EXODUS  12:51 pm November 17, 2008

David Frum Leaves ‘National Review’

by Sara K. Smith

Axis of duckfacesHave you ever been at a party and had a swell time drinking fancy drinks with nifty folks and suddenly you look up, it’s 3:30 in the morning, all the cool kids have gone home, and you’re stuck on a pee-stained couch drinking vodka and milk cocktails with a pimpled, silent loser pawing your knee? That is the story of the National Review, where David Frum says he’ll no longer be writing. (In this somewhat tortured metaphor, Frum is actually one of the “cool kids,” the party is over, and you have to give Kathryn Jean Lopez a ride home and hope she doesn’t vomit in your car.)

David Frum is the father of the “axis of evil,” a reliable conservative, known twit, generator of mealy-mouthed commentaries for NPR’s Marketplace and NR blogger. (According to Wonkette Editor Ken Layne, “He also looks exactly like the Beatles manager who committed suicide because he was a lonesome queer.”)

None of the wingnuts at The Corner ever had a problem with David Frum until, along with such Communists as Peggy Noonan and Christopher Buckley and David Brooks and Kathleen Parker, he started pointing out that the Republican party has become the party of mouth-breathing illiterate cretins. For this he has been BANISHED.

Now David Frum, a prominent conservative writer who enmeshed himself in a minor dustup during the campaign by turning negative on Governor Palin, is leaving, too. In an interview, he said he planned to leave the magazine, where he writes a popular blog, to strike out on his own on the Web.

“The answers to the Republican dilemma are not obvious and we need a vibrant discussion,” he said. “I think a little more distance can help everybody do a better job of keeping their temper.”

So, to recap: NR has now lost Buckley and Frum. The only scribes who remain are K-Lo, Starburst, and their fat Mexican secretary, Jonah Goldberg. Together this threesome will save American conservatism.

At National Review, a Threat to Its Reputation for Erudition [New York Times]

 

Hola wonkerados.

To improve site performance, we did a thing. It could be up to three minutes before your comment appears. DON'T KEEP RETRYING, OKAY?

Also, if you are a new commenter, your comment may never appear. This is probably because we hate you.

{ 71 comments }

DAmicosonegoodyear November 17, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Those three whould have a hard time baking a cake, much less “saving conservatism”.

Doglessliberal November 17, 2008 at 12:57 pm

[re=178352]DAmicosonegoodyear[/re]: Boy, I sure hope you mean actually baking a cake because the images in my mind when I fear that “baking a cake” is a euphemism for some horrific sexual escapade involving those three are too much to take.

queeraselvis v 2.0 November 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

First they need to start learning to breathe from their nostrils and not out of their ass. Jonah Goldberg in particular.

magic titty November 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

His hair is creepy.

TGY November 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Pretty soon, NR articles will look like: LULZ @ LIBRULS WHAT TEH FCUK?

FMA November 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

I can’t think of a more perfect troika to speak to and for “mouth-breathing illiterate cretins.”

Anonymous Office Zombie November 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Bwahahahhaha! Your alt text is superb.

bago November 17, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Mr. Lowry said the magazine had never been a partisan cheerleader, and the role of the magazine during an Obama presidency would be to provide “intelligent, disciplined opposition.”

What brain cell wouldn’t want to leave after that?

EnBuenOra November 17, 2008 at 1:00 pm

Yeah. Like the fact that he left the rump of National Review is supposed to make us admire sneering idiot liar David Frum one tiny bit more. F*** him. Welcome to the wilderness, b****es.

Tra November 17, 2008 at 1:01 pm

Now, thanks to the coarsening effect of the Internet on political discourse, the magazine may have lost something else: its reputation as the cradle for conservative intellectuals and home for erudite and well-mannered debate prized by its founder, the late William F. Buckley Jr.

And I thought it was because they hire cretins. Thanks, New York Times, for the enlightening commentary!

shanemcgowan November 17, 2008 at 1:01 pm

I wondered what was ricocheting around my living room.

ManchuCandidate November 17, 2008 at 1:02 pm

There is so much wrong with: “David Frum, a prominent conservative writer”

A more honest line would be:

“David Frum, a RW driveling dweeb from Canada City who was awful wrong about an awful lot there and moved to US America to join the most inept admin in US America history as a speechwriter and who was turfed out because his stupid wife couldn’t shut about him writing the trite line, ‘Axis of Evil’ and thus became a ‘writer’ of such brilliance such as “The End of Ebil” with Darth Perle, a blogger and coworker of such RW righters like Jonah ‘the whale’, K-Lo and McMasterbater Starburts.”

Makes more sense now.

hedgehog November 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man has the biggest penis.

Sara – vodka and milk?

worst state ever November 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

and lowry will get his wish, to remove all that high mindedness in debate and just grab people by the throat.

Monkey November 17, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Looks like an albino Klingon.

One Yield Regular November 17, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Maybe it’s early stage dementia – or just that I can never seem to get more than two sentences into either of their columns – but I just can NOT keep Kathryn Jean Lopez and The Onion’s Jean Teasdale separate.

TGY November 17, 2008 at 1:06 pm

[re=178367]hedgehog[/re]: “Sara – vodka and milk?”

God knows.

Gorillionaire November 17, 2008 at 1:07 pm

Aw, he’s just pissed/embarrassed cuz Maddow bitch slapped him so hard on national TV.

monty November 17, 2008 at 1:07 pm

fix the republican party? these three twatwaffles couldnt fix a sndwich

NewSpence November 17, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Wait, isn’t John Derbyshire still wandering the halls, making racist remarks while masturbating to Hentai porn?

HuskyMescan November 17, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Palin destroyed NR. Hahaha.

Bypartizoa November 17, 2008 at 1:09 pm

In a bit to recover the base, they’re going to replace him with Larry The Cable Guy.

psychedelicSludge November 17, 2008 at 1:10 pm

“David Frum”. Right – we all know that’s actually Scott Thompson playing a character.
In conservative drag, as it were.

Thompson: http://www.dybbuk.com/mgp/people/scott%20thompson.jpg
“Frum”: http://www.jonesreport.com/image/04_08/DavidFrum.png

freakishlystrong November 17, 2008 at 1:12 pm

[re=178355]Doglessliberal[/re]: “Those three whould have a hard time tossing a salad, much less “saving conservatism”.

You mean like that?

lawrenceofthedesert November 17, 2008 at 1:13 pm

Jonah Goldberg is as bad as all-time hack George Will — no reporting done, ever. Just brown lipstick and GOP flatulence. Can be relied on to “prove” that down is up when Corporate America’s Party gets caught in the act. It amazes that an otherwise mediocre paper like the LA Times would waste space on his stuff. At least Novak and the rest interviewed each other once in a while.

Doglessliberal November 17, 2008 at 1:15 pm

[re=178398]freakishlystrong[/re]: oh, you are mean.

Vewol Mevemont November 17, 2008 at 1:15 pm

Is that a toupee? What the hell is going on with the hair?

Fivetree November 17, 2008 at 1:17 pm

[re=178379]monty[/re]: Twatwaffles for TruckNutz!

Doglessliberal November 17, 2008 at 1:18 pm

[re=178408]Vewol Mevemont[/re]: it does look sprayed on, doesn’t it?

Serolf Divad November 17, 2008 at 1:20 pm

Jonah Goldberg pretty much sums up everything that is putrid and rotting about the conservative movement in America. I’m glad he and the National Review are now pretty much indistinguishable. They can both now be flushed down the toilet bowl of irrelevancy.

freakishlystrong November 17, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Y’know, never in all this Republican hand wringing does it occur to them that this is all of their own making? The last 8 years were not a horrible dream and it was, indeed, televised. The Party of Personal Responsibility my ass.

sanantonerose November 17, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Sara, you just described in perfect detail my Saturday night. Same party?

King of Pants November 17, 2008 at 1:23 pm

This might offer a more cogent explanation.

Fivetree November 17, 2008 at 1:26 pm

[re=178379]monty[/re]: Except, perhaps, a Shit Sandwich.

cal November 17, 2008 at 1:26 pm

The National Review had a “reputation for erudition”?

Sounds mighty elitist to me….

FreshCliches November 17, 2008 at 1:30 pm

My personal wet dream is that Frum becomes the featured correspondent on secureourdream.com, and every piece he writes is displayed as one line of scrolling marquee text.

Atheist Nun November 17, 2008 at 1:32 pm

I always thought his last name sounded like one of those sexual euphemisms dug up by John Waters:

“I got Frummed in the back room of the frat house during the last kegger…”

sezme November 17, 2008 at 1:34 pm

I’m sorry. I just can’t get past the idea of Frum as “the cool kid”. New metaphor please?

bitchincamaro November 17, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Sara, you should torture your metaphors more often. I’m laughing too much to get to the jump.

Carrie_Okie November 17, 2008 at 1:40 pm

I’m coining a new phrase:
GOONBOGGLE

goon·bog·gle
Pronunciation:
\gün-bä-gəl-\
Function:
noun
Etymology: coined by Carrie_Okie †2008 American spiteful patriot of words, wielder of trucknutz and whore diamonds.

1 : a braided cord worn by Twatwaffles and Douchecanoes as a neckerchief slide, hatband, or anal bead cord.
2 : a wasteful or impractical written or spoken activity often involving homorerotic wingnuttery

Fear of a Black Reagan November 17, 2008 at 1:47 pm

I liked David Frum better when he was on ‘Kids in the Hall’ – omfg he was so ghey!!!

bluetom00 November 17, 2008 at 1:50 pm

Haha. Jonah Goldberg enjoys his treats.

Mickey7 November 17, 2008 at 1:58 pm

At least when ‘conservatives’ do something, they go all the way. Never have I seen such a headlong (and successful) rush to irrelevancy since the New York Times decided to stake its reputation on the honor of Judith Miller. It is a blessing that Buckley predeceased his once venerable rag. Kathryn Jean Lopez and Jonah Goldberg? Aye-yi-yi!

S.Luggo November 17, 2008 at 2:00 pm

There will be one mighty sore cabinboy after the fundraising cruise which Lowry mentioned.

More: http://www.benningtonbanner.com/opinion/ci_11003631

RobPetrified November 17, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Well, good luck to Mr. Frum. As everybody knows, bloggers earn million$ by typing bile coated missives as they sit wearing nothing but boxers down in their their mothers basements.
Maybe the Republicans as a party should stick with their base, and just make a sharp turn to the right and run on a party of 100% Christian government, segregation of the races, war with a constant enemy, and the end of taxpayer funded education.
That’ll show those damned “hope” and “change” hippies!

sanantonerose November 17, 2008 at 2:10 pm

The floppy lips, that greasy hair, those soulless eyes.

blader November 17, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Frum has made a career out of channeling Joe the Plumber and only became a ‘star’ on the scene when he misheard Joe mumble something about ‘taxes of evil’.

What happened next is history.

Anyway, since Joe outed himself recently to declare his campaign to be another fucking nimrod wingnut public persona in the grand tradition of all the other rightwing losers out there, Frum has become expendable.

Gorillionaire November 17, 2008 at 2:18 pm

Vodka and milk – a White Russian, for instance. Fancy bartenders will say to you that they are using “kahlua and cream”. Slight variations on the White Russian recipe produce other vodka/milk concoctions like “Gorilla Milk” and a “Vanilla Russian”.
These drinks are a bit rich for me, if I have one at all then one is all I can stomach. There is something about the cream and liquor combo tho that gets ya buzzed pretty quick.

loquaciousmusic November 17, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Sully gets all hot and bothered. I love it:

As Frum leaves…and Buckley is fired, and Parker flees, and we are left with adolescent bilge from Kathryn-Jean Lopez and spittle-flecked postings from Mark Levin and Andy McCarthy and Mark Krikorian and Mark Steyn, it may indeed be time to call the era of National Review as a repository for intellectual debate over. Parker and Frum were about the only voices of skepticism on the insane Palin nomination.

Let’s be frank: the place is now a choir for a church. What matters is maintenance of dogma, not pursuit of ideas. The election year proved it beyond much doubt. When its editor can write embarrassments like this, it’s not an intellectual forum, it’s a fanzine. Some interesting people still write from what feels like a place of intellectual honesty: Manzi, Stuttaford, Derbyshire, Brookhiser, Ponnuru (on a good day). The rest is propaganda.

Cape Clod November 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Given the quality of the talent that is left at that miserable rag, they might as well start publishing in comic book form.

Senator Bateman November 17, 2008 at 2:39 pm

First off….it sounds like you have way too much experience with pimpled losers pawing your knee at three-thirty in the morning…..and second there is no way that guy looks like Brian Epstein…..Epstein was dapper….this guy looks like Liza Minelli’s gay ex-husband.

TGY November 17, 2008 at 2:41 pm

[re=178550]Gorillionaire[/re]: Yes, but a White Russian without the kahlua is just a tipple for a cat. IZ IN UR GREY GESE DRINKIN UR BOOZE

mrtrailsafety November 17, 2008 at 2:46 pm

“…K-Lo and D-Frum are in themselves, The Axis of Dweeble, as a natter of fact”, opined the unctuous shade of the Departed WFB.

trondant November 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

[re=178352]DAmicosonegoodyear[/re]: Those three could fuck up a baked potato.

norbizness November 17, 2008 at 3:22 pm

I swear, Frum looks like Scott Thompson from Kids in the Hall and the Ronald Reagan Spitting Image puppet had a baby.

peachgirl November 17, 2008 at 3:23 pm

[re=178593]Senator Bateman[/re]: “looks like Liza Minelli’s gay ex-husband”? You’ll have to be more specific.

norbizness November 17, 2008 at 3:34 pm

[re=178352]DAmicosonegoodyear[/re]: (from the first comment) Eating a cake, or several, though, would be no problem.

mhale0 November 17, 2008 at 3:45 pm

Frum has such full lips…

Senator Bateman November 17, 2008 at 3:46 pm

[re=178731]peachgirl[/re]: David Gest?

queeraselvis v 2.0 November 17, 2008 at 3:51 pm

[re=178780]Senator Bateman[/re]: Given that Frum looks like the bastard offspring of David Gest and Michael Jackson’s “friend” Bubbles the Chimp, I’d say he got the good side of his looks from Bubbles.

MarieDeGournay November 17, 2008 at 4:50 pm

[re=178576]Cape Clod[/re]: Comic books are too good for them.

flamflurm November 17, 2008 at 4:53 pm

Mark Steyn caught Frum jerking to Shrillary hentai and was gonna out him. Erudite in his way…

RushLickBall November 17, 2008 at 5:03 pm

[re=178378]Gorillionaire[/re]: You kiddin me?? Maddow aka the dike impersonator of Keith O was embarassing to watch that night. Her “sarcasm is a legitimate form of commentary” argument would be acceptable if her and KO’s sarcasm amounted to more than “na-na-na-na-na!”

An Outhouse November 17, 2008 at 5:51 pm

Poor little Davey got his feelings hurt by mean Jonah the Whale. Boo Hoo. Now maybe he can go back to Canadia and leave us alone.

El Topo November 17, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Just as rednecks have NASCAR crashes to delight their cruel bloodlust, so do we have this rapidly unfolding wet-fart butt-pants-explosion of the underpinnings of the Gay Old Party.

Hooray, I say. Hooray.

Mo MoDo November 17, 2008 at 8:25 pm

It frightens me to think that with all the rats leaving the National Review, it might leave the Weakly Standard as the vanguard of conservative intellectualism.

scowlawag November 17, 2008 at 9:04 pm

[re=178400]lawrenceofthedesert[/re]:

Bah. George Will’s a reliable Bush-despiser, from Poppy to W. Works for me. ;)

J November 17, 2008 at 11:00 pm

“The only scribes who remain are K-Lo, Starburst, and their fat Mexican secretary, Jonah Goldberg.”

I thought K-Lo was the fat Mexican secretary?

OzoneTom November 17, 2008 at 11:50 pm

Sara, sorry that was actually me. Back when I was younger than you. And the high point of my life, actually.

Doctorb November 18, 2008 at 3:24 am

Many Shuvs and Zuuls knew what it was to be roasted in the depths of the Slor that day, I can tell you!

moldilox March 27, 2009 at 3:43 pm

never saw his pic before…touched by teh gay.. what is it .. repugs just don’t photograph well?

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: