PARTISAN LITERARY CRITICISM  12:49 pm November 17, 2009

Legendary Masterworks: Matthew Continetti’s Review Of ‘Going Rogue’

by Jim Newell

Commenters, enjoy!Now that the Washington Post no longer practices journalism, it can eschew standard editorial practices, such as having its staff book critic review a new book, for wackier PR flourishes, like having one semi-famous Democrat and one semi-famous Republican each write very predictable reviews of an insanely polarizing Republican politician’s new book. Today, the Post‘s “liberal” review of Going Rogue came from Ana Marie Cox, who “cannot claim to have completely read ‘Going Rogue,’” but still thought it sucked. It’s more than understandable. But the Weekly Standard‘s priggish Matthew Continetti did read the book for his conservative review, which is brilliant beyond all measure.

Each of Continetti’s first four paragraphs deserves its own Pulitzer, in every category:

Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of the German literary critic Hans Robert Jauss.

Jauss is known as the father of critical reception theory. According to Jauss, every book is read in a social context. In his view, the reader’s attitudes, beliefs, values and judgments are just as important as the text. Sometimes more.

Palin probably didn’t set out to write a book that tested Jauss’s thesis. But, in so many ways, the reaction to “Going Rogue” is as interesting as its content.

Palin’s memoir is everything you’d expect from a politician who has no intention of leaving the national scene. With the aid of Lynn Vincent as her ghostwriter, she tells homespun stories, cracks a few jokes, provides juicy campaign gossip and lets the reader know where she stands on issues such as the right to life, government taxes and spending, health care and climate change. Like a good Republican, she invokes Ronald Reagan’s name at every opportunity. The book is so packed with facts, history and encomiums about her state, she’s practically a one-woman Alaska Division of Tourism: “We have the highest number of pilots per capita in the United States.”

*clap, clap*

(He wrote “encomiums,” in a Sarah Palin review!)

Between this bit of heavy-handed Palin fappery and the other one he wrote last week — which, like this one, was met with relentless Internet mockery — Matt Continetti is now our official Favorite Palin Writer. Move over, Suzy Welch.

Continetti [Washington Post]
AMC [Washington Post]

 
Related video

Hola wonkerados.

To improve site performance, we did a thing. It could be up to three minutes before your comment appears. DON'T KEEP RETRYING, OKAY?

Also, if you are a new commenter, your comment may never appear. This is probably because we hate you.

{ 162 comments }

Gopherit November 17, 2009 at 12:53 pm

Jeez, with all of that gushing, should we start calling him Incontinetti?

Paterlanger November 17, 2009 at 12:54 pm

Referencing Jauss in a review of Sarah Palin’s memoir; that’s the literary equivalent of fucking an apple pie isn’t it?

Barrelhse November 17, 2009 at 12:55 pm

I was going to say something snarky/funny, maybe about his face, but I’ll just leave it with the (painfully obvious) comment: he can’t write.

bitchincamaro November 17, 2009 at 12:55 pm

Wow. A face begging for a field day.

taylormattd November 17, 2009 at 12:55 pm

Someone’s a bottom.

Click November 17, 2009 at 12:56 pm

Why did God put his mouth on upside down?

shortsshortsshorts November 17, 2009 at 12:56 pm

“Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately vomited on the grave of the German literary critic Hans Robert Jauss.”

RobPetrified November 17, 2009 at 12:57 pm

I haven’t read Ana Marie Coxs’ review yet, but I know its amazingly brilliant.
And sexy.
Unlike the “author” of the “book.”

proudgrampa November 17, 2009 at 12:57 pm

What a whore.

you cannot be serious November 17, 2009 at 12:57 pm

Matthew Continetti’s name makes me think of adult diapers.

Joshua Norton November 17, 2009 at 12:58 pm

Something about that pic just screams “closet case”. It must sound like Riverdance when all these repugs get in the same men’s room.

memzilla November 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

Despite the shameless gushing of Lapdog Continetti, nothing will prevent this putrid agglomeration of self-serving craptitude from hitting the remainder bins in time for mulching season.

Oh, the tree-manity!

Mapmonger November 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

Ever since I learned that they could even exist, back in the eighties, young republicans have always made me very sad. That kid doesn’t even look old enough to vote, much less have an opinion about, well, anything. What a weenie. Where is he, I want to give him a wedgie.

freakishlystrong November 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

[re=460385]Barrelhse[/re]: Give him a break, he’s only ten.

norbizness November 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

I liked him better as Skippy on Family Ties, and to be honest I really hated him even then.

Tundra Grifter November 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

Now that The Gov’nor’s book is out the happiest person on the planet must be Carrie Nojeans, as she is mercifully yanked off the national stage like a dieing comic getting the hook.

Meanwhile, isn’t “encomium” the fancy name for a baby’s first poop?

Those two things just sorta tie together, wouldn’tcha say? You betcha!

Mahousu November 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

[re=460396]you cannot be serious[/re]: … and Matthew Continetti’s writing makes me think said diapers need to be changed.

Joshua Norton November 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

“We have the highest number of pilots per capita in the United States.”

Only because that’s the fastest way to get the hell out of there.

bitchincamaro November 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm

“The book is so packed with facts, history and encomiums meconium about her state…” -fixed

CrunchyKnee November 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm

I can’t wait for even more Palin coverage on Wonkette!

Gopherit November 17, 2009 at 1:02 pm

“Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of Seth Wheeler, father of modern toilet paper.” /Fixed.

4tehlulz November 17, 2009 at 1:02 pm

He looks like someone who’s trying too hard to be a douche.

RobPetrified November 17, 2009 at 1:02 pm

“encomiums”
Didn’t Palin use that in her Oprah interview, when she suckingly praised Opras Book Club for raising the level of latercie in America?

CycloneArmageddon November 17, 2009 at 1:02 pm

You know, I reckon this Continetti might be a bit of a wanker.

Tommmcatt November 17, 2009 at 1:03 pm

[re=460401]Mapmonger[/re]:

What an odd coincidence. I was thinking “swirlie”.

Gopherit November 17, 2009 at 1:03 pm

[re=460399]Joshua Norton[/re]: Water closet case, as it were.

SayItWithWookies November 17, 2009 at 1:05 pm

What’s the hardest part about writing a gushing review of Going Rogue while invoking an obscure literary critic?
Telling your parents you’re gay.

ph7 November 17, 2009 at 1:05 pm

He wrote the review with a quill pen made from the middle hairs of his unibrow.

Poopley J. Crandleberry November 17, 2009 at 1:06 pm

AMC’s shit’s pretty week too.

Bebe Loves You November 17, 2009 at 1:06 pm

It reads like a freshman exposition assignment: thesis; point one, support. Point two, support, et cetera.

If it isn’t a freshman exposition course, he should totally take one, because he has the first assignment done already.

MLHencken November 17, 2009 at 1:07 pm

[re=460404]Tundra Grifter[/re]: it’s “muconium”, but whatevs. Same thing.

pampl November 17, 2009 at 1:07 pm

Isn’t Continetti writing his own Palin book? Whoring for the competition is a pretty bad marketing tactic I.M.O.

Servo November 17, 2009 at 1:08 pm

We have the highest number of pilots per capita in the United States.
Kinda necessary when you don’t have roads, dingbat.

Click November 17, 2009 at 1:08 pm

[re=460409]CrunchyKnee[/re]: I’m waiting for the point where there’s so much coverage I won’t even be able to see the tip of her up-do.

ManchuCandidate November 17, 2009 at 1:08 pm

So the only way I can critique Going Rouge is to put in it’s social context.

Um, okay.

Removal of all Logic and replace with Lojik. Done
Removal of self awareness. Done
Removal of hypocrisy detector. Done
Removal of 50 IQ points. Done
Removal of knowledge… all knowledge except stealing. Done
Add sense of self entitlement. Done
Remove any mental endurance/coping mechanism. Done
Add Xtian sophistry. Done

My god, it’s full of starbursts!! FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP

thefrontpage November 17, 2009 at 1:09 pm

This is basically another in a recent long line of stinking piles of rotting shit that the Post has lobbed onto its Style pages–an increasing embarrassment that just about everyone with a brain is noticing across the country.

Ding dong, the Style section is dead.

Dead, all of us who read the Post tell you—dead! This just proves it!

The Palin piece of crap today is just today’s daily dose of disappoinment.

norbizness November 17, 2009 at 1:09 pm

[re=460409]CrunchyKnee[/re]: When they went 31 minutes without a Palin post earlier, I nearly died. Then came the 60-minute wait for this one, and I think I hallucinated Begbie trying to stab me.

AbstinenceOnly Ed November 17, 2009 at 1:10 pm

[re=460378]Gopherit[/re]: Incontinetti— HA! Wot a pee brain!!

No, Maffew, Sarah-bear willn’t give you Ricky Hollywood’s phone # just for cunnilingilizing her in print.

MOAR PRZ FAIR AND BALANZED MEDIA!! ME NEEDS READ BOTH SIDES, FOR FAIRNESS K? CAN’T JUST CALL ARCTIC CYBERTWAT A DUMB CUNT AND BE DUN WITHIT. MUST PRETEND LIKE CARIBOOB BARBIE ISN’T FUCKTARDED. YAY~! DEMOCRACY lol.

Senile Agitation November 17, 2009 at 1:10 pm

I read a book once. It was good. I didn’t need some Kraut to tell me sitting in a comfy chair with a glass of Jim Beam added to my enjoyment. But I can see why Matt, like a lot of people, thought of Germany when he got Sarah’s book. It’s a zeitgeisty schadenfreud Mein Kampfire defining moment type of thing for everyone. And no, I don’t care if I spell all the German wrong. Ich bin ein Americano, afterall.

Serolf Divad November 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

The opening sentence is the best thing ever written in any language. Shakespeare would literally kneel down and lick Continetti’s sweaty balls if he read it.

Click November 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

[re=460429]MLHencken[/re]: No that’s snot it. Meconium is a newborn’s first dookey.

user-of-owls November 17, 2009 at 1:13 pm

You are all missing the real point here. As our brilliant critic rightly notes, none of us know for certain that Palin DID NOT set out to write a book that tested Hans Robert Jauss’s critical reception theory.

You didn’t consider that, did you? Did you?

joezoo November 17, 2009 at 1:13 pm

[re=460407]bitchincamaro[/re]: Damn, you beat me to a meconium joke. Mine was going to work in a Trig reference, though.

queeraselvis v 2.0 November 17, 2009 at 1:14 pm

“Priggish” must be code for “has taken it up the ass so many times that his bunky-hole looks like the Lincoln Tunnel.”

Pompous Magnus November 17, 2009 at 1:16 pm

I thought Ana Marie Cox was dead.

Extemporanus November 17, 2009 at 1:16 pm

“The book is so packed with farts, history, and meconium…”

I wrote that exact same fucking thing three days ago, Matthew!

Stop plagiarizing my comments right now or I’m going to tell your mommy that you’ve been visiting naughty places on the Internet and she will probably take away your modem or even worse, cancel your AOL account, and then what will you do? And then what, Matthew?

canadasteve November 17, 2009 at 1:17 pm

Uh, the cave just called. It wants its batshit back.

binarian November 17, 2009 at 1:18 pm

[re=460402]freakishlystrong[/re]: I was thinking 14, he looks like he’s just entered puberty and isn’t quite sure what to do with it yet. He also looks like the kid that used to get jammed in his own locker in school and left there.

Holy Cow!! November 17, 2009 at 1:19 pm

I’ll find something else to waste my money on other than Palin’s ego pamphlet.

Gopherit November 17, 2009 at 1:19 pm

[re=460443]Serolf Divad[/re]: Coincidentally, you have almost certainly described one of Incontinetti’s favorite reoccurring dreams.

Click November 17, 2009 at 1:19 pm

Continetti is what you get when you shove this dude’s head into a ceiling fan.

norbizness November 17, 2009 at 1:20 pm

[re=460443]Serolf Divad[/re]: And if Continentinetinetti wasn’t a eunuch.

Servo November 17, 2009 at 1:20 pm

I think his pearly whites need more Pearly White Stuff. His glasses, too.

Click November 17, 2009 at 1:20 pm

[re=460450]Extemporanus[/re]: You were the first!

Extemporanus November 17, 2009 at 1:21 pm

[re=460403]norbizness[/re]: Word.

He’s the Jiff of Skippys.

Joshua Norton November 17, 2009 at 1:21 pm

[re=460448]queeraselvis v 2.0[/re]: No. It’s code for doing all that and still being able to cross your legs.

V572625694 November 17, 2009 at 1:22 pm

[re=460433]Servo[/re]: Roads: socialist. Air traffic control by the federal government, and big FAA subsidies to shitty little podunk airports: Freedumb!

jetjaguar November 17, 2009 at 1:23 pm

nerd alert!

mardam422 November 17, 2009 at 1:23 pm

[re=460404]Tundra Grifter[/re]: Wondered how long it would take for someone to make the meconium/encomium connection.

This place always makes me proud.

Nappied Hypotenuse November 17, 2009 at 1:23 pm

Difference between Palin and Jauss? Folks were surprised to learn Jauss was a member of the SS. (True Facts!)

geminisunmars November 17, 2009 at 1:24 pm

[re=460399]Joshua Norton[/re]: Love this, and you.

Extemporanus November 17, 2009 at 1:24 pm

[re=460451]canadasteve[/re]: Somewhere, a guano faucet is missing its drip.

Red Zeppelin November 17, 2009 at 1:25 pm

He’s read and memorized every David Brooks piece ever written.

hockeymom November 17, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Needs more tooth whitener.

Extemporanus November 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

[re=460461]Click[/re]: It’s all about me! Me, ME, MECONIUM!

geminisunmars November 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

[re=460446]user-of-owls[/re]: If this proved to be the case, I would vote Repub for the rest of my life. We are probably pretty safe.

Sleeves November 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

Ass******* Quote:
One of the few surprises of the book: For a frontierswoman, Palin really doesn’t like smokers — especially if they’re men working for John McCain. She describes the “jaded” “professional political caste” of the McCain campaign as “tumbling out of the bus in a pack, lighting cigarettes as they went so it looked like a walking cloud of smoke with legs,” and, later, she gets a nasty jab in at senior adviser Steve Schmidt, who, she says, “used nicotine to keep . . . his cognitive connections humming along.”

At -10 HP a being is officially dead.

mardam422 November 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm

[re=460429]MLHencken[/re]: Nope. Meconium

Gumboz1953 November 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm

He has one little lock of hair falling, right on the side of his forehead. When he is good he is very very good, but when he is bad he is horrid. Like, maybe, now.

Redhead November 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm

Well to be fair, it’s all in how you read it. “A Million Little Pieces” is actually pretty interesting when read as fiction. If you really try to read it as a memoir, however, you quickly grow incredulous and frustrated. See what I mean? All in the perspective of the reader.

However, that does remind me – Really Oprah? Didn’t you learn your lesson with James Frey?
“I feel duped,” she said Thursday on her syndicated talk show. “But more importantly, I feel that you betrayed millions of readers.”
Winfrey said: “Did you cling to that image because that’s how you wanted to see yourself or because that would make a better book?”
“As an editor, do you ask someone, ‘Are you really as bad as you are?’ ” Talese said.
“Yes, yes, yes! Yes, you do,” Winfrey said to loud applause.

Think we’ll see a repeat performance soon?

bfstevie November 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm

Shouldn’t the Post reveal somewhere that young Master Douchebag is the author of a scholarly tome called, “The Persecution of Sarah Palin: How the Elite Media Tried to Bring Down a Rising Star”? Or is it just me?

The Cold Sea November 17, 2009 at 1:28 pm

Matthew, your boner is showing. Imagine how, um, sticky, his copy of the book is by now.

Botswana Meat Commission FC November 17, 2009 at 1:29 pm

Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of jumping in front of a train like German goalkeeper Robert Enke.

Mahousu November 17, 2009 at 1:30 pm

[re=460438]thefrontpage[/re]: I’m going to have to disagree slightly about the Style section. Sure, a lot of it is trash, but that Sudoku puzzle is reaching new heights. I mean, the one last Friday did things with the number 7 that I didn’t even think were possible.

PickneyPinchback November 17, 2009 at 1:31 pm

Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of the classical theologian Augustine of Hippo and his dream in which he was admonished “Tolle, lege.”

Oh dear, what’s wrong with me? Sarah Palin makes everybody else think of Hans Robert Jauss? I am so out of tune with those smarty-pants teabaggers.

slappypaddy November 17, 2009 at 1:35 pm

bad things have happened to matthew in the dark. he won’t tell you about them–sometimes words fail him–but you can see them written in his face, a pool of quiet sadness.

One Yield Regular November 17, 2009 at 1:36 pm

[re=460482]bfstevie[/re]: Urinalistic standards!

Next Great Pwndit November 17, 2009 at 1:37 pm

All kidding aside, running these “she said, he said” reviews is a chickenshit way to avoid having a Post writer deliver a judgment on this piece of crap.

Cowards. Katherine Graham would be so proud.

Gayer Than Thou November 17, 2009 at 1:37 pm

I’d hit it.

Come here a minute November 17, 2009 at 1:37 pm

My Jaussian critique of “Going Rogue”: I have not read this book, but I am awesome, therefore this book is awesome.

AxmxZ November 17, 2009 at 1:38 pm

“Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of the German literary critic Hans Robert Jauss.”

Five bucks says Sarah Palin didn’t.

The Cold Sea November 17, 2009 at 1:38 pm

[re=460495]PickneyPinchback[/re]: No, Matthew simply has his first crush. She looks like his naughty librarian porn.

comicbookguy November 17, 2009 at 1:39 pm

I’m just glad I finally know where she stands on issues such as the right to life, government taxes and spending, health care and climate change.

comicbookguy November 17, 2009 at 1:44 pm

[re=460521]AxmxZ[/re]: To be fair, she only got her copy last week.

AxmxZ November 17, 2009 at 1:45 pm

Like a lot of people, as soon as I got a look at the fapper reviewing “Going Rogue” for Washington Post, I immediately thought of the German song by the punk rock ensemble Die Aerzte “Backpfeifengesicht.”

proudgrampa November 17, 2009 at 1:45 pm

Frankly, people like this Young Republican scare the crap out of me because when they get older, they end up in positions of power.

He reminds me of Karl Rove. Scary.

Joshua Norton November 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

[re=460521]AxmxZ[/re]: Ten bucks says she couldn’t.

AxmxZ November 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

[re=460533]comicbookguy[/re]: I wonder if she’s even cracked it open or just used it to even out the legs of a particularly stubborn rickety table. If she did the latter, the woman has more sense in her than I gave her credit for.

DoctorCulturae November 17, 2009 at 1:47 pm

Alright smarty pouty mouth. Kudos for bringing in reception theory, but an incomplete for not moving beyond it to critical thinking and theory. It explains the activity, but fails the analysis. Sorry, the moon is not the sun, despite the fact that it might be bright.

Flanders November 17, 2009 at 1:49 pm

The Hayden-Harnett lady is much less distracting today.

snideinplainsight November 17, 2009 at 1:50 pm

Couldn’t they have gotten some tail-kickin’ manly man to be the righty reviewer? Like say Chuck Norris? He could deliver a round-house monkey kick to his word processor. Or Toby Keith?

Or say Charlton Heston? NO, wait – William F. Buckley, Jr?

You know what William F. Buckley, Jr, would think about GOING ROGUE? NOTHING, because William F. Buckley, Jr’s ALREADY DEAD!!!

Mr Blifil November 17, 2009 at 1:51 pm

Encomium? Yummy Yum Yum.

I wish someone would Jauss on his never-been-kissed retard face.

PsycGirl November 17, 2009 at 1:52 pm

When I “got” my first copy of Going Rogue, I immediately thought of the brilliant psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud. He too said a lot of provocative things that got people all shouty but then people treated his idea as though they were completely factual and now we know a lot of them are completely untrue.

Spiro Agnew November 17, 2009 at 1:53 pm

I went to high school with this douche, and I’m sorry.

x111e7thst November 17, 2009 at 1:55 pm

[re=460390]Click[/re]: The better to serve as a cum dumpster?

AxmxZ November 17, 2009 at 1:56 pm

[re=460556]Spiro Agnew[/re]: Wow, he must be the Highlander or something.

S.Luggo November 17, 2009 at 1:56 pm

[re=460485]Botswana Meat Commission FC[/re]: Win.

AKAM80TheWolf November 17, 2009 at 1:58 pm

[re=460485]Botswana Meat Commission FC[/re]:

I am a bad bad boy for laughing at that. Our young douchenozzle probably spent a lot of time on the bench too.

Ducksworthy November 17, 2009 at 1:58 pm

Und “at Nuremberg, Jauss was judged “not [to have] participated in criminal actions,” was released” so he’s not like Sarah in that way alzo.

AKAM80TheWolf November 17, 2009 at 1:59 pm

[re=460565]AxmxZ[/re]:

The Highlander was a documentary, and the events happened in real time.

snideinplainsight November 17, 2009 at 2:01 pm

Though I have to ask, is that the entirety of Ana Marie Cox’s review? It looks like someone took a scissors to it in the middle. I see five paragraphs total (both in IE and when I view it in Firefox.) WTF?

TGY November 17, 2009 at 2:01 pm

Need contact details! I will certainly use him as a ‘rent-a-reviewer’ should I ever publish a book.

snideinplainsight November 17, 2009 at 2:05 pm

“”Going Rogue” won’t do much to change any minds. But for what it reveals about our current political culture, Hans Robert Jauss would say it can’t be beat.”

No he wouldn’t, because Hans Robert Jauss is ALREADY DEAD!!!

S.Luggo November 17, 2009 at 2:06 pm

Incontinetti’s first sentence should have read:
“As soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of the German literary critic, Waffen-SS Hauptsturmfuhrer, and recipient of the Nazi Gold Cross, Hans Robert Jauss.”
http://www.angelfire.com/nj/ww2/images/germancrosscloth1.jpg

comicbookguy November 17, 2009 at 2:07 pm

[re=460580]snideinplainsight[/re]: The entirety of Ana Marie Cox’s review is this: “Really? Seriously? You’re kidding right?”

And it’s the most thoughtful review of the book I’ve read so far.

Suds McKenzie November 17, 2009 at 2:10 pm

I “literally” cant write anything because I’m laughing uncontrollably.

Mr Blifil November 17, 2009 at 2:14 pm

[re=460586]snideinplainsight[/re]: Here’s Jauss’ reaction shot…

http://www.phillwebb.net/history/twentiethcentury/continental/Phenomenology/Jauss/Jauss.jpg

Buzz Feedback November 17, 2009 at 2:19 pm

This post may be longer than the Cox review.

McDuff November 17, 2009 at 2:25 pm

Fixed: “Like a lot of people (who graduated from Columbia in 2003 and took a critical lit course while there but who, like my boss Bill “Blue Blood” Kristol, are always condemning the Ivy League and its professors and graduates as un-authentic un-American liberal shit-for-brains moon-beamer hate-the-troops commie nazi socialist hippies), as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,” I immediately thought of the German literary critic Hans Robert Jauss.”

SwanSwanH November 17, 2009 at 2:34 pm

“Palin probably didn’t set out to write a book that tested Jauss’s thesis.”

No, I suppose she *probably* didn’t.

Terry November 17, 2009 at 2:35 pm

[re=460443]Serolf Divad[/re]:

That’s what Continetti’s prep school English teacher said before he did that very act.

Neoyorquino November 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm

Does Sarah Palin know that Matthew Continetti stole her glasses?

Click November 17, 2009 at 2:41 pm

[re=460618]Buzz Feedback[/re]: “The Cox Review”? Hey are Blechh and O’Rileme still looking for a tour name?

Redhead November 17, 2009 at 2:48 pm

[re=460657]SwanSwanH[/re]: I didn’t think Sarah Palin set out to write a book at all.
Have a ghostwriter write the literary equivalent of Sarah patting herself on the back for creating puppies and unicorns and rainbows (and then shooing all the puppies and unicorns from the rainbow helicopter) so Sarah could be on the teevee some more, yes. Actually write a book testing ANYONE’S thesis? Meh.

Extemporanus November 17, 2009 at 2:48 pm

[re=460457]Click[/re]: I can’t believe I didn’t remember this until right now!

Q: What do you call the little pieces of toilet paper that get stuck to a woman’s private parts when cleaning up after a long night of messy sex?

A: CUNTFETTI!

It’s like CLITTER LITTER, only pithier and party-er!

Snarkalicious November 17, 2009 at 2:50 pm

A thin veneer of big words and pseudo-intellectual flourishes overlying a general lack of substance and rhetorical skill. Hmm. GEORGE WILL PSEUDONONYMOUS SELF-REINVENTION FAIL.

the problem child November 17, 2009 at 2:52 pm

That’s funny, I thought of Ezra Pound’s “Cantos”. Is it the fascism or the detachment from reality or the egotistical wanking? Perhaps Continetti didn’t take the second semester of that course.

Carson November 17, 2009 at 2:54 pm

“According to Jauss, every book is read in a social context. In his view, the reader’s attitudes, beliefs, values and judgments are just as important as the text. Sometimes more.’

Isn’t this basically what Sotomayer said about being a “wise Latina”? Will Glenn Beck’s head explode over this, too?

Alaska Girl November 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm

Wow, that 12 year old in the picture wrote that? There’s one child that was left behind.

Cape Clod November 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm

Some people have faces that just scream ‘punch me.’ Is there a Darwinian reason for that?

lawrenceofthedesert November 17, 2009 at 3:00 pm

Matthew thought he would impress us by dropping the name of a proud veteran of the Nazi army and visiting professorships to Ivy League schools (the two experiences may be parallel), but just as the old stormtrooper had predicted, the reception to his prose was entirely different than what Matty had been led to expect. As Patrick Henry Nabakov once yelled, “Give me solipsism or give me death!”

sezme November 17, 2009 at 3:02 pm

Little known fact: Lynn Vincent also ghost-wrote Continetti’s column as well as the entire works of Hans Robert Jauss.

MarSF November 17, 2009 at 3:06 pm

This guy would make a nice Bottom for Ross Douchehat. Someone needs to play matchmaker.

Click November 17, 2009 at 3:06 pm

[re=460701]Extemporanus[/re]: Why toilet paper? Cat got your tongue?

PickneyPinchback November 17, 2009 at 3:09 pm

“Like a lot of people, as soon as I found myself alone in the men’s room and feeling a bit horny, I immediately thought of the German literary critic Hans Robert Jauss.”

Oh come on, like you don’t.

Gopherit November 17, 2009 at 3:18 pm

[re=460755]Click[/re]: Are we going to have to turn the hose on you two?

chascates November 17, 2009 at 3:23 pm

I’d prefer a Marxist interpretation but will consider analysis vis a vis the theories of Lacan, Derrida, or Foucault.

Click November 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

[re=460786]Gopherit[/re]: Wait till we’re in a tie.

germansteel November 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

[re=460433]Servo[/re]:

Not to mention the record she set for Earliest Quit of a Sitting First Term Governor in U.S. History.

(I really don’t know if that is true, but who cares when were talking about the Biggest Liar in U.S. Presidential Political History?)

widget09 November 17, 2009 at 3:31 pm

[re=460481]Redhead[/re]: A million little pieces, that must be Confetti.

The Unfairman November 17, 2009 at 3:49 pm

“The book is so packed with facts, history and encomiums about her state…”

Shouldn’t it be encomia?

What Fresh Hell is This? November 17, 2009 at 3:51 pm

Continetti and Ana Marie, since not Bold and Fresh, then what?

Darkness November 17, 2009 at 3:52 pm

(He wrote “encomiums,” in a Sarah Palin review!)

We can only hope that this book is Sara Palin’s political Eulogy.

Mrslulu November 17, 2009 at 4:04 pm

[re=460835]The Unfairman[/re]: Yes. He probably thought it sounded too pretentious.

Oh, wait — he opened with a reference to Jauss….

EggplantParm November 17, 2009 at 4:13 pm

[re=460485]Botswana Meat Commission FC[/re]: Too soon… but I still laughed. I’m a horrible person.

comicbookguy November 17, 2009 at 4:23 pm

[re=460657]SwanSwanH[/re]: Jokes on you because that is exactly her thesis. As we speak she is compiling google wordclouds for a thorough statistical analysis and then she’s defending in front of the PhD board. Expect a facebook update with her new bona-fides.

arclight November 17, 2009 at 4:33 pm

I wonder what he orders at The Waffle House.

Suds McKenzie November 17, 2009 at 4:55 pm

“one time, at band camp”.

imissopus November 17, 2009 at 5:07 pm

“Palin probably didn’t set out to write a book that tested Jauss’s thesis.”

Probably??!!??!!1!?

Extemporanus November 17, 2009 at 5:07 pm

[re=460755]Click[/re]: Is “cat tongue” what one gets from giving some beachhead?

I suppose that if I’d said “a long night of messy sex on the beach,”i> then sand paper would’ve been more appropriate.

[re=460786]Gopherit[/re]: [re=460805]Click[/re]: It’s rubs the Gopher on its skin or else it gets the hose again!

lochnessmonster November 17, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Wasn’t he on C-SPAN yesterday? Or was that just my nightmare before I woke up?

imissopus November 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Between this guy, Neck Beard, and Megs McCain I’m thinking the Republican Party’s future just looks that much bleaker. The combined intellectual power of those three couldn’t light a match.

Suds McKenzie November 17, 2009 at 5:13 pm

[re=460594]comicbookguy[/re]: anything in there about the “Butt Secks”?

proudgrampa November 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Have I mentioned my four-year old granddaughter?

Well, when she got her copy of Going Rogue, she said, “You know, this reminds me of the Jaussian horizon of expectations. Our interpretation of Palin’s book will depend on our experience.”

Wow. I am really proud of that girl.

Red Zeppelin November 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm

[re=460996]Suds McKenzie[/re]: only as a Lacanian subtext.

Suds McKenzie November 17, 2009 at 5:33 pm

[re=461012]Red Zeppelin[/re]: Thanks, I only do Augean.

JooJoo Bee November 17, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Quick, somebody use Kant in a complete sentence. All this Hegelian shit is really getting me down.

CanadianBacon November 17, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Okay, so this review is written about a book with such gems as “… how come He made them out of meat?” and ” … room for all Alaska’s animals – right next to the mashed potatoes.”
“Like a lot of people, as soon as I got my copy of Sarah Palin’s “Going Rogue,”I immediately thought…” What he was really thinking was ” I got his book for free and it still isn’t worth it.Some people are actually going to pay for this literary equivalent of a steaming cow pie.It’s like a tax on the stupid. Oh no, I can’t write that,I’ll just get out that university text book from my old roommate who left me for another man and a thesaurus and I’ll write something that sounds intelligent to stupid people.”
I bet the ghost writer changed the sentence from “We have the highest number of dogsleds per capita in the United States.” to “We have the highest number of pilots per capita in the United States.”

Click November 17, 2009 at 9:41 pm

[re=461154]JooJoo Bee[/re]: Kan’t.

IceCreamEmpress November 17, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Quick, somebody use Kant in a complete sentence

Sarah Palin is a stupid Kant.

MGBYG November 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

[re=461154]JooJoo Bee[/re]: “The Critique of Pure Reason” is in my library tucked up under the spare rolls of t.p.

And here I thought a ‘Continetti’ was marking the “recipient” of gay phantasy jailhouse bukaki…or someone once wrote it on my dear Wonkette so it must be the Truth.

mookworthjwilson November 17, 2009 at 10:02 pm

Man…this guy deserves the title “Human Dildo” even more than Bill Kristol.

Click November 17, 2009 at 10:20 pm

[re=461178]IceCreamEmpress[/re]: you win.

largefoot November 17, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Do they have campaign staffers in Alaska? I mean, I’ve never been in an campaign office without at least 1 smoker, and almost everyone I’ve ever met will smoke at least some of the time. Its just what people in our business do. Its like wall street brokers and murdering street orphans, it goes with the job.

rottenart November 17, 2009 at 10:47 pm

[re=461010]proudgrampa[/re]: I tell you what, I’m on the verge of asking you to ask her if she might be interested in helping with my thesis. Sharp little whipper-snapper! Has she published?

artbot2000 November 18, 2009 at 2:46 am

[re=460540]AxmxZ[/re]:

Are you taking about the BOOK, or about her Moose Toe?

cashaholic November 18, 2009 at 2:54 am

Like a lot of, well, _smarter_ people, Going Rogue immediately brought to _my_ mind Saussure, Fassbinder, and Soupy Sales. Jauss, indeed! What a tool!

Autochthon November 18, 2009 at 6:21 am

[re=460388]taylormattd[/re]: Boy, you ain’t kiddin’!

Monsieur Grumpe November 18, 2009 at 9:12 am

I honestly don’t know anything about this Jauss person, but if he’s known for something that involves thinking, Palin is no Jauss.

Paterlanger November 18, 2009 at 11:36 am

[re=460423]SayItWithWookies[/re]: That defines brilliant. Thanks for chiming in.

5erfun November 18, 2009 at 2:22 pm

Two gems that relate from the 1933 film Dinner at Eight:
Kitty: I was reading a book the other day.
Carlotta: Reading a book?
Kitty: Yes. It’s all about civilization or something. A nutty kind of a book. Do you know that the guy says that machinery is going to take the place of every profession?
Carlotta: Oh, my dear, that’s something you need never worry about.

(Of course you miss the visual of Marie Dressler swaying backwards in surprise at Jean Harlow’s character reading)
——————————————————————————–
Kitty Packard: Politics? Ha! You couldn’t get into politics. You couldn’t get in anywhere. You couldn’t even get in the mens’ room at the Astor!

tokugawa November 21, 2009 at 10:07 am

What a putz!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: