NATIONAL REVIEW ALL STARS  12:25 pm October 1, 2009

National Review Writer Wants To Eliminate Women’s Suffrage, Civil Rights Act

by Jim Newell

Derb in his salad daysFrothy British Tory and leisurely National Review writer John “Salad Days” Derbyshire, most famous for being a pervert and excoriating students at Virginia Tech for not properly defending themselves against that gunman, has a new book coming out, just like every other asshole. Within this anger-pamphlet is a section called, “The Case Against Female Suffrage.” Radio host and aged goblin carcass Alan Colmes recently asked Derbyshire to explain this section. Why does he hate nice ladies so much? Any other historic civil rights achievements he wants to dial back? etc.

Here, everyone, is The Case Against Female Suffrage:

“What is the case against female suffrage?” Colmes asked. “The conservative case against it is that women lean hard to the left … They want someone to nurture, they want someone to help raise their kids, and if men aren’t inclined to do it — and in the present days, they’re not much — then they’d like the state to do it for them.”

Lousy no-good women! MAYBE THEY SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO VOTE.

DERBYSHIRE: Among the hopes that I do not realistically nurse is the hope that female suffrage will be repealed. But I’ll say this – if it were to be, I wouldn’t lose a minute’s sleep.

COLMES: We’d be a better country if women didn’t vote?

DERBYSHIRE: Probably. Don’t you think so?

COLMES: No, I do not think so whatsoever.

DERBYSHIRE: Come on Alan. Come clean here [laughing].

COLMES: We would be a better country? John Derbyshire making the statement, we would be a better country if women did not vote.

DERBYSHIRE: Yeah, probably. Well we got along like that for what, 130 years?

But he’s being serious, is the thing — listen to the audio! Poor Alan Colmes seems so scared.

Oh, and then he’s like, screw the Civil Rights Act of 1964. This was a common conservative position back then. You know, 40 to 50 years ago.

(K-Lo probably agrees with all of this, is the amazing thing.)

National Review’s John Derbyshire: Women Should Not Have The Right To Vote [Think Progress]

 
Related video

Hola wonkerados.

To improve site performance, we did a thing. It could be up to three minutes before your comment appears. DON'T KEEP RETRYING, OKAY?

Also, if you are a new commenter, your comment may never appear. This is probably because we hate you.

{ 131 comments }

widget09 October 1, 2009 at 12:28 pm

That guy has “ASSHOLE” written all over his face.

hunter.blatherer October 1, 2009 at 12:28 pm

I don’t see why we should stop at that. Only white male landowners should be allowed to vote. And then, only if they vote the right way.

mookworthjwilson October 1, 2009 at 12:29 pm

Oh, and what a wonderful 130 years it was…slavery, Jim Crow, child labor, near 50/50 infant or maternal mortality…man that’s something I want to bring back…well that and everyother president having cool muttonchops…

teebob2000 October 1, 2009 at 12:29 pm

Fah. He’s clearly got teh gay.

Click October 1, 2009 at 12:31 pm

Honestly, I think these fucking guys are just upping the crazy because they’ve realized it’s an instant ticket to notoriety by way of insanity.

PabaBritannica October 1, 2009 at 12:32 pm

Who is this guy and does anyone care? I mean, I know people get jollies watching Ann Coulter dislocate her jaw and devour Matt Lauer, but can someone point me to someone who claims to be a John Derbyshire “fan”?

I’m not saying in the facebook sense though. I’m sure facebook is too uncouth and wretched and bugger and bangers and mash for this guy.

Prommie October 1, 2009 at 12:33 pm

Does no one remember this was the dude who wrote that Chelsea Clinton should be killed, because she is the evil spawn of the evil Clintons and will perpetuate evil clintonism?

memzilla October 1, 2009 at 12:33 pm

Another cry to roll back the calendar to the Gilded Age of the 1890s — white male majority, no wimmen voters, dead Injuns, dead Messicans, and rapacious corprit trusts as far as the eye could see.

Way to read the demographic trends, Republitards! Grover Cleveland for Preznit!

norbizness October 1, 2009 at 12:33 pm

Perhaps he’s forgetting that in the early 19th century, lunatics, waterheads, miscreants, cretins, and the feeble-minded were also denied the franchise, and he’s batting at least .800

Scruffy_The_Janitor October 1, 2009 at 12:34 pm

I know that a minority, Janitors dont need civil rights.

PabaBritannica October 1, 2009 at 12:35 pm

Haha, this guy’s into steampunk and roleplaying a 19th century aristocrat, isn’t he?

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 12:35 pm

Is that a mugshot?
And I know at least mAnne Colt-face would like to throw away her right to vote.
And love his book title:
“We are DOOMED! DOOMED! DOOOOOOOO[cockroach crawls across face]MED! GO HOME NOW!”

zaccapeters October 1, 2009 at 12:36 pm

This is what happens when you send SkoalRebelz to university. I say we ban all student aid and kill the community colleges as a precautionary measure. And give them all the worm dirt they can handle for free.

Rev. Peter Lemonjello October 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm

That picture looks like it was taken moments after Chris Hansen entered the room and asked “Why don’t you have a seat over there.”

Doglessliberal October 1, 2009 at 12:38 pm

Next up, he will write an essay about eating babies, and mean it.

magic titty October 1, 2009 at 12:39 pm

Cracker.

norbizness October 1, 2009 at 12:40 pm

Also keep in mind that in the early 70s, John Derbyshire looked like this and got his ass kicked by Bruce Lee.

binarian October 1, 2009 at 12:40 pm

Anyone else find it odd that nutjobs like this are coming out of the woodwork now?

SayItWithWookies October 1, 2009 at 12:40 pm

Later in the interview, Derbyshire said there’s also a case to be made for repealing the 1964 Civil Rights Act because you “shouldn’t try to force people to be good.”

Well why stop there? If that’s the principle we should use in making laws, then why do we have those stupid, outdated statutes against murder, rape, theft and — this should make the Republicans happy — transporting minors across state lines for immoral purposes? I mean, look at that face — if that expression doesn’t say “Repeal the Mann Act,” then nothing does.

Uncle Joe October 1, 2009 at 12:41 pm

The victim here is his poor, poor wife, because you know John Douchebagshire has got to be the most disappointing, lamest, worst fuck in the entire history of consensual sex.

Sarjo October 1, 2009 at 12:41 pm

Hey, it’s John Cleese in a new ROFL LOL skit! Long live the Flying Circus!!!

Click October 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm

I felt the Alan Alda and Ringo Starr audio portrayal needed more fire.

V572625694 October 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm

Between this twit and Sully, we’ve got too many Brits telling us how to run the country. Let’s see their birth certificates!

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 12:43 pm

[re=424600]Rev. Peter Lemonjello[/re]: My thoughts exactly.
Why hasn’t John Derby-Upon-The-Shire denied being a rampant pedophile. It’s not like we shouldn’t rule it out.
Just sayin’…

Norbert October 1, 2009 at 12:44 pm

Put your money where your mouth is, shithead, and run for office somewhere on that platform.

magic titty October 1, 2009 at 12:46 pm

[re=424612]Uncle Joe[/re]: He’s married!?

slappypaddy October 1, 2009 at 12:46 pm

the face of a man who yearns for a thrashing from the nurturing members of society.

Tommmcatt October 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm

I love Colmes response- “No, I do not think so whatsoever.”- which roughly translates as “I plan on having sex at least one more time before I die, idiot”.

Something tells me that this is a moot point for Derbyshire, though.

ManchuCandidate October 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm

Not all of us can be men’s men like WussieShire.

Shouldn’t he be counting bullets fired by a crazed student? (yep, he’s that dipshit.)

GayInMaine October 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

[re=424585]Click[/re]: Either that or make their side on issues seem almost sane. “Oh, you want to deny everyone health care. Well, in comparison to repealing the right to vote, that’s not so bad. Okay, we’ll go with it.”

hobospacejunkie October 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

The ol’ essentializing of women. They are all caring nurturers. It’s in their nature, of course. This guy probably has two dozen female corpses buried in his back yard. Also, he looks like an Irish stereotype come to life. A really bad, essentializing stereotype.

AnnieGetYourFun October 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

This guy is a genius. Why force people to be good, indeed? Thank goodness Republicans will take his advice and do away with the Ten Commandments. We should all be allowed to covet our neighbors’ asses.

bureaucrap October 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

why such lame half-way measures? Let’s bring back enfranchisement on the basis of property ownership. If you have cash, stocks or real estate work $1M or more, come on down! Otherwise, eat **** and die.

Rotundo October 1, 2009 at 12:51 pm

No doubt he’s also longing for the return of the british empire since the american one seems to be unraveling of late. Wants the women subserviant and the classes mindful of their roles. Trouble is, these days the folks from China and India own our sorry asses, financially, intellectually, and soon literally. Methinks he will not like serving his new masters tea and biscuits.

WhatTheHeck October 1, 2009 at 12:52 pm

Wait, women were given shoes and let out of the kitchen?

Servo October 1, 2009 at 12:52 pm

Eternal masturbation, John. Eternal masturbation.

jodyleek October 1, 2009 at 12:53 pm

[re=424612]Uncle Joe[/re]: Consensual sex with this guy? Who? Name names, please. Sex with dead hookers or drugged young boys, that I would believe. But, consensual sex with any human? You are too funny.

Anonymous Office Zombie October 1, 2009 at 12:54 pm

Gareth Keenan, is that you?

Click October 1, 2009 at 12:54 pm

[re=424612]Uncle Joe[/re]: He might have had a clue had he ever seen anything other than the back of her head during those impotent struggles towards sexual release.

Beanball October 1, 2009 at 12:55 pm

I’m proud to tell you that back in the day, my ancestors shot Redcoats, and that twit there is one of the reasons why.

dum librul October 1, 2009 at 12:55 pm

I only read 3/5 of this story.

ignatius_riley October 1, 2009 at 12:56 pm

[re=424612]Uncle Joe[/re]: This guy is married?? Jesus Christ. Maybe women are too stupid to vote.

Mustang October 1, 2009 at 12:56 pm

I don’t think men should be allowed to express opinions, let alone write books, but you don’t see me yakking to ape-faced pretend liberal Alan Colmes about it.

RoscoePColtraine October 1, 2009 at 12:58 pm

If we’d never passed Wimmin’s Suffrage, well then, Meg Whitman wouldn’t be in all that hot water.

Also, I’d like to go on the record as being totally fine with wimmin voting and all. It’s the letting ‘em drive I’d like to ban.

Native of SL UT October 1, 2009 at 12:58 pm

He has a good point. This government is all fucked up because it cares about people. It wants to nurture people and shit. We all know the best governments run over their people with tanks instead.

Click October 1, 2009 at 12:59 pm

[re=424630]hobospacejunkie[/re]: Excuse me – that fucker is NOT Irish, he’s a brit. As a proud Irish stereotype, I am deepply offended.

Click October 1, 2009 at 1:00 pm

That’s “deepply” with 2 p’s, because we Irish spell things however we goddam pplease.

Monsieur Grumpe October 1, 2009 at 1:01 pm

We need to get Derbyshire together with Peggy Noonanshire. They would make a lovely couple.

Downtheroadapiece October 1, 2009 at 1:02 pm

What a warm and cuddly fella.

I hope his urologist or proctologist is 60′s liberal hippy lady.

Canmon (the Inadequate) October 1, 2009 at 1:02 pm

I heard their periods attract bears. Is that what you want, go into a voting booth and get mauled by a bear?

Click October 1, 2009 at 1:02 pm

[re=424637]jodyleek[/re]: His wife’s name is Rosie. Last name Palm.

Come here a minute October 1, 2009 at 1:02 pm

This makes complete sense, because the conservative position on everything is, “I got mine — go fuck yourself.”*** So he would be in favor of stripping the vote from any group to which he does not belong.

***Or in the case of a certain flavored dip lover, “Y’all go fuck y’all’self.”

S.Luggo October 1, 2009 at 1:04 pm

[re=424615]Sarjo[/re]: Basil Fawlty.

Liz Becton October 1, 2009 at 1:07 pm

His wife’s name is Rosie.

No, seriously.

Click October 1, 2009 at 1:07 pm

C’mon gals, haven’t we women suffraged enough?

Guppy06 October 1, 2009 at 1:07 pm

Because before the Nineteenth Amendment, we elected nobody but small government, business-loving isolationist presidents like Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt and Woodrow Wilson.

Pithaughn October 1, 2009 at 1:08 pm

[re=424648]RoscoePColtraine[/re]: Oh they CAN drive fine, when they remember that they are indeed driving. It’s just that putting on mascara, sipping a latte and flapping their pie hole all at the same time makes em forget to WATCH what the fuck they are doing! Also, they insist on just sort of pointing the vehicle as opposed to actually steering.

S.Luggo October 1, 2009 at 1:12 pm

I must agree with Lord Darbyton. Women get very emotional when they vote. Plus, after making a scene at the voting station, they can’t focus on making dinner.

All that menopausal crying and snapping during election season is very disturbing to me, also. Oh, wait. I could be thinking of Mitch McConnell’s last campaign.

SomeNYGuy October 1, 2009 at 1:14 pm

I have actually seen a photo of Mrs. Derbyshire. She really and truly looks like an adolescent boy. Try not to have a heart attack from sheer surprise.

Cape Clod October 1, 2009 at 1:15 pm

[re=424622]magic titty[/re]: This would explain his rational. Any creature stupid enough to have sex with me needs to be stripped of the right to vote, along with all biologically similar creatures.

mookworthjwilson October 1, 2009 at 1:16 pm

[re=424673]Guppy06[/re]: I say we compromise…we’ll overturn the 19th Amendment, but only if we get rid of that bill of attainder part of the constitution and make every law only apply to this douchebag…

Sarjo October 1, 2009 at 1:17 pm

[re=424666]S.Luggo[/re]: The Major: Strange creatures, women. I knew one once… striking-looking girl… tall, you know… father was a banker.
Basil: Really?
The Major: Don’t remember the name of the bank.
Basil: Nevermind.
The Major: I must have been rather keen on her because I took her to see… India!
Basil: India?
The Major: At the Oval… fine match, marvellous finish… now, Surrey had to get thirty-three in about half an hour… she went off to powder her… powder her hands or something… women… er… never came back.
Basil: What a shame.
The Major: And the strange thing was… throughout the morning she kept referring to the Indians as niggers. “No no no,” I said, “the niggers are the West Indians. These people are wogs.” “No, no,” she said. “All cricketers are niggers.”
Basil: They do get awfully confused, don’t they? They’re not thinkers. I see it with Sybil everyday.
The Major: I do wish I could remember her name. She’s still got my wallet.
Basil: As I was saying, no capacity for logical thought.
The Major: Who?
Basil: Women.
The Major: Oh yes, yes… I thought you meant Indians.

Egregious October 1, 2009 at 1:18 pm

Once, back in the day, I saw Jerry Brown speaking when he was running for President. I recall that it was hard (or harder) to take him seriously b/c his most vociferous supporters were a bunch of grubby, hippy-clad stoners holding up signs demanding the legalization of pot.

The tea baggers, frothing bible thumpers, crackers, and hypobolic southern congressman of today’s GOP are starting to resemble a right wing version of a Jerry Brown rally circa 1992.

trustmeimalawyer October 1, 2009 at 1:19 pm

[re=424618]GreatOldOnesParty[/re]: He does look like a pedophile.

AbstinenceOnly Ed October 1, 2009 at 1:22 pm

How would his Queen feel about this, you say? She’s behind it!

This is all part of his plan to roll us back to the point of our reinstatement as Colonies under King George. Female Suffrage, Civil Rights Acts, Emancipation of Slaves— repeal it all and reinstate the tea tax! Derbyshite and his sleeper cell won’t rest until we’re all bleeding a different red white and blue— the confusing criss-crossy red and blue of the Union Jack!

He wants India back also.

Johnny Zhivago October 1, 2009 at 1:22 pm

Somebody tell Meg Whitman and Carly Fiorina that women ARE ACTUALLY ALLOWED TO VOTE!

Click October 1, 2009 at 1:23 pm

[re=424702]Egregious[/re]: I’m thinking your scales are tipped a bit off-center in that analogy.

Click October 1, 2009 at 1:25 pm

[re=424702]Egregious[/re]: “hypobolic” – that’s an understatement.

AbstinenceOnly Ed October 1, 2009 at 1:26 pm

Come to think of it, please disenfranchise Blanche Lincoln.

NixonNow October 1, 2009 at 1:27 pm

alan colmes is only offended because alan colmes is a woman.

BeWoot October 1, 2009 at 1:28 pm

Is this the jump from that gynophobia argument we had earlier this week? Cause thanks, I’m still terrified of those things.

AnnieGetYourFun October 1, 2009 at 1:29 pm

[re=424648]RoscoePColtraine[/re]: I totally wrote that and then decided not to post it. But I agree. It’s the only thing that the Saudis have right. Women are horrible drivers.

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 1:31 pm
El Pinche October 1, 2009 at 1:32 pm

This Derbyshire guy looks like he fucks warm poultry while watching child pr0n. Someone check his harddrive.

kth October 1, 2009 at 1:38 pm

[re=424693]SomeNYGuy[/re]: Yglesias had a picture of Mr and Mrs Derbyshire on one of his other blogs, but my lousy Google skills failed to turn it up. Quite hilarious, she’s a super-diminutive Asian who looks to be about 1/3 of Derb’s age.

Redhead October 1, 2009 at 1:39 pm

“The conservative case against it is that women lean hard to the left … They want someone to nurture, they want someone to help raise their kids, and if men aren’t inclined to do it — and in the present days, they’re not much — then they’d like the state to do it for them.”

so… women want to nurture the state? What, make sure all the congressmen get on the school bus without being called names by the bully and pack little sandwiches (with the crusts cut off) and apple slices in a Dora the Explorer lunchbox? I’m confused.

Click October 1, 2009 at 1:45 pm

[re=424742]kth[/re]: Does it say whether he ordered her online or through a catalog?

Way Cool Larry October 1, 2009 at 1:45 pm

the sad thing is that there are probably some poor brainwashed conservatard women who think they shouldn’t be allowed to vote because they aren’t smart enough to figure things out on their own.

AbstinenceOnly Ed October 1, 2009 at 1:47 pm

[re=424744]Redhead[/re]: And I thought blonds were the stupid ones.

SmutBoffin October 1, 2009 at 1:47 pm

[re=424742]kth[/re]: Derbyshire also wrote an OK book about the Riemann Hypothesis. It was mainly marred by pointless stabs at egalitarian conceptions of history (white math dudes rule!) and constant autobiographical references. Mostly about his Chinese wife.

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 1:49 pm

[re=424761]Way Cool Larry[/re]: First name: Anne. Last name: Coulter. And yes, I agree that SHE shouldn’t be allowed to vote either.

Gopherit October 1, 2009 at 1:52 pm

Who fucking listens to limeys anyway. They can’t even pronounce aluminum or controversy correctly.

Still, less voting would mean more pot pies…….mmmmm. pot pies.

Gopherit October 1, 2009 at 1:53 pm

[re=424771]GreatOldOnesParty[/re]: But, coulter isn’t a woman. we’re going to disenfranchise transexuals now, too?

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 1:53 pm

[re=424768]SmutBoffin[/re]: Is it known if he lets his diminutive, Asiatic live-in hooker vote?

kungfusheriff October 1, 2009 at 1:55 pm

Never heard of him.

facehead October 1, 2009 at 1:58 pm

He’s just a dick.

Sorry for the lack of wit, lemme try again …

Nope, “dick” is only thing which comes to mind … oh and HOW ABOUT A COMPLETE LACK OF RESPECT FOR FUCKING DEMOCRACY HOW THE FUCK CAN YOU CALL YOURSELF AN AMERICAN WHEN YOU THINK HALF THE POPULATION SHOULDN’T BE ALLOWED TO VOTE GO FUCKING LIVE IN A KINGDOM YOU MIND NUMBINGLY BACKWARDS …. dick.

RoscoePColtraine October 1, 2009 at 1:58 pm

[re=424778]Gopherit[/re]: You forgot “schedule.” I fucking LIVED in London, and, to this day, it takes me a minute to figure out what they’re saying….shed-ule shed-ule, OH! You mean SKED-ule. Derbyshire needs to shut the fuck up about what America needs to do, and that goes for Christopher Hitchens, too.

SmutBoffin October 1, 2009 at 2:05 pm

[re=424782]GreatOldOnesParty[/re]: The proof of this conjecture, as well as “does he let her leave the kitchen?”, is elusive. The book does demonstrate conclusively that Will Buckley Jr. is the shit. (Seriously, Derb-o, why does this book about math need to include crap about how talented your boss is?)

AbstinenceOnly Ed October 1, 2009 at 2:05 pm

Awww, look at the first-person collective noun:
DERBYSHIRE: Yeah, probably. Well we got along like that for what, 130 years?

The little tory arsewipe thinks he’s Amurrican, just because he’s insanely regressive and misogynistic. Nope, yr still an English twit acting as an American wingnut stooge. You will NEVER be American, at least until you spell “Coloured People” without the superfluous u.

bitchincamaro October 1, 2009 at 2:06 pm

In the spirit of your comment, Mr. Derbyshire, may I strongly suggest that you eat night soil and die.

Gopherit October 1, 2009 at 2:06 pm

[re=424787]RoscoePColtraine[/re]: That’s true. You’d think they’d bother to learn how to speak their own language.

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 2:08 pm

[re=424787]RoscoePColtraine[/re]: or “lieutenant”.
I don’t know where the hell they get that “F” in there.

Snarkalicious October 1, 2009 at 2:11 pm

[re=424569]widget09[/re]: Blingy plz.

GreatOldOnesParty October 1, 2009 at 2:14 pm
Snarkalicious October 1, 2009 at 2:15 pm

[re=424612]Uncle Joe[/re]: What? You think this fuckstick adheres to marital rape laws?

SomeNYGuy October 1, 2009 at 2:18 pm

[re=424787]RoscoePColtraine[/re]: Don’t forget Tony Blankley, whom I can actually smell through my radio speakers.

[re=424742]kth[/re]: “she’s a super-diminutive Asian”
Well, he had to find someone who couldn’t beat him up — and it’s still illegal to marry a quadriplegic hamster.

RoscoePColtraine October 1, 2009 at 2:21 pm

[re=424806]Gopherit[/re]: Is there anything the English invented that the Americans haven’t improved? Afternoon tea has become happy hour. Fish and chips have become burgers and fries. Centuries-old cathedrals have become shiny new mega-churches. I rest my case.

JSDC007 October 1, 2009 at 2:21 pm

Quick, where’s future Virginia Governor Goblin Mr. McDonnell? We just found his long lost twin!!!

JSDC007 October 1, 2009 at 2:30 pm

[re=424835]RoscoePColtraine[/re]: And old buck-toothed, Reaginista crone Maggie Thatcher has become MILF-y, bouffanted, Reaginista tart Sarah Palin! And British douchebag Derbyshire has become a Fleet suppository! Who said that America was in decline?

CollegeStudent October 1, 2009 at 2:32 pm

Instead we should eliminate dumb white guy sufferage. I would gladly give up my right to vote, so long as that guy doesn’t get to vote either.
I believe that is, as they say, putting country ahead of self.

ScubaDew October 1, 2009 at 2:35 pm

I especially like his rationale for the whole thing: “Women shouldn’t vote because they’re liberal. Duh.”

You want to repeal somebody’s right to vote just because they elect people you don’t like? Seriously? That’s not making a “conservative case”, that’s just being general douche.

steve October 1, 2009 at 2:36 pm

I think he missed it by focussing on voting instead of driving…

RoscoePColtraine October 1, 2009 at 2:37 pm

[re=424851]JSDC007[/re]: I don’t care it’s been done to death. I came *this* *close* to projectile spewing my coffee on that suppository part. Just didn’t see it coming, is why.

Cicada October 1, 2009 at 2:39 pm

This guy…oooh…this fucking guy…I just want to punch him in the balls. I mean…this FUCKING GUY. Arrrrgh!

I’m sorry, my vagina makes me go into bouts of semi-articulate rage. Also, I hope his mother gives him a good talking to, followed by a punch in the balls.

Have I mentioned that I think he needs to be punched in the balls? Yes, and to never get near a vagina ever again.

Gopherit October 1, 2009 at 2:41 pm

[re=424851]JSDC007[/re]: Isn’t he the opposite of a suppository? They’re supposed to make you less full of shit.

chaste everywhere October 1, 2009 at 2:43 pm

Cicada: So does my [male equivalent of a vag*na]! Wanna hook up and make big semi-articulate rage together?

Maxfretless October 1, 2009 at 2:45 pm

While I have Major General Smedley D. Butler here on a time machine trip to whale the snot out of John Perry I might be able to convince my guest to take a kabar to this limey cumstain.

Gopherit October 1, 2009 at 2:47 pm

[re=424867]Cicada[/re]: Hahaha cicada! They’re hitting on you here, too.

RoscoePColtraine October 1, 2009 at 2:49 pm

[re=424874]Gopherit[/re]: See, I interpreted it as his sole purpose for being is to die up someone’s ass.

AnnieGetYourFun October 1, 2009 at 2:56 pm

I think Republican women should get behind this movement, and stop voting. Also, perhaps just step away from public life altogether.

Except Bachmann. Never, never leave me, Michele.

Cicada October 1, 2009 at 2:56 pm

[re=424883]chaste everywhere[/re]: So you have a thing for women with angry vaginas who want to punch men in the balls? Interesting.
I’m afraid I can’t help you there, but there are any number of lovely ladies who specialize in what you’re interested in. For a fee, of course.

[re=424897]Gopherit[/re]: I think it’s all those naked boob pics I posted earlier. What was I thinking?

problemwithcaring October 1, 2009 at 2:57 pm

[re=424702]Egregious[/re]: Leave pot alone!!

[re=424712]Click[/re]: Equating the townhallers with hippie potheads is hyperbolic, but conflating townhallers protests with the Black Family Reunion was a hilarious analogy? My lady parts don’t know whether to be amused or confused by your passionate defense of weed.

Gopherit October 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm

[re=424919]Cicada[/re]: I think I saw the Angry Vaginas perform when i was in college. The days of mosh pits and disturbing amounts of alcohol.

Click October 1, 2009 at 3:07 pm

[re=424921]problemwithcaring[/re]: Wow. I’ve seen lady parts express cynicism and turpitude, but never amusement or confusion.
And to answer your question – yep.

glamourdammerung October 1, 2009 at 3:07 pm

[re=424858]ScubaDew[/re]: That was actually the same stance that Ludwig von Mises had as well, though blaming them for the Civil War because they all became abolitionists due to their husbands neglecting to keep them docile, barefoot, and pregnant was a nice extra touch.

Downtheroadapiece October 1, 2009 at 3:19 pm

[re=424702]Egregious[/re]: Be happy then because he’s the front runner thus far in next Cali Gubanatorial circus! Yay, dirty hippies!

whiskey tango foxtrot October 1, 2009 at 3:21 pm

Nope. Faker. Fakey fakey fakey fake. I call fake! This guy is obviously a plant for the radical left, and it’s only because he’s gay for Noam Chomsky that he doesn’t mind never having a woman touch him again that he’ll say this.

UnattendedConsequence October 1, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Frankly, I don’t like to see women suffering. If there’s some stupid law we can change that would bring an end to it, then I says we do it! Have a heart, y’all.

BlueStateLibtard October 1, 2009 at 4:20 pm

So far the Repubatards have managed to alientate Hispanics, blacks, gays, women, non-Christians…so just who exactly do they think that leaves left to vote for them?

Click October 1, 2009 at 4:30 pm

[re=425069]BlueStateLibtard[/re]: Vote???

CorkPopper October 1, 2009 at 4:41 pm

He looks like the kind of guy who pays good money to get bound and beaten by a dominatrix.

“Oh, I’ve been a BAAAD boy…”

One Yield Regular October 1, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Why am I suddenly re-envisioning “Faster Pussycat! Kill! Kill!” with Derbyshire’s neck cradled in Tura Satana’s angry bare hands?

assistant/atlas October 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

[re=424918]AnnieGetYourFun[/re]: They should hide from the Census, also.

Brendan M. October 1, 2009 at 10:20 pm

[re=425120]One Yield Regular[/re]: Because that is an awesomely appropriate and amusing thing to picture!

zhubajie October 2, 2009 at 3:09 am

Take voting away from the men.

zhubajie October 2, 2009 at 3:10 am

[re=424589]memzilla[/re]: Conservacrooks were not happy in the 1890s, either.

zhubajie October 2, 2009 at 3:22 am

Is this limy fool a US citizen? Who’s this “we” he’s talking about? Him and the turd in his pocket?

villageatrois October 2, 2009 at 3:48 am

If there had been no women’s suffrage, there would be no Nancy Pinatta, no SOS Hillarious Clinton, no Margaret Thatcher, no Angela Merkel. We would have been stuck with Betsy Ross, Clara Barton, Eleanor Roosevelt, Linda Ronstadt, Amelia Earhardt, Mother Theresa, Judy Garland, etc.

LowerdPeninsula October 2, 2009 at 4:28 am

[re=424801]AbstinenceOnly Ed[/re]: I can never quite get over conservative British pundits making their money in America (and sometimes back at home) writing about the country and believing it’s acceptable for them to use “we”, particularly the ones on visas who’ve been her for decades but never go forward with citizenship.

Mavky October 2, 2009 at 9:04 am

Derbyshire’s novel: This is a magical novel of a Chinese immigrant’s coming to terms with himself, his marriage, and America–and the unlikely moral force that guides his life. Chai is middle-aged, a disillusioned formed Red Guard who escaped China for Hong Kong and then America, where he works in New York as a banker. He and his wife, Ding, are the parents of an infant and enjoy a contented marriage; he develops a fond obsession with President Calvin Coolidge, the taciturn New Englander whose wry wit and wisdom delights Chai. One day, a chance discovery leads him astray: He learns that a lover from his youth is now in Boston, living with her husband and their son. The son is Chai’s very image, and the staid banker is inflamed by the implications of the resemblance. Confused by his emotions, he becomes determined to revive the affair. How Ding schemes to win back her wayward husband–and teach him the necessary truths about love–forms the plot and beguiling conclusion to John Derbyshire’s tale.

zhubajie October 2, 2009 at 11:16 am

[re=425396]Mavky[/re]: So does he know anything about China? Or is it total ignorant fantasy, like the Kai Lung books, but less charming?

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: