urban youths

National Review: Weiner Scandal Is Like Urban Youth With the Hip Hop

He may be able to fly all through the night, But can he rock a party ’til the early light? He can’t satisfy you with his little worm, But I can bust you out with my super sperm!Let us get something out of the way, first: We almost totally agree with the National Review Online “The Corner” writer who typed this about the Anthony Weiner scandal. The whole story is gross and doesn’t really matter and says very little about us, as a people, except for what we already know — that we’re a gross nation of gross people doing gross things, on Twitter. But, because it was published on the National Review comedy blog, “The Corner,” it needed some ridiculous and offensive racial stereotype thrown in there, just to maintain institutional equilibrium. In other words, Anthony Weiner twit-picking his yfrog to some gal was just like the black youth and their loud hip-hop.

Ready? Here you go!

Weiner didn’t commit adultery or anything near adultery. He committed tasteless stupidity, and there’s no law against that. When reporters first asked him about the expose reports, he should have said “Butt out.”

The biggest offense in this case is the dirtying of the public airwaves and news-waves with ugly, trivial junk; it’s an offense like the one that used to be popular a generation ago with “urban youths,” who would carry around giant boom boxes and play music (or whatever it was) at deafening volumes.

Ha ha, was that even music, the racket those break-dancers would play through their ghetto blasters, when Reagan was president? Sounds more like some cannibals playing bongos! [National Review Online]

About the author

Wonkette Jr., everybody! Hooray!

View all articles by Wonkette Jr.

Comments

Hey there, Wonkeputians! Shypixel here to remind you to remember our Commenting Rules For Radicals, Enjoy!

  • memzilla

    "[Weiner] committed tasteless stupidity…"

    Well, The Corner would be the go-to expert for tasteless stupidity. Faux News is the authority on boorish inHannity.

  • neiltheblaze

    I just had a flashback to the '50's with people calling Elvis "devil music".

    • nounverb911

      And Ed Sullivan not showing his gyrating hips.

      • Arken

        Don't blame Sullivan. It was the network censors. Sullivan broke ground allowing all sorts of musicians on TV that were previously not allowed at all.

    • Doktor Zoom

      Sweaty young people jerking and grinding to the degenerate jungle rhythms!

      • horsedreamer_1

        Rise of the Planet of the Apes. In Theatres August 2010.

    • http://www.udargo.com MaxUdargo

      To be fair, hip-hop music sucks.

      Yes, I'm old. And when I first realized I hated that hip-hop crap with a passion, I said to myself, "Jesus, now you've become one of those cranky old people who used to say that the music you listened to sucked." And then I started thinking about the music I listened to when I was young and realized that it sucked too. Not as badly as hip-hop, but much worse than the music of my parent's generation. But their music kind of sucked too.

      And then I listened to the music of my grand-parents' generation, and realized it sucked too, but not nearly as badly as my parents' music.

      And then I realized the most awful truth about our culture that I've ever had to face: every generation thinks that the generation coming after them is more degenerate in their tastes and diminished in soul, and every generation is right.

      Yeah, yeah, whatever, you little baggy-panted monkey-whappers. I don't even care what you say. I'm going to go over here and be old. Leave me alone.

      • Doktor Zoom

        Congratulations. You have independently verified Sturgeon's Law.

        • http://www.udargo.com MaxUdargo

          That's not what I said, whipper-snapper. What I said has far worse implications than that. If it's true that every generation judges its own product as 90% crap, that only makes it all the worse.

          • neiltheblaze

            I think disliking the music of the next generation is part of the social contract, isn't it?

          • Lascauxcaveman

            [/flips through daughter's iPod]

            Well, there's a quite a big gaping ocean of suck there, alright. But it's not all horrible.

            I mean, check out the tits on that Katy Perry gal, f'rinstance.

          • emmelemm

            You allow your daughter to have an iPod? Aren't you nice…

          • Toomush_Infer

            Oh, the idiocracy of it….

        • not that Dewey

          I read it more as the "fallacy of the golden age", in which everyone assumes that everything used to be better in the past. I guess it's kind of a corollary to Sturgeon's Law.

      • horsedreamer_1

        I refuse to believe any genre that can produce Dizzee Rascal is worthless. & there're plenty of other stellar performers besides the young Briton, Dylan Mills. (Yes, his name is Dylan. No, he is not white, nor from Winnetka.)

      • http://wonkette.com/ starfanglednut

        Actually, I think its more that each generations mainstream (ie the stuff you hear on the radio) music becomes more corporate and thus more sucky. There is plenty of good independent music now, and I haz teh oldz too.

    • mormos

      christ! just how old are you?

      • neiltheblaze

        Methuselah is a youngblood.

    • Negropolis

      The 50's, eh? That's when people were still wiping themselves with leaves from the virgin forests, right?

      • HistoriCat

        That's when they were banging rocks together to make music. Then they would roll them down the hill. Thus was the phrase "rock and roll" born.

        • RavenRant

          You are aptly named, HistoriCat.

          • SarcasticNymph

            Discworld, baby!

      • finallyhappy

        Actually, trees hadn't fully evolved yet so those needle things kind of hurt our butts

        • Fare la Volpe

          And we liked it! We loved it!

      • neiltheblaze

        It was at the tail end of the Neolithic.

    • http://www.storycorner.us/ JustPixelz

      WOW! I had a flashback to a documentary I saw on the History Channel* about Elvis.
      _______________
      * 100% history-free since 2007

      • RavenRant

        Did it involve Ghosts and/or Aliens?

  • Callyson

    The biggest offense in this case is the dirtying of the public airwaves and news-waves with ugly, trivial junk
    So I assume the National Review will not be discussing this story. Oh wait.

    • http://www.marionstein.net MarionNYNY

      My understanding is that the junk in question was not trivial.

  • emmelemm

    "music (or whatever it was) "

    Oh, snap! They told us, d'in't they?

  • CZL

    Hey, at least rock and roll can pursue it's satanic agenda without worry now because people are white.

  • http://www.burndownblog.com evan7257

    Oooh, someone at NRO has watched Do The Right Thing.

    • Doktor Zoom

      Radio Raheem is gonna bust up their pizza joint now…

    • http://whatisawatthedevolution.blogspot.com imissopus

      On VHS. In 1993.

    • http://Wonkette.com MLHencken

      Fight the power?

  • flamingpdog

    "I Don’t Care What Photos Anthony Weiner Sends."

    I don't care what BS David Gelernter posts.

  • nounverb911

    Isn't hip hop too urban for the NRO?

  • guangho

    It's still rock and roll to me.

  • nounverb911

    As if anyone at the NRO has actually spoken to a black person.

    • guangho

      HERMAN CAIN

      J.C. WATTS

      And for those old school token-hoppers son you best remember CLARENCE you.

      P.S.: We have a strict "one minority at a time" policy.

      • horsedreamer_1

        Thomas Sowell!

        (Apparently, he's the Jim Newell of the Conservatard community, well forgotten.)

    • user-of-owls

      Peggy Noonan saw a Mexican once, but I guess she isn't one of their columnists.

      • Nothingisamiss

        I miss the Peggy Noonan updates!

        • RavenRant

          I second.

          • Negropolis

            I third.

          • Toomush_Infer

            I fourthington….

        • HuddledMass

          Newell really had it in for ol' Peggy. I liked that about him.

        • RavenRant

          I'm afraid that if I ever meet her, I will blurt, "Oh, Peggington Noonington!"

          • Negropolis

            I've been dying to meet her. After reading Newell's post years back, I'd always said that if I met her, I'd beg her to title her memoir: "Once, I saw a Mexican…" and drive home the point that the ellipsis have to be present in the title for the proper effect.

          • RavenRant

            Every Tom Friedman book should be titled, "I was talking to a cab driver…" and every Megan McCardle book must be titled, "I was talking to a person on the bus…"

            Note the all-important ellipses.

            How long until one of these bubble people tries to prove their 'street cred' with, "I was talking to my chambermaid…" or "As my footman pointed out…"? Or possibly, "As I bent the houseboy over the credenza…"?

      • vulpes82

        I think that may very well have been the high watermark of Wonkette. It certainly was of Newell's illustrious tenure. Ah, Dame Noonaningtonshire!

        • Negropolis

          Noonaningtonshire updates were downright Newellian.

      • not that Dewey

        I have a friend who, upon returning from a work-related vacation in Virginia, was asked "do you think you'd like to live there?"

        He said "yes, but they already have a Mexican".

  • NadePaulKuciGravMcKi

    LOWKEY – TERRORIST? (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)
    carrots . sticks . coercive diplomacy
    Lupe Fiasco – Words I Never Said ft. Skylar Grey [Music Video]

  • MarcelleMarceau

    "Trivial junk?" They'd have no objection if his junk had been more substantial?

    • Arken

      It looked pretty damn substantial to me.

      • RavenRant

        But Breitbart said it was just a trick of perspective… That couldn't have been sour grapes, could it. Or bitter, seething envy?

        • jus_wonderin

          Brietbart sees all dicks from a "trick" perspective.

      • http://wonkette.com/ starfanglednut

        I thought it was pretty hot. Don't judge me.

  • chascates

    Were these the Jewish Urban Youth or the Irish Urban Youth? I can't keep that shit separate!

  • pukebot

    damn son, that post on nro's the cornizzle was tight. fuck this hip hop and blunts, i'm voting albino in 2012. izzle.

  • Mort_Sinclair

    I think they're on to something. If you take away the whole penis thing, I'm pretty sure Anthony Weiner is still black.

    • UW8316154

      But his massive penis certainly holds its own against whatever the bruthas can come up with….

    • Toomush_Infer

      believe you can keep the whole penis thing, just for stereotypes…

  • Doktor Zoom

    Also, have you seen the lyrics to that rap "music"? It's just filthy and violent, and demeaning to women. You'd think that last would upset liberals, but really it just exposes their hypocrisy.

    • sarjo

      We need to put warning labels on that shit!

      • ProgressiveInga

        Tipper, is that you?

    • dopper0189

      Yup because when you make movies where you shoot people, sleep with woman out of wedlock, and all sorts of other gratuitous sex and violence you can only get elected as a Republican in California. When you let your daughter's boyfriend sleep over your house and they get to share a bedroom, you get elected Governor of Alaska. You would think this would upset conservatives, but I had a point here about hypocrisy but I forgot it….

      • not that Dewey

        I've always been amazed that the portraying of wife-beating on prime-time television is apparently perfectly acceptable, but saying "fuck" or "ass" will certainly destroy us all.

  • user-of-owls

    cannibals playing bongos

    Maynard G. Krebs ate human flesh? Damn, I missed that episode!

    • Lascauxcaveman

      I never saw it, but I was always hoping Bring me the Head of Dobie Gillis was a really gross, over the top gore-fest.

    • http://www.storycorner.us/ JustPixelz

      Oh yeah. It's a classic. Maynard's leaves his lunch on the hood of a car which drives off. [laugh track] He jumps up and down in frustration. [laugh track] He stops by Dobie's father's grocery store and asks for some "like grub daddy-o". [laugh track] Dobie's father says "sure, just do some work around the store". Maynard is aghast. "WORK?!?" [laugh track] He grabs a butcher knife and cuts up Dobie's father and starts eating. "He's not as tough as he looks" [big laugh track] Then Maynard carves a swastika in his forehead. [fade out, applause].

  • sarjo

    "ugly, trivial junk"???

    Dudes, I thought it looked pretty damn substantial!

  • http://ifthethunderdontgetya.blogspot.com/ ifthethunderdontgetya

    I got out of the boat. I know, I know! But the mangoes, the delicious mangoes!!!

    bmp
    06/08/11 12:25

    Weiner called from govt phones to complete strangers professing his fetish and his public position.

    Also, why is an extreme lefty being thrown a lifeline by a NRO post? Where is the moderator?

    .

    Hardcastle
    06/08/11 02:15

    By the way, I think the by-line here is kind of sad:

    "David Gelernter is author, most recently, of Judaism: A Way of Being."

    I am a Christian, but I don't think Gerlernter provides a good example here of Judaism's "way of being." I am sure he doesn't speak for the majority of religious Jews.

    ~

    • http://wonkette.com/ Sharkey

      Thank you for your service to our nation. Our Wonkette Nation™.

    • SexySmurf

      I don't think Gerlernter provides a good example here of Judaism's "way of being."

      He's complaining. About black culture. The only way he could be more Jewish is if he was doing it while counting a pile of gold coins.

      • Arken

        Rather than castigating you for your bigotry, I'll teach you a little lesson-

        Jews were a major part of the civil rights movement from the beginning. In 1909, W.E.B. Dubois, Julius Rosenthal, Lillian Wald, Rabbi Emil G. Hirsch, Stephen Wise and Henry Malkewitz formed the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. One year later other prominent Jewish and Black leaders created the Urban League. Julius Rosenwald and Booker T. Washington worked together in 1912 to improve the educational system for Blacks in the South.

        Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. once said, "The segregationists and racists make no distinction between the negro and the Jew."

        But you're so right, it's totally stereotypical for Jews to hate black people.

        • http://ifthethunderdontgetya.blogspot.com/ ifthethunderdontgetya

          I think almost all of our bible-thumpin' politicians have disgraced whatever holy books they claim to follow in favor of chasing the Holy Dollar Bill.

          For instance, one could follow the career of Senator Joe Lieberman. Or any right-wing Cathlick one might care to name.

          And then we have the followers of White Southern Christian Jesus, folks who just wants to build the fence, cut taxes, and cheer for capital punishment.

          I guess I'm getting long-windy and boring here, but I'll finish with this: the people who proclaim their God-worthiness the loudest are the also the most venal, vicious shits around.

          Can't we all get along?
          ~

          • AJWjr.

            I really don't want to get along with the people you bring up.

        • http://whatisawatthedevolution.blogspot.com imissopus

          Er, he said complaining, not hating. I'm Jewish and I've heard a relative or two denigrate things like rap music and speech patterns over the years the same way they might make a snarky comment about goyim eating mayonnaise on white bread or something. Doesn't mean they hated black people or thought the Urban League was a terrible idea. And in any case, this is Wonkette! Thin skin around here is a bug, not a feature.

        • http://www.wonkette.com/ FlownOver

          I only read Wonket for the history.

          • easybaked

            I read it to see if Glenn Beck will finally be prosecuted for raping and murdering that young girl in 1990.

        • Negropolis

          You haven't been here long. I can tell just in passing that you're a little too serious, here. You're had more than one too many judgemental comments, here. You better find some humor, my friend, or you're going to be miserable as hell, or more so than you already are.

          • http://loljazzcatz.blogspot.com/ Chet Kincaid

            As annoying as the thin-skinned are Hall Monitors scolding about "how we do things here."

          • not that Dewey

            Wait — who are we scolding? I'm lost.

          • Doktor Zoom

            More to the point, who are we going to spank? I call dibs on Limey Lizzie.

            No, I don't think it should matter that she's not even in this thread.

          • not that Dewey

            Spanking beyond the thread, are we? Sounds sexxy.

          • Negropolis

            Really, whatever. You're one of the top scolds here on a number of levels. I'd expect you to defend the snarkless. It's the pot calling the kettle a black dude.

            Wonkette is rife with vile stereotypes and slurs used ironically for comedic effect, and everyone seems to understand that, and their inclusions often make the best posts. It's watermelons, black dicks, etc…all day long, and people seem to get it. Someone sardonically brings up the "money-counting Jew" stereotype, and we get treated to an unfunny lecture on the role of Jews in the civil rights movements (something every single educated person knows about BTW).

            Nigga, please, is all I have left to say.

      • finallyhappy

        I guess this is your idea of snark. Haha. what is your religion/race/ethnicity as I am sure any moronic member of those represents all of "you"

    • gullywompr

      What are they gonna say about him? What are they gonna say? That he was a kind man? That he was a wise man? That he had plans, man? That he had wisdom? Bullshit, man!

      • PuckStopsHere

        I read it for the latest on the Palin Hookworm Conjecture, duh.

      • charlesdegoal

        This thread is confusing. Who do you mean by "him"?
        I can only blame this editorial drift on Ken Layne's early exit.

      • FraAnima

        I watched a snail…crawl…along the edge of a straight razor.

        Then I had moar buttsex.

        • Doktor Zoom

          The whore diamonds….the whore diamonds….

  • Doktor Zoom

    Whom the gods would destroy, they first give Twitter accounts.

    • Biel_ze_Bubba

      And big dicks.

  • Come here a minute

    Ghetto blasters — yeah, those were the days. The only thing worse was the welfare queens, and the MTV.

    • flamingpdog

      Money for nothin' and chicks for free.

      • Karma_Suture

        OOOHHHHHH!
        Thank you thank you thank you!

        I thought it was "Get your Monkeys for nothin' and your Chimps for free."

        To think I could have shuffled off this mortal coil without knowing.

        • not that Dewey

          If it's not, it should be.

    • HobbesEvilTwin

      yup, welfare queens in cadilacs. That's pretty much the only thing I remember about the 80s. Oh, and Saint Ronnie trading arms and coke.

  • http://whatthefuckhasgopdonesofar.com/ Trollina Dumbass

    And I'm complimenting you by considering it a song!

    • Lascauxcaveman

      My love explodes for your Dukes reference.

      • http://whatthefuckhasgopdonesofar.com/ Trollina Dumbass

        You're literally one in a million, Cavey!

    • not that Dewey

      What, you mean this?

      EDIT: money quote at 2:27

      • http://whatthefuckhasgopdonesofar.com/ Trollina Dumbass

        Snap! Thanks for the citation!

        • not that Dewey

          You're quite welcome. A friend of mine just turned me onto that a couple weeks ago. We were having an epic facebook thread about the Dukes, and he blew all our minds when he pulled that out.

          btw, have you seen the reissue?
          http://www.slicingupeyeballs.com/2009/02/23/dukes

          apparently, it included a "The Deaf Hear" button.

          • http://whatthefuckhasgopdonesofar.com/ Trollina Dumbass

            I'll have to check that out! So are you down with the Damned side project Naz Nomad and the Nightmares? I think I picked up both records around the same time around '86. Great stuff. Appreciate the info.

  • user-of-owls

    tasteless stupidity

    Aw, shit. Junior went retro and brought us back to Late Night Shots.

  • Doktor Zoom

    Aces!

    • gullywompr

      Needs moar upfist.

  • http://www.kenlayisalive.org KenLayIsAlive

    Why can't he just dress up like a nazi and reenact WW2 battles like a normal person?

  • noodlesalad

    "Urban youth" + ghettoblasters > "Suburban olds" + talk radio

    • http://wonkette.com/ weejee

      >Single-wide meth lab + Lynyrd Skynyrd, also, too.

  • RadioJr.

    At least they didn't play the Jew card. I mean with that crazy Kletzmer music and all.

    • user-of-owls

      crazy Kletzmer music

      Oh noes! Palin gots into yer klezmers an' put teh infamous "T" insida it!

      • Peace in our time

        She plays the clutzmer.

      • RadioJr.

        not to menschen anything about those yarmulkes and mikvah baths.

    • deelzebub

      Weiner blasts Matisyahu when he feels especially "urban".

  • Jerri

    Congressmen, with their bippin' and their boppin', and their hippin' and their hoppin' don't know what the jazz is all about.

  • AJWjr.

    Yes, all the coverage has been a complete waste of time, but it sure has made it easier for me to choose which programs to watch or listen to: If they lead with Weiner (looking at YOU, Tweety) I change channels or turn it off. Same with $arah. This policy has freed up a lot of my time, and I think I'm better for it. Maybe Layne has rubbed off on me a bit.

    • flamingpdog

      "Maybe Layne has rubbed off on me a bit."
      Hope he didn't leave any sticky residue.

      • UW8316154

        "Layne" – is that what the kids are calling it these days?

    • LesBontemps

      Maybe Layne has rubbed off on me a bit.

      I hope he bought you dinner first, at least.

  • Mort_Sinclair

    Why am I reminded of Arsenio Hall?

    • DahBoner

      And MC Hammer?

  • mavenmaven

    It was the Beatles. They destroyed our culture with that seditious rhythm music.

    • gullywompr

      And turned priests into boy touchers.

  • Sparky_McGruff

    It's an article on "The Corner" that doesn't obliquely discuss K-Lo's tingly parts? TL:DR.

  • orygoon

    I honestly want to know why there are quotemarks around those two words.

    • AJWjr.

      "Quotemarks", such as?

  • flamingpdog

    Aw, NRO is just yankin' our chain. We know they're down with it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9qYF9DZPdw

  • gullywompr

    How urban can Weiner be – he doesn't wear a hoodie.

    Get it?

    • gullywompr

      Ugh, so much wrong with that joke. Sorry everybody. Would you believe me if I said my IntenseDebate account was hacked?

      • http://whateveritisimagainstit.blogspot.com trampndirtdown

        Reads like one of yours.

      • emmelemm

        Eh. I liked it.

    • Nothingisamiss

      It's not one of your best, but what can you do? You're just one gullywompr, man.

      Unexpectedly funny/lame, actually.

  • x111e7thst

    So when Anthony Weiner was twit-picking his yfrog to some gal he was just banging on the bongos like a chimpanzee?

  • http://wonkette.com/ Sharkey

    Go yfrog!

    (???)

  • http://theaccidentalenvironmentalist.blogspot.com HurricaneAli

    Haha, The Corner said "junk."

    Unintentionally hilarious "blog" is hilarious.

  • BarackMyWorld

    it’s an offense like the one that used to be popular a generation ago with “urban youths,”

    NRO sure has it's finger on the pulse of America, doesn't it?

    It's not even "these kids today," it's "those kids 20 years ago"….who are all in their 30s and 40s now. So this was probably written by someone at least in their 50s, maybe older.

    If thinking "I'm going to go online and complain about the music kids were listening to 20 years ago" doesn't just make you a cranky old fart, nothing does.

    • Toomush_Infer

      Probably just a young plagiarizing resentimentalist….you do understand there have been no new ideas among young republicans since Reagan went dotty…

    • Nothingisamiss

      "I had a lawn once. Those damn kids would not get off it! Damn kids! That lawn was something special, I tell you…."

  • pinkocommi

    Methinks “The Corner” writer doth protest too much. I guess Weiner isn't the only one to tweet a pic of his junk.

    • DahBoner

      NRO Eats Cannibals….

  • http://whatisawatthedevolution.blogspot.com imissopus

    Where have you gone, Charles Bronson? A nation turns its lonely eyes to you.

    • user-of-owls

      A nation turns its lonely eyes to you.

      So Seal Team VI can put a bullet in one of them.

    • http://whateveritisimagainstit.blogspot.com trampndirtdown

      Where's Bernie Goetz when you need him.

    • horsedreamer_1

      Young Jeff Goldblum & Young Lawrence Fishburne would rather you not do that.

  • mayor_quimby

    Exactly what the fuck were welfare queens supposed to do with a block of cheese? This was pre-Food Network, so who knew how to weave random ingredients into bison and goat cheese quiche?

  • LetUsBray

    I haz a confused: Weiner isn't black, and as far as I know neither is the woman to whom he sent the pics of his naughty bits. And yet this National Review person somehow finds an excuse to make this about the unruly Colored folk and their unruly Colored music?

    Somewhere in what Mark Twain called the Everlasting Tropics, I like to think Wm. F. Buckley, who wanted to deny African Americans their right to vote because he knew he wouldn't approve of how they'd exercise it, must be very, very proud.

    • emmelemm

      Actu-ally, the first lady identified as receiving Weenie pix is black. I doubt the author of the stupid NR article cares about that, though.

      • Biel_ze_Bubba

        And I doubt Weiner knew it either.

        The latest NYT article (actual journalism; take notes Breitbart!) throws some light on this whole weird episode: Weiner did this A LOT. Whenever some female fan got a bit too gushy, he turned the conversation toward sex and started with the junk shots. Only he knows how far he'd have been willing to take things, but it's creepy enough for me to want him gone.

      • AJWjr.

        In the twitterverse, everybody (nobody) is black.

  • Guppy06

    "Weiner didn’t commit adultery or anything near adultery."

    Yeah… "internet doesn't count" is about two heartbeats away from "blowjobs don't count" and "assfucking for Jesus doesn't count."

    Methinks he doth protest too much.

    • Tommmcattt

      Blowjobs totally count. It's the handjobs that are iffy.

      • Guppy06

        I thought blowjobs only count if she swallows.

        • Biel_ze_Bubba

          What matters is whether she spills a bit on her blue dress.
          It's the Clinton rule: Every drop counts.

          • Negropolis

            "No Drop Left (in the) Behind"

          • RavenRant

            Sorry to all the Clinton apologists, but the Clinton rule is: Lie and keep lying beyond all bounds of plausibility, until proof appears.

            Then issue a petulant non-apology apology, blame your enemies, and quickly retake the 'moral high ground'. (See Hillary, sniper fire.)

            Still nowhere near as horrific as the lies of Bush/Cheney, but that's not much to brag about.

    • Toomush_Infer

      Guppy, if you think they're the same, I can send you a load of sperm by FedEx, so you can taste the difference…

  • JackObin

    I remember back in "the day" when Bill Buckley would play the Brandenberg Concertos so loud that his colored maid had trouble ghost writing his spy novels.

  • DustBowlBlues

    Who cares? My pretend boyfriend has broken my heart and I refuse to think about him. But what about you, wonkette Junior? (Not your real name, I think). Isn't it time you had something to represent you besides that stupid green or purple or whatever color that stupid little figure is?

    And you're up to 600+ posts. Damn good for one person, or shipload of persons, or snarkbot or whatever the fuck you are. How long is the wonkette probationary period? Aren't you pretty close to becoming a regular employee by now, with those great wonkette benefits and salary and expense account and shit?

    • user-of-owls

      Benefits? Salary? Expense Accounts?

      All they get is an inside seat on the galley and half off on Wonkettinis.*

      *From 6:15-6:17 a.m. On February 29th only.

      • Biel_ze_Bubba

        What goes into a Wonkettini? 9 parts gin, 1 part Cutty Snark?

  • Doktor Zoom

    I read it for the erudite dick jokes.

    • LesBontemps

      Whatever happened to buttsex and panda cults?

      • http://whateveritisimagainstit.blogspot.com trampndirtdown

        They were my favorites.

      • emmelemm

        New management.

      • Doktor Zoom

        "Gimme tha butterstick"

        Last Panda in Paris

        • Toomush_Infer

          this thread pandas to oldism…

          • jus_wonderin

            your point does bear scrutiny.

    • http://oliphantparts.org/ natoslug

      I read it for the flaming dick wars.

      • http://intensedebate.com/logout Gleem_McShineys

        "Warts." I swear that said warts a second ago!

        Thank the lord it does not now.

        • http://oliphantparts.org/ natoslug

          I've never been with a Palin woman, so I should be safe from flaming dick warts. (crosses fingers)

  • zappadoo76

    …we’re a gross nation of gross people doing gross things….

    I don't know about that, but I sure like that Cuban Beauty, Vida Guerra, on the Wonkette, who Poses Nude in a Sexy Ad, and I fully intend to Check It Out and Learn How I Can Spice Up My Life!

    • AJWjr.

      I always learn so much at the wonket…

      • anniegetyerfun

        But did you give up on gay men? I know I did!

    • anniegetyerfun

      I keep thinking she must be some kind opf ploy. With a name like Vida Guerra? So I refused to clicky because I figured it was some book about how really, we are still fucking over the Cuban people.

      Turns out she's real, though (Wikipedia done tole me, so it must be true).

  • jakegittes

    You know what else this Weiner tastelessness reminds me of? Remember when those Urban people started wearing their hair all poofed up in one of them there Afros back in the '70s. Exactly the same thing. And the berets, the black berets, too. Same deal.

  • iburl

    Today David Gelernter has become Simpsons Cosby: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPzTq7PJIQQ

  • __kth__

    Genuinely shocking but true: David Gelertner, the author of that take (he's written things far more noxious btw, though sexism is usually his stock in trade more than racism) was a Unabomber victim.

    • emmelemm

      And suddenly I'm feeling some kinship with a deranged, livin-in-the-woods, wearin-a-hoodie-and-sunglasses nutjob….

  • http://hong-kong-actresses.blogspot.com/ donner_froh

    I am a Christian, but I don't think Gerlernter provides a good example here of Judaism's "way of being." I am sure he doesn't speak for the majority of religious Jews.

    Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions….

    Hath not a Jew a dick that he whips out, photographs and sends to women on the internets?

  • Negropolis

    See, white people have political sex scandals like this, and black people have political sex scandals like that. Amirite; can I get a witness? Where my bruthas at?

    I'd totally forgotten about Jim Gibbons' sexy scandal. Now that was a proper Las Vegas sex scandal. Gibbons had to have been one of the most corrupt governors in modern history.

  • SudsMcKenzie

    Yoyoyo, National Review – Word Up!11

    • Bonzos_Bed_Time

      Chanelling Flava Flav.

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/30500320@N06/ DerrickWildcat

    Even more strange is that Weiner may not actually own the photos of his weiner and that Breitbart could actually be in trouble for stealing.
    Although this is total speculation, there is a grain of WTF? going on here.

    "Fine Print Blurs Who’s in Control of Online Photos" http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/23/technology/23te

  • fuflans

    i don't think the organization that employs kathyn lopez should be talking about 'tasteless stupidity'.

  • fuflans

    whenever i see any mention of national review, i remember they had to fire a buckley.

    and then i laugh.

  • Sassomatic

    I can agree that his junk is trivial, but I think it's unfair to call it ugly, or at least uglier than other penises, which are all ugly, without having actually seen it.

  • http://howtosavetheworld.ca/ BZ1

    the Nat Review making a case for the Weinie? is that to give cover for the inevitable Repub with a chambermaid, or more likely, houseboy??

  • poncho_pilot

    what an ugly, stupid world we live in.

  • iburl

    "Urban Youths" wearing "Kangols" are "Blasting" their "Boom Boxes" in my yard and doing a "Rapp".

  • mormos

    how long has "urban youth" been a conservative buzzword? They are getting sneakier with their racism.

  • Negropolis

    You know how you get rid of these rabble-rousers? You simply send them away, possibly to one of the Koreas or Japan or something, you know, on the other side of the world. Urban-youth-in-Asia. Bam! Problem solved.

    • horsedreamer_1

      Dave Mustaine, is that you?

  • SudsMcKenzie

    He likes dumb tweets and he can lie
    You other bloggers can't deny
    That when a girl posts in with an itty bitty tweet
    And an iniquitous thing in your facebook
    You get sprung, wanna pull out your Blackberry

  • Redhead

    Well, Weiner's a democrat, and those urban youths people are (usually) black. Both are scary to national review. Both are people Breitbrat secretly lusts after…

  • http://ifthethunderdontgetya.blogspot.com/ ifthethunderdontgetya

    They printed my comment, Bless Their Hearts!

    Senator Diaper Dave Vitter
    06/09/11 21:05

    Thanks, guys.

    As you know, the G.O.P. is the party of moral values, and the filthy behavior of the Congressman from New York must be condemned.
    ~

    • Negropolis

      They sure are the family values party, all right. The Manson family, in particular. Actually, not even that family, 'cause they were far too socialist for the GOP.

      • emmelemm

        The Mansons were a goddamn fucking commune, were they not? All for one and one for all? (OK, not really, because it was all for Charlie, but still…)

  • horsedreamer_1

    Disembodied male voice, retiree: Come here, Colleen…

    Colleen: Dad?

    Male voice: Say something for the tape.

    Colleen: Dad… What is that? What're you holding?

    Male voice: Why, it's a cassette recorder.

    Colleen: No, dad, that's — that's a "ghetto-blaster".

    Male voice: A what!?

    Colleen: A ghetto-blaster. Like the… people… in the ghetto…

    Male voice: You mean, the riff-raff?

    Colleen: Yeah. They walk around, carry it around on their shoulders…

    Male voice: Well, this thing's a cassette recorder.

  • Negropolis

    You know what's so sad about this particular piece? Aside from that one distracting point he tries to make, it's basically a piece about how sick he is of this apology kabuki, how he'd doesn't believe we need public apologies. But, that one distracting point is kind of the "But beside that, Mrs. Lincoln, how was the show?" point of the piece.

    Not only is it a crass point with all kinds of racial undertones, but it's an enitrely incorrect observation. Music usually reflects an environment. You know how the airwaves and the "news-waves" got to be dirtied by "trivial junk"? It's when the news stopped reporting news and decided to go all in on chasing the dollar. That's more vulgar than any music lyric.

  • Negropolis

    And Big Diamond (that's what they called Kwame down in Detroit) could have learned a single thing from Weiner: Don't fucking sext on your official, city-issued SkyTel pagers. Good god was that man stupid.

    Also, don't kill your hookers. Also.

    • horsedreamer_1

      Unless you're David Vitter.

      (Yes, his goons's victim was the madam, not the ho. Still…)

      • RavenRant

        I don't think that was Vitter. I think it was someone whose name had yet to come out.

        Yeah, I know, I know. It was ruled a suicide. I'm sure the Tarpon Springs PD brought all the resources of CSI to the investigation. There was no federal investigation whatsoever.

        There were a slew of highly convenient suicides and small plane crashes in the waning days of the Bush administration.

  • BarryOPotter

    …now back that thang up! (What' s the name of this dance?)

  • axmxz

    If Weiner's tweeting is the urban youth music of stupidity, Sarah Palin's whole career is Wagner's "Ring Cycle" of pure fail.

    • emmelemm

      This comment may be a little on the esoteric side, but personally, I think it's right on.

  • http://loljazzcatz.blogspot.com/ Chet Kincaid

    "December 7th, 1941 — a date which will live in infamy — the United States was suddenly and deliberately attacked by the Empire of Japan. It is an affront to decency, like the licentious and improper music of that Negro scoundrel, Cab Calloway."

  • Warpde

    All I get out of my boom box is,

    How I wish I weren’t a Wiener twitter tweet fan.
    Bulging dicks not what I need to see, e, e
    And if I never was a Wiener Tweet fan
    That fuckup Breitbart would stop calling me.

  • a_pink_poodle

    Oh those "Urban Youths." Playing their JAZZ MUSIC and consorting with all the white wimminz. I want my country baaaaaaaack!

  • http://loljazzcatz.blogspot.com/ Chet Kincaid

    Next NRO Headline:
    "True Cause Of Global Warming: Thug Hip-Hoppers 'Grinding Shawties In Da Club'"

  • jus_wonderin

    Downfister loves the Ron Jeremy.

  • http://intensedebate.com/people/mrblifil mrblifil

    What's more badass than sommelier-cup bling?

  • hagajim

    Some dumb ass was on MSNBC last night saying that Weiner had embarrassed the Democratic party….last time I checked Anthony didn't tweet the Donkey dick to some chick….oh, wait, nevermind.

  • DahBoner

    Don't Worry, Be Happy!

  • http://loljazzcatz.blogspot.com/ Chet Kincaid

    You know who ELSE had a hard-on for "Degenerate Art"?!

  • anniegetyerfun

    Ha, black people, am I right? They so crazy!

  • http://hong-kong-actresses.blogspot.com/ donner_froh

    I blame those thuggish "urban youths" the Fresh Prince and DJ Jazzy Jeff.

    • RavenRant

      God forbid those thugs are ever invited to the 'White' House!

      • horsedreamer_1

        Uncle Phil will have their black asses thrown right out.

  • RavenRant

    Just like everyone talked incessantly about John Ensign's disease, coercing sex out of an employee, who just happened to be the wife of his best friend, also an employee, and living all the while in a weirdo flophouse run by a cult.

    Oh, wait, they didn't.

  • http://estevancarlos.com american__mutt

    Old people.

  • ttommyunger

    Prolly checked with famous hipster George Will as a source for this literary gem.