WAH WAH WAH  5:51 pm May 27, 2009

National Review: We Pronounce ‘Sotomayor’ However We WANT

by Jim Newell

Got a big crater in yr face, KrikorianThe National Review The Corner blog’s Mark Krikorian hears how the people on teevee are pronouncing Sotomayor — “Zo-toe-my-OR” — and he goddamn does not care for that at all, so he goddamn will not pronounce it that way, goddamnit, fuck you all, learn to speak English.

“But there ought to be limits,” he writes.

It Sticks in My Craw [Mark Krikorian]

Most e-mailers were with me on the post on the pronunciation of Judge Sotomayor’s name (and a couple griped about the whole Latina/Latino thing — English dropped gender in nouns, what, 1,000 years ago?). But a couple said we should just pronounce it the way the bearer of the name prefers, including one who pronounces her name “freed” even though it’s spelled “fried,” like fried rice. (I think Cathy Seipp of blessed memory did the reverse — “sipe” instead of “seep.”) Deferring to people’s own pronunciation of their names should obviously be our first inclination, but there ought to be limits. Putting the emphasis on the final syllable of Sotomayor is unnatural in English (which is why the president stopped doing it after the first time at his press conference), unlike my correspondent’s simple preference for a monophthong over a diphthong, and insisting on an unnatural pronunciation is something we shouldn’t be giving in to.

You and your THONGS. Pronouncing a proper noun in its natural Spanish way “is something we shouldn’t be giving in to.” How is this “giving in to” anything? It’s just saying a fucking word correctly. WAH WAH WAH. How does one pronounce “Krikorian” anyway? KRICK-WHORE-EE-NAZI… KRICK-DICK…KRIK-SHIT-WHORE-DONG… oh it’s too hard and unnatural, WAH, WAH, look at us crying now like babies, WAH WAH WAH, oh someone console us, pwease, WAH.

Let’s just call them both Hamburger SUV and get on with it.

It Sticks in My Craw [National Review/The Corner]

 

Hola wonkerados.

To improve site performance, we did a thing. It could be up to three minutes before your comment appears. DON'T KEEP RETRYING, OKAY?

Also, if you are a new commenter, your comment may never appear. This is probably because we hate you.

{ 143 comments }

chascates May 27, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Sort of like Katheryn LoPEZ!

chascates May 27, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Or as Texas State Rep. Rep. Betty Brown, R-Terrell recently observed:
“Rather than everyone here having to learn Chinese — I understand it’s a rather difficult language — do you think that it would behoove you and your citizens to adopt a name that we could deal with more readily here?”

Sonia BROWN.
/fixed

El Pinche May 27, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Mark Krikorian pronounced Giant Bag of Dog Boners

LittlePig May 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Good news for John Boner, er, um, Boehner!

bored with gravity May 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

I have always promounced “Krikorian” as “bag of dicks.”

Formerly Preferred May 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

I got an F in college German (really), but IIRC the pronunciation rule is that when i follows e it is generally pronounced “eye” and when e follows i it is generally pronounced “ee.” Thus, Cathy Seipp was being German when demanding that we pronounce the name Sipe rather than Seep, and we know what listening to Germans leads to. How this is different from pronouncing the name Soto-may-OR is beyond my feeble comprehension.

In conclusion, “Krikorian” is pronounced “douche.”

watershed May 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

How did Antonin Scalia ever get past this brilliant super genius?

The Lucky Republican May 27, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Yeah, can’t we just call her Ms. Tonto or something.

kaspian May 27, 2009 at 6:03 pm

I feel no empathy at all for somebody named “Krikorian.”

DustBowlBlues May 27, 2009 at 6:04 pm

[re=325861]LittlePig[/re]: Only minutes into the snark, I can already pronounce you the winner.

President Beeblebrox May 27, 2009 at 6:05 pm

OK, then. How about if we just call him Dr. Jack Kerkorian and be done with it? One Armenian name is just like any other Armenian name, after all.

V572625694 May 27, 2009 at 6:05 pm

[re=325863]Formerly Preferred[/re]: Well, as a C student in German, I can nitpick by saying Cathy’s last name would correctly be pronounced ‘Zipe,’ with a buzzy-zee sound. Whereas “Krikorian” is pronounced “doosh-bag” in any lingo.

DustBowlBlues May 27, 2009 at 6:06 pm

[re=325868]kaspian[/re]: Krikorian? Hey–isn’t he the suicide doctor? I’m sign up, but I don’t want a shithead like this killing me.

President Beeblebrox May 27, 2009 at 6:07 pm

[re=325873]President Beeblebrox[/re]: Er, that’s Dr. Jack Kevorkian, dumbass. But see? One name is just like any other.

Country Club Jihadi May 27, 2009 at 6:08 pm

He definitely emphasizes the ASS in Assimilate.

BillyClubb May 27, 2009 at 6:08 pm

…unlike my correspondent’s simple preference for a monophthong over a diphthong.

Personally, I like the fit and feel of Borat’s lime green man thong, or over the shoulder ball sack, however you want to call it.

SayItWithWookies May 27, 2009 at 6:08 pm

English dropped genders in nouns a thousand years ago? I wonder if our editrix has an opinion on that. Maybe I should go outside and stop a negress or poetess to see if they can come up with a gender-specific noun in English. Or maybe Dubya’s former spokeswoman, Dana Perino could inform me, as she’s quite the she-devil when it comes to these partisan matters. And maybe if we got a ruling we could proudly post it here — on Wonkette.

The Cold Sea May 27, 2009 at 6:10 pm

I dunno, but dude shouldn’t be talking about thongs. That’s over the line.

Vewol Mevemont May 27, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Anti-intellectual and ugly — this man is not good for the gene pool. Abort at once!

charlesdegoal May 27, 2009 at 6:12 pm

What’s wrong with emphasizing the last syllable? I do it all the time. Also, what rights do Armenians have to speak on this issue?

DagNabbit May 27, 2009 at 6:12 pm

A huge fucking head and beady fucking eyes.
What the fuck’s wrong with your face?

Your glasses are queer, as is your hair.
I’ll kick your balls into space.

FUCK YOU MARK, FUCK YOU MARK!

I fucked your mom in her mouth.

proudgrampa May 27, 2009 at 6:13 pm

You made this up, right?

Jebus. We’ve got some real nutbags on this planet.

Let’s just pronounce any word however we feel we want to pronounce it.
Hmmm, Krikorian = Asswipe.

BillyClubb May 27, 2009 at 6:15 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: Sardonic, almost undetectable snarkery there.

DagNabbit May 27, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Douche+Cock+Gobbler+Closet+Fag+Hair= This Guy

NoWireHangers May 27, 2009 at 6:18 pm

In California you hear the Gringo way of pronouncing Spanish words all the time and it usually sounds less romantic and more gross. Example: San Pedro san pay-dro becomes san pee-dro. Los Feliz los fay-leez becomes las feel-uhs, which doesn’t make me very happy at all. It’s all very sad and tragic.

President Beeblebrox May 27, 2009 at 6:20 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: Yeah, funny, I guess all those wills I’ve drafted with words like “testatrix” and “administratrix” are invalid now.

And don’t get me started on “dominiatrix”.

rmontcal May 27, 2009 at 6:21 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: Well done! I was going to suggest blonde (f) and blond (m).

Chickensmack May 27, 2009 at 6:21 pm

One syllable last names for unschooled GOP bitches.

Frist
Bush
Dole
Taft
Rove

so talking won’t hurt their heads.

x111e7thst May 27, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Hey Krikorian (if that’s really your name) How bout we meet up and I cram monophthongs down your craw while you call me daddy? You retarded sack of shit.

NoWireHangers May 27, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Clearly the children of today’s immigrants of should be shamed into assimilating just like the immigrants of yesteryear were! Don’t be proud of who you are! Reinvent yourself in order to fit in! It’s the American way and NEVER results in destructive side affects like self loathing and hatred of those who refuse to cede themselves to the status quo. It seems to have worked out pretty well for Mr. Krikorian.

V572625694 May 27, 2009 at 6:24 pm

[re=325875]DustBowlBlues[/re]: Hey your guy Tom Coburn is having a hell of a month, ain’t he, what with guns in the national parks and the guaranteed-in-the-Constitution right to drive a Chevy Suburban? He wants the death penalty for abortionists, natch, and he’s on the Judiciary Committee — even better! Bring out the crazy!

I’m not affecting a superior attitude here, as I live in Collie-forn-ya.

shortsshortsshorts May 27, 2009 at 6:26 pm

HAMBURGER IS MY FAVORITE SOCCER TEAM.

And they rock on FIFA, also. And also.

ZorinZorin May 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm

KRIKIE!!!!

charlesdegoal May 27, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Also, is it “Crick O’Ryan” or “Crack orion” or perhaps “Creek-o-ree’n” and and does Mark have a preference?

magic titty May 27, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Just call her ‘J-Lo’ and move on, wingnuts.

chascates May 27, 2009 at 6:33 pm

He better check Rick Warren’s pronunciation of Malia and Sasha as well. In fact maybe Lady Noonington should issue a ruling on this.

DustBowlBlues May 27, 2009 at 6:34 pm

[re=325900]V572625694[/re]: ” He wants the death penalty for abortionists,”

Old news. That was broadcast far and wide when he ran against my guy, Brad Carson. It only picked up votes in Okrahoma. Last I checked, we were Number one, or nearly, on teen pregnancy. So it makes perfect sense.

Wugou May 27, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Krikorian is pronounced “gay fish”

mollymcgwire May 27, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Having just moved to a part of the US where whites are only 1.8% of the population, I am constantly surprised at the manner in which my extremely common name is both spelled and pronounced. Yet noone here has suggested that I change my name to say, “Eloy.” Everyone I have spoken to feels that it would be extremely rude not to at least try to pronounce it correctly. People here may have an easier time with a name like Krikorian, which they would pronounce “bag-OF-dicks” (accent on the middle syllable).

Naked Bunny with a Whip May 27, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Tomorrow, Krikorian will bitch about how “those kids to-day” use the mongrel letter “U” instead of the more natural “V”.

El Pinche May 27, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Sotomayor (oh, I’m putting in the Ricardo Montalban zing into it when I say it) so far is a racist, too mexican, too stupid, and too liberal. I’ll bet the conservatard’s next poop throw will be her citizenship and birth certificate.

CaiteeCruelle May 27, 2009 at 6:40 pm

You people just don’t get it. Pronouncing someone’s name the way THEY think it should be pronounced is an impingement upon Mark’s freedom of speech and is therefore un-American. Taking 15 seconds to be considerate of someone else is an imposition UPON HIS RIGHTS, especially if that someone is an unwhite migrant worker mexican that has the indecency to be smarter and better eddicated than true murricans, who know everything anyway and who are you to correct them, bitches?

So, hey, go back to your gay kindergarten abortions. Mark and his true American followers will proudly defend the English language against this Maria person.

Fox n Fiends May 27, 2009 at 6:40 pm

Krikorian’s craw smells like urinal cakes

V572625694 May 27, 2009 at 6:40 pm

[re=325910]DustBowlBlues[/re]: Yeah, I know, saw Coburn say it out loud on the teevee some years back, but had to throw it in here to tie it to the topic, sort of. But he be mighty crazee. Remember Fred Harris? He was a good guy, ran for preznidunt years ago.

problemwithcaring May 27, 2009 at 6:42 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: You’re such a comedian. As opposed to comedienne.

Godot May 27, 2009 at 6:45 pm

“But a couple said we should just pronounce it the way the bearer of the name prefers, including one who pronounces her name “freed” even though it’s spelled “fried,” like fried rice. (I think Cathy Seipp of blessed memory did the reverse — “sipe” instead of “seep.”)”

Does this man not realize that these names are spelled differently?
Fried?
Seipp?
THEY ARE PRONOUNCED DIFFERENTLY WHAT A SHOCK

problemwithcaring May 27, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Wow. Homeboy has one muy cabeza gigante.

azw88 May 27, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Shit, Sotomayor is NOTHING compared to Hopi names like Taleyumptewa, or other Indians.

NOT it matters, since they, like the mssicans and porto rikans aren’t REAL Amurkins

Giant Robot May 27, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Yeah whatever, take it up with Colbert.

drrty martini May 27, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Waitaminit! Did he steal this piece from Richard Cohen? How does he pronounce Ocotmom’s last name, ‘cos that one always stumps me!

TGY May 27, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Still pronounced ‘BONE-er’.

FlipOffResearch May 27, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Fucking hilarious!

Guppy06 May 27, 2009 at 6:56 pm

“English dropped gender in nouns, what, 1,000 years ago?”

The Navy still refers to ships as “she,” don’t they?

Why does the National Review hate our troops?!

1ofUS May 27, 2009 at 6:59 pm

I think Krikorian is Armenian (rhymes with Karmen Ghian) And Krikor is arm-in-KNEE-yan for Gregor, as in Gregor can’t pronounce zo-toe-my-ORE. It comes out all creaky.

user-of-owls May 27, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Where are the Turks when we need them?

Crab1 May 27, 2009 at 7:09 pm

This whole frou-fraw can be easily solved with a retroactive abortion.

Crab1 May 27, 2009 at 7:10 pm

I hope his maid replaces his spring water with her urine.

marybethsnyder May 27, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Her name is pronounced “Mah-ee-ah”. Courtesy of Mark Huckabee.

Colette May 27, 2009 at 7:22 pm

This dick head obviously doesn’t realize that there is still one gendered word in English.

Blond/blonde.

If he’s going to go all linguistically anal, he needs to get his shit right.

bago May 27, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Well, at least we can all agree that the house minority gets their ‘leadership’ from a 6 foot orange Boehner.

El Pinche May 27, 2009 at 7:25 pm

I guess we’ll be staring at this partial abortion until tomorrow.

Dave J. May 27, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Don’t even get him started on the whole vosotros vs. nosotros thing.

gjdodger May 27, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Call her whatever you want, Krikorhea or Kricketwhore or whatever. I call people infinitely more powerful than me funny names, too.

kaspian May 27, 2009 at 7:42 pm

[re=325916]CaiteeCruelle[/re]: Right on. By once again cravenly displaying basic human courtesy, “President” Obama proves what a weak and unprincipled leader he is. Next thing you know, Sotomayer will give him a book — in Spanish! — and our way of life will be a thing of the past.

I guess sacrificing a few medium-sized American cities is a price the Libtards are willing to pay for a politically correct SCOTUS.

MzNicky May 27, 2009 at 7:46 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: Okay. You rule.

MzNicky May 27, 2009 at 7:50 pm

FYI, the smarty-pantses over at Sadly, No! pronounce this guy’s name “Crack-whorian.”

Beau Radley May 27, 2009 at 7:52 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: May God bless the SS Wookie and all who sail on her

MzNicky May 27, 2009 at 7:53 pm

[re=325915]El Pinche[/re]: The retards at my hometown “newspaper” ‘s web site have already raised that issue. Something to the effect of “Them Hispanics coming over our borders who knows where this gal’s from? Probably a illegal like all the rest NObama wants to kill us all.”

Mad Brahms May 27, 2009 at 7:58 pm

[re=325863]Formerly Preferred[/re]:

Yes, your F has served you well. Both sounds – the [i:d] in “Fried” and [aIp] in “Seipp” are the way those particular diphthongs are pronounced in proper German. They are, much like “Krikorian”, not proper big-E English names. They are names for gay terrorists.

The bigger point, however, is this whole “sounds natural in english” bullcrap, as if we never borrow foreign words or pronunciations. By Krikorian’s argument, should we be ordering ourselves “tortiLLas” at taco bell? Not to mention all of the words we stole from (or were surrendered to us by, har har) the French.

IceCreamEmpress May 27, 2009 at 8:05 pm

CRY some more, Mark CRY-Korean.

Carson May 27, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Has anyone asked Brett Favre about this?

Hopey dont play that game May 27, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Dave’s not here man…

19kevin8 May 27, 2009 at 8:21 pm

When I read the name “Mark Krikorian” what I really see is Dillydallydumbshit Shutthefuckupalready. Does he have a twitter? I’ll sign up for that infernal crap just to send him that.

Bill_TX May 27, 2009 at 8:21 pm

…and this has been Mark Krikorian, with another installment of
“You Know What Really Grinds My Gears?”

hpwilliams May 27, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Ok lets say racism is not a part of the name calling.

Then this dick wad, Krikorian is being like little children at the playground and taunting the kid with the funny name
everybody thought you were an ass when we were 8 years old.
That would mean the maturity level of a 8 yr old bully that was also stupid, but hadn’t noticed the stupid part yet.

its not racism its sexism, and he is just trying to be a bully

BadKitty May 27, 2009 at 8:24 pm

No no no. It’s spelled “Raymond Luxury-Yacht” but it’s pronounced “Throat Warbler Mangrove”

thejesusandmarycheney May 27, 2009 at 8:28 pm

What a Faggotian.

Scandalabra May 27, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Sotomayor. That is soooo difficult to pronounce. I also had difficulty with Gonzalez. Fuck! Two fuckin’ Z’s!!!

Scandalabra May 27, 2009 at 8:43 pm

If Obama had appointed Judge Judy, the Repubs would have still had a cow. How do you justify appointing a woman with two J’s in her name HUNGH????

Mad Farmer Manifest May 27, 2009 at 8:43 pm

It’s pronounced “DOUCHE-bag”, not “douche-BAG”. We have to draw the line somewhere. It’s unnatural in English to put the emphasis on the last syllable. It’s also unnatural for a liver fluke to muster up the ability to write a column, but there you have it.

american mutt May 27, 2009 at 8:51 pm

i throw everyone off when i say my name. you stress the second ‘e’ in the middle of a three syllable name. the only problem is i dont fucknig care how people say it so stop asking me how to pronounce it when you probably can’t anyway.

thanks :P

Servo May 27, 2009 at 9:02 pm

Krikorian = Mr. Potato Head

[re=325886]DagNabbit[/re]:
My gut hurts from laughing so fuckin’ hard!

Youstonedorjuststupid? May 27, 2009 at 9:11 pm

I wonder how he feels about fishsticks.

x111e7thst May 27, 2009 at 9:12 pm

[re=325995]Mad Farmer Manifest[/re]: There are any number of liver flukes, not to mention round worms, hookworms and pin worms writing columns. Some for the Washington Post, others for the WSJ.

Rev. Juan MessyCan May 27, 2009 at 9:14 pm

Wait, there are things that sound natural in English? Other than “Fucking ignorant dickwad,” I mean… ‘cuz that just flows beautifully.

Bowdoin May 27, 2009 at 9:20 pm

In Texas we always leaned on the first syllable. GEE-tar. IN-shernce. IN-eluctable. It was because we were always expecting to be IN-trupted, ‘cuz we always wuz.

Bowdoin May 27, 2009 at 9:27 pm

[re=325985]Hopey dont play that game[/re]: I heard a once-in-a-lifetime cultural merging one day in recent years. Two roommates, Dave and Richard, and Dave was showing us his midget racers out in the garage, and he took us around to the back door, which was locked. So he knocked.

And he sang out, “Open the doorrrrr, Richard.”

And from inside came back “Dave’s not here.”

Both cultural icons, one from the forties, the other about twenty years later, and delivered ten years after.

That’s all.

ServiceJervixJuice May 27, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Hay! His haid is shaped like a big ol’ bean…

DoctorCulturae May 27, 2009 at 9:49 pm

I don’t care what this mouthbreather calls her as long as he eventually calls her Justice Sotomayor.

Go Figure May 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

I am in total agreement with this guy–

” there ought to be limits”

to having to listen to jerk wads like HIM spew his white boy linguistic rants. So much for diversity, dude.

SoTOmyYOUR!

Take that ya gringo! Maybe just to spite this douche we should all roll the R– as in SoTOmyYOURrrrr

*This conversation reminds me of a Mike Meyers skit where he says

I put the em-FASIS on the wrong SIL-LA bull (emphasis on the wrong syllable. )

Maybe you had to be there…..???

Porter the Musical Dog May 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Crack Whore I Am, clearly.

Lazy Media May 27, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Fuck that bohunk. What kind of real American’s name ends in “ian?” If he really wanted to assimilate, he’d have shortened it to Creed. Just shows that the Turks had a point in 1915.

wordsmoker May 27, 2009 at 10:21 pm

I refuse to take pronunciation tips from a man whose surname sounds like dolphin chatter.

Hunger Tallest Palin May 27, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Why can’t we call her Maria after my cleaning lady? That would be much easier for ME.

iolanthe May 27, 2009 at 10:46 pm

I just wrote him a lovely note, explaining that *I’m* now calling him “Cracker Ryan”, ’cause it falls more trippingly off the tongue AFAIC, and fuck what *HE* wants, the damn furriner!

These people are such pieces of shit.

I’m trying to get past my hate for them, because it’s making me look and feel old and sour. But they *JUST KEEP COMING UP WITH THIS STUPID SHIT*, over and over and over and over again.

Weep.

Scarab May 27, 2009 at 11:03 pm

When you have a concave face you can say these things,

kbanginmotown May 27, 2009 at 11:04 pm

Touché, Krikorian! Do not delay to inform your readership platoon of this dispute as it will prevent the cartel to pronounce words in which the stress is beyond the first report.
.
Douch-BAG.

glamourdammerung May 27, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Krikorian.

What the fuck type of name is that?

There ought to be limits and this illegal should have had the good decency to change their last name to something more palatable to decent white folk. “Prick” would be a good choice.

Numbat Dundee May 27, 2009 at 11:06 pm

I’m not sure how “Krickorian” is pronounced, but I believe that in its original language it means “Ian the Crack Whore”.
In any case he’s clearly a fascist – with a desire to recreate the Third Reach (as he would pronounce it).

glamourdammerung May 27, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Also, this prick needs to get a decent white person head while he is at it. Real Americans do not have heads that are shaped like obese half-moons.

1ofUS May 27, 2009 at 11:07 pm

[re=326019]Lazy Media[/re]: Wow, who’s the big fucking asshole now, shit for face?

sezme May 27, 2009 at 11:09 pm

[re=325853]chascates[/re]: Yes, well… Mister Dolphin Chatter can learn Spanish syllable emphasis rules very quickly (unless he’s concerned about getting infected by teh smart).

1) Spanish words ending in a vowel (Pendejo), the letter ‘n’ (Que te jodan), or the letter ‘s’ (No mames) have the stress on the next-to-last syllable.
2) Spanish words with an accent (like López or Pinche cabrón) get the stress on wherever the hell the accent is.
3) Every other Spanish word or name has the stress on the final syllable. Like Sotomayor.

Fred Wertham Jr. May 27, 2009 at 11:13 pm

Dude looks like David Brooks with an even more mushed-in head.

Lionel Hutz Esq. May 27, 2009 at 11:22 pm

I much prefer Mr. Crickoaree-Anne’s earlier column “Why do I have to call him ‘Mr. Goldberg’ when we are all thinking ‘Slimy Jew.’”

obfuscator May 27, 2009 at 11:30 pm

This is my lover, Barbara HernanDEZ…

Mike Steele May 27, 2009 at 11:43 pm

I have to agree with Mr. Crack Whorian on this one. Sotomayor is beyond my limits. One armed midgets have complained to me. Also.

dijetlo May 27, 2009 at 11:45 pm

They are one dead empty over there…

SayItWithWookies May 27, 2009 at 11:55 pm

[re=326043]Fred Wertham Jr.[/re]: Yeah, his portrait just screams “lousy head,” doesn’t it?
[re=326056]Mike Steele[/re]: Beautiful.

Holy Cow!! May 28, 2009 at 12:05 am

Krikorian reminds me of that lady in my neighborhood who said she didn’t care to see “those people” in her neighborhood unless they were carrying a leaf blower.

gurukalehuru May 28, 2009 at 12:58 am

[re=325886]DagNabbit[/re]: Now, THAT is some quality writing.

gurukalehuru May 28, 2009 at 1:18 am

You know whose great-great-great grandparents were named Krikorian but they shortened it when they immigrated to America? Captain James T. Fucking Kirk of the Starship Enterprise, that’s who.
(I just made that up)

El Pinche May 28, 2009 at 1:36 am

[re=325973]MzNicky[/re]: jeeesus fucking christ. wingnuttery has to be some sort of brain defect.

Lascauxcaveman May 28, 2009 at 1:51 am

Soooo … that guy we were talking about not running for NYC mayor this morning, does he really pronounce his last name “Weener”?

‘Cause I thought y’all’s just joking about that, now I’m not so sure.

hobospacejunkie May 28, 2009 at 3:25 am

Perhaps I am mistaken but I didn’t think there was a Z sound in Spanish. As in Jose being ho-SAY. Of course with the many, many dialects I’m sure some of them may say ho-ZAY but goddammit I didn’t take 4 years of Spanish without being able to speak it for nothing.

hobospacejunkie May 28, 2009 at 3:29 am

Are you secretly a supporter of HSV, Newell? Care to share your opinion of Jol’s move to Ajax? A step down, I must say. I’m disappointed in the man. He’ll be out of a job in 18 months and what then? What then?

Aurelio May 28, 2009 at 3:58 am

Putting the emphasis on the final syllable of Sotomayor is unnatural in English Translation: “We may have to have that beaner on the Supreme Court, but we don’t have to call her by her beaner name.”

starGirl May 28, 2009 at 4:48 am

Keep the hate train coming Repubs. Obama just simultaneously managed to shut down the discussion on torture while reminding Americans how racist repubs could be.

kizmets_adjutant May 28, 2009 at 5:31 am

Crackwhorian.

as the world burns May 28, 2009 at 7:13 am

[re=325886]DagNabbit[/re]: BEST.COMMENT.EVER !!!
fucking brilliant !

loquaciousmusic May 28, 2009 at 7:36 am

When two vowels go walking, the first does the walking, the second does the talking.

When two National Review writers go walking, the first does the walking, the second does the “spewing shit out of his mouth.”

Come to think of it, they both do that.

Scandinavian Fetus May 28, 2009 at 7:57 am

Why is his head shaped like a butternut squash?

gjdodger May 28, 2009 at 8:35 am

Incidentally, the name of the magazine is pronounced, “Nattering Retards”.

guerilla-nation May 28, 2009 at 9:25 am

Is anyone else reminded of the old In Living Color skit where newscasters pronounced every name with its proper ethnic pronunciation, including those of Irish, German, Spanish, Jewish and WASP origin?

I guess he would have us all talk like this guy:

[img src="http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_L4qZY4G7EVI/RwKFeuKTvKI/AAAAAAAAAEU/]

Pirate King of the Jews May 28, 2009 at 9:32 am

Make it easy on yourself Mark, just call her “your honor”

binarian May 28, 2009 at 9:41 am

Obviously coming late to this, but….Marky boy, you wouldn’t do this in business, why do it here? If Ms. Sotomayor was someone you were trying to sell something to, you’d DAMN sure get the pronunciation correct.

Mr Blifil May 28, 2009 at 10:01 am

Whatever this dude has stuck in his craw, he needs to breathe through it and make more room.

Vartan84 May 28, 2009 at 10:22 am

[re=325945]user-of-owls[/re]: Low blow.

noodleman May 28, 2009 at 10:55 am

Examples of other “American” mispronunciations:

Karaoke = “Carry oh key” instead of the correct “ka ra oh keh”

Nikon = “Ny kahn” instead of the correct “nee kohn”

Hyundai = “Hun day” instead of the correct “hyoon dye”

Every time I hear an American incorrectly pronounce one of these words, I was to slap them upside the head and tell them to stop being so goddamn ignorant — and arrogant.

102415 May 28, 2009 at 11:34 am

So I’m looking at Mark’s picture up there and I’m wondering where the fuck he put the rest of his Armenian nose? Either that or he is way way bred down with pig genes.

102415 May 28, 2009 at 11:44 am

[re=326193]Vartan84[/re]: [re=326039]1ofUS[/re]: Wow, there are three of us!Owls should know better but Lazy Media is naturally a dick and narrow minded.

Lascauxcaveman May 28, 2009 at 11:49 am

[re=326227]noodleman[/re]: And when an American calls his German sports car a “Porsh-uh” he’s being a pretentious asshole; but when he says “Porsh” he’s just plain pronouncing it wrong.

SocialistMuslin May 28, 2009 at 12:30 pm

[re=326227]noodleman[/re]: And don’t even get me started on Pokey-mon.

We should just make this simple and call her what the Conservatards REALLY want to call her: Sonia Wetback. Oh if only this “Sonar” person had a all-american easy-to-pronounce name, like our California governor.

HuddledMass May 28, 2009 at 12:49 pm

[re=326026]iolanthe[/re]: There, there. We all know just how you feel…

Mike Steele May 28, 2009 at 12:59 pm

That dude was a forecepts delivery, for sure.

JadedDIssonance May 28, 2009 at 1:14 pm

[re=325880]SayItWithWookies[/re]: fracking genius.

maven May 28, 2009 at 1:33 pm

Actually, Armenians would pronounce this Krikorian’s name the same way, with an emphasis on the last syllable. So if he wanders into Armenian neighborhoods and carries on about this, they would kick his sorry butt all the way back to Yerevan.

1ofUS May 28, 2009 at 2:17 pm

[re=326261]102415[/re]: So, you’re one of us? No – wait, that’s me. Btw, I’ve got pig genes up the ying yang and the shnozzle comes through loud and clear. Kreeky’s had some surgery, I’d guess.

……………/´¯/)
………….,/¯ /
…………./ /
……../´¯/’ ‘/´¯¯`·¸
…../’/ / / /¨¯\
…(‘( ´ ´ ¯~/’ ‘)
….\ ‘ /
…..” \ _.·´
…….\ (
………\ \…

1ofUS May 28, 2009 at 2:18 pm

so much for the ass key fart.

skantea May 28, 2009 at 6:03 pm

It’s basic etiquette, you sniveling crackhead.

No wonder these guys don’t get “diplomacy”.

sezme May 28, 2009 at 6:17 pm

[re=326227]noodleman[/re]: Actually, the third one should be more like ‘HYUN-day’ according to Wikipedia. My Korean is limited, but I know the last syllable sounds more like ‘day’ than ‘die’.

Mangodash May 28, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Did anyone else read this munchtard’s entire post? He goes on to conclude:

…And there are basically two options — the newcomer adapts to us, or we adapt to him. And multiculturalism means there’s a lot more of the latter going on than there should be.

What, is there like a scales-of-justice somewhere measuring assimilation?

TedTheLightBulbSalesman May 28, 2009 at 8:35 pm

[re=326112]hobospacejunkie[/re]: Whoa, someone else who knows that Ajax isn’t just the name of a cleaning product, Greek hero or programming language. Olé!

hobospacejunkie May 29, 2009 at 12:17 am

[re=326904]TedTheLightBulbSalesman[/re]: Too bad Ajax’s greatest glory is in the past, just like the Greek guy and the cleaning product. Not sure about the programming language!

My top three, in order of importance:

1FC Kaiserslautern
AS Roma
Liverpool FC

But I have a soft spot for HSV, having spent so much time there and with native Hamburgers.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: