:46 am

I thought I saw a picture of him once, but it was fake.

ChuckieJesus August 7, 2012 at 11:55 am

Yeah, his head was way too big for that armor!

James Michael Curley August 7, 2012 at 12:13 pm

I have his picture. It was in it when I bought a new wallet.

Generation[redacted] August 7, 2012 at 12:25 pm

What's more, Breitbart was accused of repeated instances of misconduct, with a walrus.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 11:24 am

Leahy merely operates on the assumption that if you can't fool all of the people all of the time, you only need to fool fools most of the time, because they're too stoopit to remember that you fooled them once.

viennawoods13 August 7, 2012 at 11:51 am

Fool them twice… can't get fooled again.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 11:26 am

I'd like to hear Andrew Breitbart deny that his fatal heart attack was caused by deep penetration into the anus of a now-dead male hooker.

If he can't, it must be true.

Terry August 7, 2012 at 12:16 pm

…and a whole lot of meth.

Generation[redacted] August 7, 2012 at 12:27 pm

The lasting lesson of his life and death will be this: Don't fuck a walrus if you have a heart condition.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:41 pm

I don't think John Bolton is gay, but OK

zippy_w_pinhead August 7, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Hooker libel!
the fact is, that male hooker was already dead when Andy penetrated him

MumbletyPesto August 7, 2012 at 11:28 am

academic squabble involving the research methodology in a 1989 book

So I'm *not* still dreaming. We have time-traveled back to 1989. Ryan White has missed us — and I apparently missed where Warren was even relevant twenty-odd years ago.

EatsBabyDingos August 7, 2012 at 11:29 am

The New War on Peas.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Give peas a chance.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Envision whirled peas.

Someone had to say it…

CrunchyKnee August 7, 2012 at 11:31 am

I thought that wingnuttards were not into science things that much anyways?

Geminisunmars August 7, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Yeah. I thought they'd be pro-scientific misconduct.

EatsBabyDingos August 7, 2012 at 11:31 am

If Breitbart were alive today, he'd be clawing like hell at his casket. And I'd be laughing like hell, and probably going to hell, but what the hell.

Hello, Nurse!

Willardbot9000_V2.5 August 7, 2012 at 4:50 pm

hahaha…yeah, he'd be making muffled whiney sounds and you could then say (or I could, with a big ear-ear smile) "I'd offer to help but this is 'Merika, you claw your way out by your bootstraps!" and maybe add, "if we helped him we'd just encourage his culture of dependency on hands out…which would destroy his freedom to suffocate" then hum "America the Beautiful" until the sounds fade…but I'm not bitter and I don't hate wingnuts…I just want them to live consistently, after all…the sociopathic motherfuckers…

Goonemeritus August 7, 2012 at 11:31 am

“Repeated instances of scientific misconduct”?

A phrase that means you have depicted a dinosaur without Jesus riding it to most Republicans.

deanbooth August 7, 2012 at 11:31 am

Harry Reid is a novice.

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 11:32 am

I much prefer the Patrick Leahy without a leading Michael.

Geminisunmars August 7, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Or a misleading Michael.

BaldarTFlagass August 7, 2012 at 11:33 am

“repeated instances of scientific misconduct”

And what about repeated instances of journalistic misconduct, hmmm?

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 11:40 am

GoB calls that "SOP".

Willardbot9000_V2.5 August 7, 2012 at 5:07 pm

I was checking reviews on Rotten Tomatoes of the new Batman movie and stumbled onto one of the reviews being from Big Hollywood…fucking hilarious. I watched the film with two of my nephews last week and thought how overtly political the film was in favor of Occupy, the 99%, etc. This review was SO FAR afield from the film I saw it was fucking ridiculous. I mean there was this movie I saw, every one in the theater saw and then this movie this asshole saw. I was going to comment by asking this guy what the color the sky is in his world but it reminded me too much of the dumbshits who claimed the Dark Knight was a paen to Bush when it raked the US over the coals…either way Breitfarters are just stupid and demented…

LastGasp August 7, 2012 at 11:34 am

… if you consider repeating the same charges from a negative book review over four articles…

Hmm, didn't Joseph Goebbels say something like this? “If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it."

eggsacklywright August 7, 2012 at 11:39 am

Might have been Karl Rove. I'm always getting them mixed up.

rickmaci August 7, 2012 at 12:37 pm

No, I think it was Lee Atwater (as long as we are running with a blog string about dead crypto Nazi propagandists.)

James Michael Curley August 7, 2012 at 12:21 pm

“Falsehood flies, and the truth comes limping after it.”
— Johnathan Swift, early 18th Cent.

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 12:38 pm

That quote appears to have spawned many imitators.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Reagan used to do that, too, except that he was too dumb to remember what he'd lied about the first time, so his lies got progressively worse as they repeated them. The first time around, he'd say a four-month fetus was viable, the second time around, it would be a three-month fetus, the third time, it would be a three-week fetus. He smiled a lot, so nobody ever questioned it.

sewollef August 7, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Hmm, didn't Joseph Goebbels say something like this? “If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it."

That maybe true, but it doesn't mean Leahy's going to invade Poland, surely.

Or does it?

Wilcoxyz August 7, 2012 at 11:34 am

In other wingnut book news: Waldo comes out, errr, found!

Texan_Bulldog August 7, 2012 at 11:35 am

Hey, you found a picture of Ann & Mitt when they were dating!

nounverb911 August 7, 2012 at 11:37 am

Is Mitt about to cut her hair?

edgydrifter August 7, 2012 at 11:47 am

Sticking an ashtray in your lady's armpit and grinding your elbow into her pelvis never struck me as effective foreplay, but maybe that was the style in the early '60s.

Geminisunmars August 7, 2012 at 12:05 pm

You mean it's not now?

Generation[redacted] August 7, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Looks like he just cashed another one of Daddy's treasury notes.

edgydrifter August 7, 2012 at 11:36 am

Elizabeth Warren's entire life is a fraud because she once made an economic argument based on a sample size and methodology that some other professor didn't think was sufficiently representative, but Rick Santorum, Hank Williams Jr., Rush Limbaugh and about eleventy-million Republican agitators calling Obama "HITLER!" passes muster because, duh, that's self-evident.

One_who_wanders August 7, 2012 at 12:02 pm

As a former academic social scientist I heartily approve of this comment. To say they love to split hairs on methodology is dramatically understate the case.

emmelemm August 7, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Truer words never spoken.

Also, I've missed your little fox avatar.

ElPinche August 7, 2012 at 11:36 am

Four parts??? Is this radical wingnut version of The Hobbit?

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 11:39 am

There And Back Again, And Back Once More, Then Home Again, Then Once More With Feeling, And A Final Return To Hobbiton

Chet Kincaid_ August 7, 2012 at 11:58 am

Good God, don't let Jackson get hold of The Silmarillion!

Chet Kincaid_ August 7, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Harvey Weinstein nearly has the deal put together with Tolkien's estate: "RRvRR: Middle Earth vs. Westeroth." The War Of The Geeks begins with conceptual sketches and test animations at ComiCon 2013!!

viennawoods13 August 7, 2012 at 12:26 pm

That will be challenging for Sean Bean, as he has to die early in both.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Serves him right for having an orthographically inconsistent name.

Texan_Bulldog August 7, 2012 at 11:41 am

I can't help thinking the Breitbart readership is more suited to 'four very short paragraphs' than four parts.

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 11:44 am

Well, if they're four very small parts, it probably has a comfortable familiarity to regular visitors.

ElPinche August 7, 2012 at 12:02 pm

And in ALL CAPS of course.

viennawoods13 August 7, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Comic sans MS, too.

IonaTrailer August 7, 2012 at 12:20 pm

My thoughts exactly. with no words over three syllables…

Typodong3 August 7, 2012 at 11:45 am

You NEED a trilogy to do justice to The Hobbit. Because, $.

Chet Kincaid_ August 7, 2012 at 11:57 am

And coming in 2020, Peter Jackson's expanded Double-Trilogy Director's Re-Cut of "The Lord Of The Rings" in Digital 3D!!

Typodong3 August 7, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Thats funny cause the other day I was thinking that the equivalent of a Hobbit trilogy would be a 9-part LOTR epic. Plus extras.

viennawoods13 August 7, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Which, sadly, I would happily purchase.

Joshua Norton August 7, 2012 at 11:37 am

May I have your attention please? Andrew Breitbart is still dead.

And I never get tired of mentioning that.

poorgradstudent August 7, 2012 at 11:38 am

Now, now, which is more likely: that this entire website is run by ideologically fanatical morons, or that people form different opinions about academic things?

BaldarTFlagass August 7, 2012 at 11:40 am

Can't… cut… Gordian… Knot….

Biel_ze_Bubba August 7, 2012 at 11:43 am

"Here … use my razor."
–Occam

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:46 pm

AOT, K

And you misspelled "moran"

lulzmonger August 8, 2012 at 4:04 am

Yes.

BaldarTFlagass August 7, 2012 at 11:39 am

I hear she cheated on a spelling test in the second grade, too, by writing the words on her hand before the test.

ChuckieJesus August 7, 2012 at 11:57 am

SPEECHIFYIN' PALIN LIBELZ!!!1!

SayItWithWookies August 7, 2012 at 11:40 am

So a Breitbart site is now saying there's something wrong with scientific misconduct? And how would they even know? That would be like me criticizing Breitbart's conduct at the bus station gloryhole.

Jus_Wonderin August 7, 2012 at 11:44 am

It's safe to say he used too much teeth action.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:45 pm

And, quite frankly, his hygiene wasn't the best.

Ducksworthy August 7, 2012 at 11:41 am

Conservatives are always appalled at the free flow of ideas that academics take for granted: vis the "global warming gate" emails where scientists were actually critical of their critics.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:47 pm

In fairness, they goosestep on the dance floor, too.

RadioBowels August 7, 2012 at 11:42 am

Mein Kampf wasn't very well reviewed either.

BaldarTFlagass August 7, 2012 at 11:57 am

Too bad those reviews weren't sufficient to keep him out of electoral politics.

BlueStateLibel August 7, 2012 at 11:42 am

Wait, I thought the wingnuts didn't believe in science? So who cares if it's misconducted? I'm confused.

ChuckieJesus August 7, 2012 at 11:59 am

"You Librulz and all yer High Order Thinkin' Skills! No wonder yer so easily confused by the facts!"

An_Outhouse August 7, 2012 at 12:32 pm

who knew they could read?

MissTaken August 7, 2012 at 11:42 am

I heard if you compare Elizabeth Warren's supposed writings to those of Bill Ayers and Saul Alinsky there is a disproportionate use of the words 'the' and 'and' proving that Warren did not write them.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Also, if you read them backwards, it proves that Paul McCartney is dead a hack.

MissTaken August 7, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Warren is the Walrus.

Typodong3 August 7, 2012 at 11:43 am

I hear Obama is "a monster, and the worst dad ever, who never lets me do anything fun."

- Malia Ann, 2003 (Age 5)

SmutBoffin August 7, 2012 at 11:43 am

MICHAEL LEAHY IS A DRUNK BASTARD

ELIZABETH WARREN FOR TRAILER PARK SUPERVISOR

Billmatic August 7, 2012 at 12:05 pm

I'm gettin real tired of your shit Leahy.

Callyson August 7, 2012 at 11:44 am

Meanwhile, the ads in the link above for the Shuchman review:

$3000 – 125,000 debt aid?

Affordable bankruptcy!

Wipe out credit card debt!

Chet Kincaid_ August 7, 2012 at 11:45 am

Elizabeth Warren's third grade report card indicates "numerous occurrences of mischief during recess." How is it possible that an institution like Harvard would offer an academic position to a woman who has demonstrated "numerous occurrences of mischief"? Sadly, her third grade teacher, Mrs. Hortense Mayweather, suffers from advanced Alzheimer's, and cannot comment. So we may never know the exact nature of these "numerous" acts of "mischief," nor what favors, bribery or misconduct influenced her hiring by the liberal institution despite her dark past.

HistoriCat August 7, 2012 at 12:09 pm

I understand that some of her teachers died under unknown circumstances – what terrible secrets is she willing to kill for?

Chet Kincaid_ August 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Following the trail through an authoritative thesaurus reveals these disturbing associations with "mischief": "devilry", "unscrupulousness", "delinquency", "lawlessness" and "anarchy". When will Ms. Warren explain her dealings with such synonyms?!

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 1:14 pm

"Elizabeth Warren's third grade report card indicates "numerous occurrences of mischief during recess."

There was also that…
UNFORTUNATE INCIDENT…
during musical chairs.
It's since been hushed up.

Callyson August 7, 2012 at 11:47 am

Page two of the review clearly states that the writer wrote in favor of giving a National Science Foundation grant to Warren and her co – authors. Whatever he thought of the result of her research, clearly the guy did not think she was a charlatan.

I'd say I hope Shuchman is kicking Breitbart's ass as I write this, but I suspect the two are in different locations for the afterlife…

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:49 pm

I believe the dudes with wings can get a day pass to visit friends and acquaintances in the hot place, so long as they promise to Lord it over them

MacRaith August 7, 2012 at 11:52 am

So one of the worst practitioners of journalistic misconduct is accusing Warren of scientific misconduct?

Blueb4sinrise August 7, 2012 at 11:53 am

I think this is the same Philip Shuchman who wrote:

While serving on the Bankruptcy Commission staff I suggested such barbarisms
as a bankruptcy law that would expire in ten or twenty years. Also it
seemed evident that a substantial number of personal bankruptcies could be
prevented by comprehensive medical insurance.

http://scholarship.law.duke.edu/cgi/viewcontent.c

SayItWithWookies August 7, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Of course, you realize that context is evil when it distracts people from the petty sensationalism at hand, don't you?

Blueb4sinrise August 7, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Yeah, just trying to play the game. First couple pages of teh Googlez were references from winger blogs on his review of Warren et al. Finally got to something else and it wasn't hard to find a quote that would damage his cred. amongst the wingeratti. Plus, dude was a Law Prof. fer chrissakes.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Wait, this guy Schuchman was at Rutgers AND Duke?
This conclusively proves that everyone at Duke is from New Jersey.

MissTaken August 7, 2012 at 11:56 am

In Junior High I completely botched the dissections of both a frog and a cow's eyeball. Because of my “repeated instances of scientific misconduct” I never became a US Senator.

RadioBowels August 7, 2012 at 12:01 pm

1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:11 pm

How do you dissect a frog's eyeball?

Doktor Zoom August 7, 2012 at 12:40 pm

No kidding! It's already just a half a ping-pong ball already.

BaldarTFlagass August 7, 2012 at 11:56 am

If only bad book reviews had kept Newt Gingrich from running…

Tundra Grifter August 7, 2012 at 12:06 pm

I did my best on Amazon, ripping one of his "history" books a new one.

It didn't work.

Oblios_Cap August 7, 2012 at 11:59 am

Research is hard. Leahy's just proving it.

ChuckieJesus August 7, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Hell of a time for them to start believin' all that Ivory Tower shit.

johnnyzhivago August 7, 2012 at 12:02 pm

The real question is, does this four part series have any lesbian/lesbian action photos or is it just about a bunch of research crap?

IonaTrailer August 7, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Hot girl on girl research

Sharkey August 7, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Since when did they let women do science?

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Roughly since they found out it can cause cancer, or something.

Tundra Grifter August 7, 2012 at 12:06 pm

My favorite soft-core college book is the classic "Campus Tramp." It was set in my hometown of Yellow Springs, Ohio. Those are the Antioch College towers on the cover. And it may have been written by a famous author.

The story in town (spread by those who couldn't get their hands on a copy, as it is rather rare) was the characters were named for dorms but that really isn't true.

Still my fav. For old times' sake.

Billmatic August 7, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Liz Warren is dreamy ~ <3

no_gravity August 7, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Is that a pack of L&M's in that picture?

jakegittes August 7, 2012 at 12:10 pm

From what I hear from reliable sources, she may also artificially color her hair.

chicken_thief August 7, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Was Schuchman into the Kochs back then? Or possibly the other way around?

IonaTrailer August 7, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Or into the cocks?

James Michael Curley August 7, 2012 at 12:15 pm

If Elizabeth Warren is such a big deal how come she never posed naked in Cosmo?

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Because Cosmo publishes pictures of nekkid men.
Nekkid wimmenz pose for Playboy.

James Michael Curley August 7, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Cosmo must have toned down their covers now that Helen is out as editor. I always got a kick out of NYC corner newsstands where Playboy had ‘logo boards’ in front of the mag but Cosmos was right out front on the clips often with more skin showing than Playboy.

BoatOfVelociraptors August 8, 2012 at 8:37 am

They were covering up the articles.

el_donaldo August 7, 2012 at 12:28 pm

I'm surprised that Leahy was able to find enough sources written in crayon by third-graders for him to complete a four-part series on Warren's scholarship.

Probably a cottage industry of Breitbart Industries: Academic Scholarship for Dummies, As Told to and Transcribed by Small Children.

fartknocker August 7, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Brietfart: The Nancy Grace of the Tea Party. I'm sure he was buried wearing a woman's pant suit. Prove me wrong bitches.

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 12:44 pm

I don't know… it's probably a close race as to whether Leahy prefers Mountain Dew and Cheetos or booze and hotpants.

Angry_Marmot August 7, 2012 at 4:28 pm

It was a Dale Evans swimsuit.

SorosBot August 7, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Wait, why would a site that denies the very existence of science when it comes to climate change have a problem with scientific misconduct?

An_Outhouse August 7, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Repeated instances of misconduct is how I ended up with three children. Are they accusing Elizabeth Warren of being a whore?

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Don't you guys just love those paperback cover art pictures?
"Gripping — Powerful — Not for the squeamish"
Check out this one:
http://www.etsy.com/listing/73883296/office-tramp

Chet Kincaid_ August 7, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Ha! That's going to be somebody's avatar before the day is out.

Blueb4sinrise August 7, 2012 at 12:46 pm

OMG! There's hundreds on that etsy!

Including Harlan Ellison….
Rockabilly
Stag Preston ! Idol of millions http://www.etsy.com/listing/94366793/rockabilly-1

imissopus August 7, 2012 at 12:46 pm

I actually have that as a kitchen magnet, as well as a few other of those pulp covers. Never get tired of them.

sullivanst August 7, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Huh, and now I know how The Velvet Underground got their name. Wonket = Edukashun!

Generation[redacted] August 7, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Headline: Breitbart accused of repeated instances of being dead.

Chow Yun Flat August 7, 2012 at 12:43 pm

The real problem Zombie Brietbart has with Warren and her book is that she wrote a book that someone would take seriously enough to attempt to refute.

They like books with short sentences and pictures.

Schmegeg August 7, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Shuchman really hated the Harry Potter books too.

barto August 7, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Wait till they unearth that 6th grade book report. Pure scientific misconduct gold, baby!

DahBoner August 7, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Breitard's brain is crawling with maggots right now.

Not to mention what's going on in his casket!

//rimshot

OneYieldRegular August 7, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Someone with such short appendages should not attempt to box with God.

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 1:26 pm

"Thus, each time he mentions a Harvard official extolling Warren’s “excellent scholarship,” Leahy can sneer, Oh yeah? How could she be “excellent” with all those repeated instances of misconduct?"

Yeah, because who's gonna believe Harvard over [snortle!] Rutgers and Duke?

emmelemm August 7, 2012 at 1:32 pm

So, Dok Zoom, I'm assuming that the cover art up there came from your extensive personal collection (amongst the Jello cookbooks and the Bloom County cartoons)…

tessiee August 7, 2012 at 1:38 pm

"repeating the same charges from a negative book review over four articles"

If only they'd ended all four articles with "PS: Matt, Matt, Matt, Matt, Matt!"

Nostrildamus August 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm

They should just stick to burning Cheerios.

BZ1 August 7, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Geez, a reviewer is now dead, Breirz is now dead, definitely a conspiracy!!!

Ms_Anthrope August 7, 2012 at 3:09 pm

The shittening has begun!

larrykat August 7, 2012 at 4:53 pm

The silver lining to this is that very few (if any) of the right-wing morons who might buy into this kind of masturbation will not have the reading comprehension skills to understand very much of it.

ttommyunger August 7, 2012 at 7:43 pm

One of my Facebook "Friends" here in Rightard Country posted a hit piece on Warren and I replied asking him what he did not like about her policies. After some back and forth he promised to point her faulty policy positions after doing some checking. A satisfying silence has ensued for some months now. I often post that chain emails are fine, so long as the reader understands they are intended to inflame, not inform.

lulzmonger August 8, 2012 at 3:59 am

Quelle surprise!

Surely it is a profound mystery why anyone *COUGHbankofamericaCOUGHgoldmansachsCOUGHjpmorganchaseCOUGH* would ever dig up ancient history on Ms. Warren, let alone misrepresent it.

actor212 August 7, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Yes, if he was named Bean Bean he'd have his own theme song to boot.

BoatOfVelociraptors August 8, 2012 at 8:33 am

That's one way to toot your horn.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: